Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
223 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 80 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atlanta Girls School 2

Posted April 30, 2016
- a student
My experience at AGS looked pretty good from the beginning, but as soon as I entered the academic year I realized that their whole idea of a "clique-free" school was definitely not fitting. There is definitely a level of favoritism between the teachers and the students, and not to mention the gossip level between the teachers. The administration is constantly worried about the student body gossiping, yet it seems that they do the exact same thing! Additionally, the faculty here is extremely biased. They enforce "tattle-tale" teaching, which might sound insulting of the way I'm putting it, but all in all it's the truth. They exaggerate situations that are outside of school. Sometimes it feels like they care more about the student body and the social situation and not the academics at all. To elaborate, the only good departments at the school were the language and English departments. Their focus on STEM is not fitting, and I say this because I attended a public middle school in 6th and 7th grade, and I had learned the information that I knew from 6th and 7th grade in 9th grade! Additionally, with history being my favorite subject, I was so excited to have a different perspective entering a private school that requires a global travel trip with the school in order to graduate, but they were strongly lacking. It felt that the teachers-not just in the history department-were using the Haiku website as a way to cheat out of teaching. Instead of teaching us themselves, we would have to watch videos online. If you are considering sending your intelligent and gifted child to this school, just remember that me-and many other girls I have talked to-have noticed the sub par teaching. I found that the teaching I got at public school was much more well-run then the teaching I got here.

Atlanta Girls School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 23, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Player: for being a great advisor and teacher. I know she loves us all and cares about us. Which isn't something you find at most schools Ms. Mears: for being a great sixth grade dean and guiding us along the path of success. Thank you for still keeping in touch and love all your former students

Atlanta Girls School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 23, 2016
- a community member
They teach us that it is not just grades that determine someone's intelligence and say that no matter what everyone is smart, special, and deserves to be heard

Atlanta Girls School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 23, 2016
- a community member
They think grade bonding is extremely important. At first I didn't see why, but now I understand. I considered everyone in my grade like a sister and love them dearly

Atlanta Girls School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 23, 2016
- a community member
We follow the trust agreement and they do not tolerate people breaking it. I know I can trust my sisters at Ags and they can trust me

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted April 23, 2016
- a community member
I am a student here. Before attending Ags I lacked confidence, but Ags has helped me regain my confidence and leadership as well as a bright attitude and a good outlook on the world around me

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted October 16, 2015
- a community member
My daughter attended AGS from 6th to 12th grade. The lovely young lady she is today is due to her AGS education and conscious parenting. Middle school at AGS gives the girls the basis for an incredible high school experience at AGS. AGS taught her organize her time and her work. As parents, we are very thankful for the investment the teachers made in our daughter. The faculty at AGS has relationships with the students. They love them, push them, lift them up with they fall and push them again. She has had no trouble adjusting to college life. The concepts and topics brought up at freshman seminars were all familiar to her from daily living at AGS and AGS’s Education & Development for Leadership & Service program. She has traveled to three continents and worked at two internships through AGS. They broaden her horizons and expanded her mind in and out of the classroom. This education will benefit her for the rest of her life.

Atlanta Girls School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 15, 2015
- a student
I would like to say thanks to ms mears, for being the best six grade dean ever, you could clearly tell she cared about us. Ms U and Ms player for being wonderful teachers and for helping me when I had problems. To ms Coleman because she's just ms Coleman and is therefore amazing and to ms hasty for encouraging us to come to her with problems and helps us fix them

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted September 15, 2015
- a student
This is a great place for me as a student to be at. They challenge me to be my best and work hard and they make me think for myself. They terminate bullying as soon as it starts and it is a safe environment that I feel comfortable in.

Atlanta Girls School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a community member
From someone who transferred out after freshman year: I came to AGS in 6th grade. My middle school experience was absolutely amazing; I expected to stay until I graduated. Middle school is an awkward time for everyone, but forming close bonds with the other girls in my grade and my teachers made my experience perfect (shoutout to Ms. Coleman, aka the BEST TEACHER EVER. Seriously.) . However, transitioning into high school, I discovered that high school at AGS really isn't that different from middle school at AGS. For me, that became a problem. High school is SUPPOSED to be a different experience from middle school. You're a different person, older, discovering new interests, and applying for colleges. By the time freshman year was over I felt confined by my small class size (30 girls in my grade!) and the lack of options for the arts. I was discovering that I had a huge passion for theatre and art, but I was unable to pursue it because of the weak arts program at AGS. Ms. U is great, but she's just one person! A strong arts program consists of many different people, all passionate about what they do! So, I transferred to a different Atlanta school for sophomore year, and it's the best decision I've ever made! I'm in AP art classes and active in my drama class and music program. Also, the social events are great! Having boys isn't a distraction at all; they actually add to a classroom and to your social life. At AGS, you don't know what you're missing. This isn't to say my decision is right for everyone; if you are academically focused on math and science, AGS is perfect for you. It just wasn't right for me!

Nearby schools

Atlanta Girls School
3254 Northside Parkway, Atlanta, GA  30327
(404) 845-0900
Last modified Atlanta Girls School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top