Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bolton Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Powell, We want to say thank you for two wonderful years of the Gifted program (and look forward to more!). You have challenged and inspired without overwhelming; you are the one day during the school week what we KNOW will be a great one. C looks up to you and enjoys all of the topics and activities you share. Thank you for all that you have done for our gifted kids!

Bolton Academy 5

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
We have spent the last 8 years with Bolton Academy. We have 2 children, one currently at Bolton and the other at Sutton Middle School. In 8 years we have seen the growth and progress this school has made and are very happy with our choice of Bolton Academy over private or charter school. Both my children are in the APS gifted program and Ms. Powell, Bolton's gifted teacher, is incredible. My child at Sutton is in accelerated classes with a straight A average. Bolton's teachers prepare them well to transition to Sutton. The parental and community involvement, support and participation is incredible.

Bolton Academy 5

Posted March 13, 2016
- a community member
Parent involvement is remarkable! This school deserves much more than a 3 rating! It is one of the best hidden gems in Atlanta. A true blessing to our kids and the community!

Bolton Academy 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Best Atlanta Public School! Diverse with alot of parent involvement. On the rise! Don't let ratings dictate your choice!

Bolton Academy 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
For a school that has been around for just over 10 years, the community, IB certification, teachers, administration and learning environment are WONDERFUL! I am constantly impressed with the work that my first grader brings home and the level that they are encouraged to reach. My son's reading and math skills have blossomed, the Gifted program engages and excites him, and all members that we have been able to interact with exceed my expectations. I would expect that Great Schools would have a ranking more in-line with that Bolton really is than just look at test scores on a newly forming teaching team. There is SO MUCH MORE - and we are quite proud to be a part.

Bolton Academy 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
Great schools needs to change the ranking algorithm, as a 3 out of 10 is ridiculous given the quality of Bolton Academy. This is a true example of a "great school". The relationship between the teachers and parents continues to provide an exceptional learning environment for our kids. The community continues to rise up and support the school in multiple ways, including with their wallets. We could not be happier w/ the experience our two kids have had at Bolton Academy, and we're looking forward to continuing to see the school grow and prosper.

Bolton Academy 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
Another great year at Bolton Academy. We have two sons that will be entering 4th and 2nd grade next year and couldn't be happier w/ their experience and learning environment. I'd put our kids up against anyone public or private school in the city!

Bolton Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
For those of you questioning whether or not to send you children to school at Bolton, let me say this, yes. Dont let teat scores fool you. Bolton has as good or better reviews and ratings than all of the "10s". Brandon, check. Jackson, check. Morning side, check. As good or better than them all. Bolton faculty could not be more caring and the principal is fantastic. Test scores and Great Schools rating will sky rocket within a year or two.

Bolton Academy 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Bolton Academy ratings should be through the roof. My son is a 1st grader at Bolton Academy and has been attending since kindergarten they has brought my son so far. The staff show empathy and they really care for their babies. Who doesn't love our principle Ms. Laura Strickling? I LOVE HER and we're very thankful to have you. Bolton Academy should be the top rated school in APS zone.....

Bolton Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Great schools, thank you for all you to do help parents in their quest to make school decisions for their children, but you should consider more than test scores when rating schools. Please consider obtaining more recent demographic data, incorporating reviews, weighing programs such as International Baccalaureate and multiple extracurriculars, community support, etc., as well. The Great Schools score does not paint an accurate picture of the value of this school to our community and the growing impact on our students' educational progress. This school is a perfect model of an urban school that is diverse and growing/thriving. So proud to be a part of this school and to watch my two young children learning, growing, thriving, and having fun. Come join us--we welcome you!

Nearby schools

Bolton Academy
2268 Adams Dr NW, Atlanta, GA  30318
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (404) 802-8350
Last modified Bolton Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top