Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bolton Academy

Public | PK-5 | 483 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

This is our first year and we couldn't be more pleased. Our son loves his teacher and the parent teacher communication has been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My son loves Bolton Academy. The teachers and principal really care about improving the school and providing quality education. The PTA is AMAZING. All the parents are very dedicated to helping the school achieve success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

Have two girls in Bolton and it has been a wonderful experience! It has strong parental/community support and has really turned out to be a wonderful neighborhood school! Teachers have been great, feel confident my children are getting a great education and principal has been more than accomodating when have had issues to address. They go over and above with music class instruction and art class after school at no additional charge! The Bolton staff has really gone over and above! We are a hidden gem on the West side of Atlanta!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2011

Great school in most ways. Parents are involved, teachers are personally involved with students. My child loves this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

We love our neighborhood school. Our oldest entered kindergarten five years ago, and at the time we were happy enough with the warm and welcoming environment and with how well he seemed to fit in and thrive. It was a relatively new school, but it was solid. And with every year since then, we've been astonished by the school's upward trajectory. Parent involvement and community support has risen exponentially, and the student demographics steadily diversified to become a really interesting, healthy, and educational mix. Bolton Academy has dedicated teachers, an excellent young Principal, and a healthy feeling about the place. It's not perfect, but then again perfect schools breed kids without resilience. It's honestly hard to recognize the place compared to those early years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

This is yet another example of a farse. Please do believe that this school is like Brandon, E. Rivers, or S. Smith. Bolton is under the administration of an unqualified principal. Hopefully the school board will quickly remidy this situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

Bolton Academy is a great neighborhood school. At a time when most schools are bursting at the seams, we have right at 500 students. It is a great size. I feel like the teachers and administrators all know my children. I have two children at the school and they are thriving. I appreciate the diversity of the school and like that my kids get to know all different types of people and cultures. There are no security issues. I have never felt that my children have been in danger by any means. They are very independent and manuver through the school with great confidence. We have had a VERY positive experience at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

I believe my son was going to receive and award but they chose another kid for some reasons.My son was hurt sitting in that room knowing since 2 or 3 days that he was going to receive an award and now nothing.It would not be a problem if I did not think he deserved it.I agree with the award that my other kids received because it reflected them.There were some signs at the beginning of the year when we had to call APS folks to have my kids put in their right classroom.Bad experience with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

i love how involved so many of the parents are
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

The entire Bolton Academy community is dedicated to giving the best education to the students and to making our school the best it can be. Starting at the top with Principal Laura Strickling, the caring and commitment is demonstrated by the teachers, staff and parents. I love being a part of this community and the adjacent neighborhood that supports Bolton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love Bolton Academy because the school is very diverse. I was welcomed by caring and concerned teachers. This was a concern for me being that we were new to the city. I was really worried about coming from a small town and entering a new large city with my children. We were accustomed to knowing everyone and being associated with friendly people and wanted the same from APS with Bolton. We are very pleased we feel very much at home with Bolton. We were also concerned about the cirriculum my children will be taught. Our concern was that they will be behind leaving an excellent school, but I must say we are very pleased. Bolton will receive nothing but A's from me!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Bolton has dedicated teachers, parents and students. In a big city, it's nice for my son to have a small community that supports him and that he can contribute to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

It's a great school with goals for students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

It's my neighborhood school, it's where my children are growing and learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

My child atttends the school. Botlon Academy is on the rise and the financial resources would help their students attain educational achievement. We want Bolton to exceed the standard and excel in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Bolton is a fabulous school with a small community feel. We are excited that we just received our IB designation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Boton Academy is a small neighborhood school with a BIG focus on building community strength as well as giving our children a strong foundation for a life full of learning. Parents and teacher form a great team together!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Salimah's enthusiasm about this school tells me that it is a GOOD school, She would not invest so much time & effort to help the Bolton Academy if it was not worthy. I am looking forward to hearing more about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

What do I like best about Bolton? the students In their enthusiastic faces, I see hope...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2010

I really was taking a liking to the school; over the past year or so things have really changed. I'm really sad not all the parents are able to be involved in the various projects and outings, due the the current leadership from the school. This school has its picks when it come to who they want to be involved. Sounds like a little ... to me. keep trying!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 37%
Hispanic 38% 12%
White 18% 44%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Laura Strickling
Fax number
  • (404) 350-2853

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2268 Adams Dr NW
Atlanta, GA 30318
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-8350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Lovett School
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT