Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Long Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 578 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL. This school is horrible. The board of education needs to clean house and fire the entire staff. They do not care about their students. There is constant fighting, and theft on school grounds which the staff does nothing to prevent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2013

CWL is a great school interms of the teachers,and staff and they really helped me to become a better person and 5 people that helped me become who i am are : Mr.Stone, Ms.Edwards she is awsome, Ms,Washington,Coach Jones, and last but not least Ms.Hill these people are awsome and they are helpers and i wish that i can come back and visit CWL Middle school just to see theur faces. Cant forget Coach Mapson he is a great frind,teacher,coach,and role model to every student


Posted March 16, 2013

Long Middle School is a great school. With MUCH transformation taking place to increase student achievement the manmoth task is underway. Under new leadership (Ms. Hill) several concerns have been address-student discipline has been addressed with uniforms requirement and parental meetings. Extra activities for students to be a part of are available -orchestra, band, gardening, after school tutorial, soccer, baseball, basketball, Wednesday Tutorials. As the new State Common Core is implemented teachers are required to be a part of on-going professional developments to assist with implementation and rigor of lessons. Students are being held accountable for their actions in the community and in the schools! Ms. Hill is well on her way as the NEW leader of Long Middle School!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 15, 2013

This is a Excellent school, with dedicated teachers and staff that put their best foot forward to provide your child with the best education possible. The principal (Ms.Hill) is devoted to making sure that each student is provided with what they need to strive toward success and achieve it. In addition, It is located on a Beautiful Campus with a vibrant garden.


Posted February 26, 2010

I believe this is one of the best middle schools in atlanta. My son enjoys his school and is learning a lot . the teachers care and the principle is a no nonsense woman. The students are learning more that just the things in the books. they are learning respect
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

this is the best school i ever went to.they even helped me get money for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2009

My daughter went to Long for her sixth grade year. It was a horrible school. The teachers don't care about these kids. There are fights all the time and no one does nothing about it. Dr. Harris is rude and a bad leader. I took my child out of here and do not reccommend it for anyones kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

This is a great school. My son is learning a lot at long. The teachers are concerned about him. The principal is a good person. She has really changed the school . My son did excellent in his math class and his scienc class. At this school the childern do a lot of projects and they do the morning announcement. My son is happy at this school long middle school. Every one should send their childrent to long middle school. They made the AYP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

I have had two kids to attend long Middle School and they are doing very good in high school. The teachers and the principle at the school a re really doing a excellent job with teaching our children. The school is always very clean. The hallways have a lot of the kids work in them so that people coming to the school can see what the kids are doing in the class. My kids are doing good and the school is a great school. They have come a long way and they should be proud of the school. I know me and my kids are proud of the school and the job that they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

I am very satisfied with my son's progress at Long Middle School. He will be an upcoming eighth grade student and he was challenged at the seventh grade level. Dr. Harris has worked a miracle at this school. Before she was there (I had a daughter there during the Lofton years), it was mad chaos. She has done an outstanding job. I can remember my son coming home talking about an awards program the school had for their achievements and had to walk on the red carpet. He was so excited about it. This school has done alot for our students and I see the students changing in our neighborhood especially the boys who are in Project Manhood. Just to see them in shirt in tie makes my heart full. Thank you Dr. Harris for all that you have and are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

My daughter graduate from CWL and my assesment of this school is not really good. I do not like this school, the principal and the teachers are horrible. The teachers wanted to be kids instead of teachers. There was no discipline, and they wanted to be friends with the kids instead of instructing them for the life journey. I was very disappointed with this school and will not be sending my younger son t here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

Excellent school since getting a new principal 3 years ago. Long is soon to b a Blue Ribbon School of excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

Major micro-managing coming from administration to teachers is causing very low morale. A lot of the teachers don't want to be here. Instead of worrying about what teacher said this to who, we need admin. that will control the outrageous student behavior, and the low test scores and grades.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 28, 2007

Long Middle School is not for proactive parents that sets high exspections for educators. Teeachers at Long Middle School on the six grade level will not go the extra mile to produce a quality education that every student can relate to. Long is on the needs to improvement list and until the educators are willing provide students with above average learning, they will remain on that list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

The students at Long Middle School are always eager to learn and get involved, and so are parents. This school offers so much to students. After attending this school, I am fully prepared for high school. The students there are very intelligent and work dilligently everyday. I love this school because the teachers are willing to do whatever they can to help students achieve their full potential. Our math team placed several times, our projects made it passed city level, and we meet our goals for the 2005-2006 school year. Crawford W. Long is the the best and is really becoming a blue-ribbon school of excellence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2006

Long needs new leadership beginning from the top to the bottom. Long has the ability to turn into a wonderful school it just has to happen now!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 28, 2005

Poor leadership from the top. Students arent disciplined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

This is a wonderful school where the teachers are eager to teach and where some of the students areeager to learn.Some parents are complaining,but I had a really great learning experience here at Crawford W Long Middle School
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2005

This is the worst middle school I have ever experienced. I been in numerous different states through the military and raised 3 children.The school keep failing the standard. The leadership and teachers are not trained. I had to take my child last year out of the school. My child was stamped there as a child with behavior problems. Which I never heard before from any other school. Since he's been in the new school we have no problems at all, he has good grades and he is a happy child again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2004

This school is a fine school your child can learn street smarts as well as book smarts!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
37%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

199 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 37%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Lisa Hill
Fax number
  • (404) 669-2266

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 Latona Dr SW
Atlanta, GA 30354
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Kipp Vision
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT