Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
223 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted October 16, 2015
- a community member
My daughter attended AGS from 6th to 12th grade. The lovely young lady she is today is due to her AGS education and conscious parenting. Middle school at AGS gives the girls the basis for an incredible high school experience at AGS. AGS taught her organize her time and her work. As parents, we are very thankful for the investment the teachers made in our daughter. The faculty at AGS has relationships with the students. They love them, push them, lift them up with they fall and push them again. She has had no trouble adjusting to college life. The concepts and topics brought up at freshman seminars were all familiar to her from daily living at AGS and AGS’s Education & Development for Leadership & Service program. She has traveled to three continents and worked at two internships through AGS. They broaden her horizons and expanded her mind in and out of the classroom. This education will benefit her for the rest of her life.

Atlanta Girls School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 15, 2015
- a student
I would like to say thanks to ms mears, for being the best six grade dean ever, you could clearly tell she cared about us. Ms U and Ms player for being wonderful teachers and for helping me when I had problems. To ms Coleman because she's just ms Coleman and is therefore amazing and to ms hasty for encouraging us to come to her with problems and helps us fix them

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted September 15, 2015
- a student
This is a great place for me as a student to be at. They challenge me to be my best and work hard and they make me think for myself. They terminate bullying as soon as it starts and it is a safe environment that I feel comfortable in.

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a community member
From someone who transferred out after freshman year: I came to AGS in 6th grade. My middle school experience was absolutely amazing; I expected to stay until I graduated. Middle school is an awkward time for everyone, but forming close bonds with the other girls in my grade and my teachers made my experience perfect (shoutout to Ms. Coleman, aka the BEST TEACHER EVER. Seriously.) . However, transitioning into high school, I discovered that high school at AGS really isn't that different from middle school at AGS. For me, that became a problem. High school is SUPPOSED to be a different experience from middle school. You're a different person, older, discovering new interests, and applying for colleges. By the time freshman year was over I felt confined by my small class size (30 girls in my grade!) and the lack of options for the arts. I was discovering that I had a huge passion for theatre and art, but I was unable to pursue it because of the weak arts program at AGS. Ms. U is great, but she's just one person! A strong arts program consists of many different people, all passionate about what they do! So, I transferred to a different Atlanta school for sophomore year, and it's the best decision I've ever made! I'm in AP art classes and active in my drama class and music program. Also, the social events are great! Having boys isn't a distraction at all; they actually add to a classroom and to your social life. At AGS, you don't know what you're missing. This isn't to say my decision is right for everyone; if you are academically focused on math and science, AGS is perfect for you. It just wasn't right for me!

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a student
The in-cass technology and great student/teacher relationships makes AGS a very special place. It's a great place to go to school.

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
Both of my daughters attend AGS and we could not be happier with their experience there. AGS is a challenging, supportive environment and my girls absolutely love it. The girls at AGS are confident and secure in who they are because the faculty truly listens and respects the girls, and the girls feel that! The global travel opportunities and internship programs offer such wonderful real-world experiences to the girls. So glad we found AGS!!!

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
We moved our daughter to AGS in 8th grade. I am a big believer in girl's education and the solid research behind it and though it would be a good fit for her. It's been even better than we imagined and she has absolutely transformed at AGS. In a few short months, she is more confident, more vocal, more outspoken -- it's been everything we had hoped for and more. AGS is a secret and hidden gem. Open your eyes to what a single sex education can do for your daughter ....

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted August 24, 2014
- a parent
We moved our high school girl to AGS after she began complaining that being interested in math and science was "social suicide". She loves the collaborative learning environment at AGS; she has been encouraged to take Physics and Computer Science with seniors. When I asked her the difference between AGS and the neighboring private school where she was before, her answer was short and sweet: "They believe in me." Don't take my word for it. Read the research about single sex education and visit the school yourself.

Atlanta Girls School 4

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
We have been so in love with the AGS experience. As a woman it is so "rah, rah, girl power"; I wish i had gone to a single gender school when i was a young girl. We came to the school because my husband went to a single gender school and remembered the experience with fond memories and a great education. AGS has been no exception. We are looking forward to the Global Ed program and the intern program that are required of upper schoolers which will be part of the curriculum this school year. The classroom size is very personable and the teachers are able to pour into these girls in such a way that I have seen many of the girls come out of their shyness within just one school year including my own. Best schooling decision for all of my three children.

Atlanta Girls School 2

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
There is not much bullying here, and generally most people at this school are friendly. However, IF YOU LIKE MATH, DO NOT GO HERE. My daughter is now going to a public school and we have to pay for her tutoring to get her ready for an AP math class. She was in an advanced math class and received an A+, but the class did not cover nearly as much as her new school's class did. If you are into the liberal arts, this school may be a good fit but stay away if you are a math-lover!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atlanta Girls School
3254 Northside Parkway, Atlanta, GA  30327
(404) 845-0900
Last modified Atlanta Girls School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Atlanta Girls School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top