Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

KIPP West Atlanta Young Scholars Academy

Charter | 5-8 | 323 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2011

i love this school. it really helps me and teaches me life lesson. If it wasn't for this school i wouldn't be where i am today.


Posted April 28, 2010

The school is a prison. it is great for unprivileged kids but if you have no behavior issues or are mature you will absolutely hate it. I did!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2010

My daughter is a 6th grade student at KIPP Ways. She was not pleased with my decision to enroll her at KIPP due to the extended daily schedule and Saturday school. I am very happy to share that she is more than happy with KIPP and the schedule isn't really more school (if you let her tell it!). I believe KIPP nurtures children and provides them with the educational support necessary to thrive academically and gain confidence as individuals. I love the elective course offerings! The effort and time and dedication that these teachers put into their students on a consistent basis is unparalleled. Education should be this way for all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

KIPP is a unique place; make it here and you will make it anywhere. In 5th grade there are 'no excuses' and high expectations are set; and in 6th grade we work as a Team (scholars, parents, and educators) rather than individuals. The environment is familial, scholars are greeted daily by a faculty. Our educators are exciting like Ms. Varela and Science; Tough like Mr. Levy and Math, scholars must show all of their work :-); Interesting and current like Mr. Howland and Reading - Scholars learned Greek Mythology while reading the Illiad, Odyssey, and the Lightning Thief; Engaging with Mr. Peddie 'The Human Dictionary,' as scholars try to stump him with their newly acquired vocabulary 'Mr Peddie you are very loquacious;' and Relevant with Ms. Wood and History, as she takes scholars 'All Around the World.' What my scholar has learned here goes beyond academics. KIPP educates you for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2009

I LOVE KIPP this school outshine private school I know by experience I have twins who have attended KIPPS 2 years and a son in 4th at Atlanta youth Academy A WASTE OF MONEY my son self esteem was crushed and he didnt learn due to the favortism etc...however KIPPS build the kids self esteem as well as their charater
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

My child completed grades 5-8 at KIPP WAYS. Excellent teaching methods. I love this school and recommend it to all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

This is without question the best school in Atlanta! The teachers and administrators go above and beyond for kids, they challenge their minds, and they get results. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

This school is very unique and nothing like I have seen before. They make you earn desk, chairs, and even classrooms. The hours are from 7:30 to 5:00. There is even mandatory summer school. There is also a saturday school. It seems like alot but kipp is a amazing school to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

best school my child ever attended.they love and care about their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

I am so excited for my daughter to be accepted to a well ran school, unlike the other public schools that she has attended and I can't wait til my oldest son can join her next year. The leadership in the school is excellent and the values that are being installed in the students are unbelieveable. This is truly a school to give an award to for excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

This school is just like any regular middle school. It has the same problems as any other middle scool and maybe more. And alot of the students recieve bad grades on their report cards. So my advice as a parent please visit and research the school before your child attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

Love It! Love It! This school has really helped my child become very independent and love school. She is challenged everyday at school. She now loves to go to school and has been reading more since going to Kipp Ways. I don't have to tell her to pick up a book, she just does it on her on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

Teachers are innovative and dedicated...a rare find.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
66%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 37%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kimberly Karacalidis
Fax number
  • (404) 475-1946

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

80 Joseph E Lowery Blvd NW
Atlanta, GA 30314
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 475-1941

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Imhotep Academy
Atlanta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT