Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kipp South Fulton Academy School

Charter | 5-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2008

KSFA has not gone from Good to Great..it has gone from Good to terrible. Not what had really hoped for. I will use the information regarding high school enrollment but will not use the KSFA name. I am proud to say that my child attends a KIPP school BUT NOT KSFA. Future parents, really check into the school. So teachers are terrible and some of the administration are not the best either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

I count it a true blessing to have KSFA as a middle school for my daughters (5th & 7th grade). The level of education and the expectations are above the rest. Mr. Pryor has taken the vision and moved from Good to Great!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

KIPP South Fulton Academy changed my life. It gave me a outlook on what life really is like. Our New Principal Mr.Pryor is a great school leader, although he's new to the game he is still cool. At KIPP, we are like a family. we care about each other, and treat each other with respect. The Highschool options taht I have from attending KIPP is a massive number. If you want to give your child a good education, and a bright future send tour child to KIPP South Fulton ACAdemy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2008

This school changed my life. At first I did not want to go to KIPP but after I graduated and went to a boarding school in Connecticut i began to miss it. KIPP became a part of me and it is a part of my family now. The academics was great, and the discipline is here. If you want your child to have a great future you should enroll them into KIPP.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2008

I went to KSFA and it was terrific. They taught us so much and we all have tons of fun!!We are all one happy family we also have some of the highest test scores!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2008

I am so grateful for this school. My daughter is in the 7th Grade and has been at this school since the 5th grade. I have watched her mature both academically and culturally. My daughter has been given opportunities that she would have not other wise had in a traditonal middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

This is my third year teaching at KIPP South Fulton Academy. One of the biggest benefits of teaching students at our charter school is that the students have a 'DESIRE TO LEARN.' This is one of the missing ingredients in public schools today. KSFA is a good school for the students who want to learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2007

I graduated from KSFA the year of 2007. I feel that provided me with all the skills needed to complete high school and more. Everything that was taught at KSFA, I do automatically. It has showed me that you can always exceed in any environment. I suggest you take a look a it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2007

My son was one of the first founding students and of the first graduating class of KIPP-SFA (class of 2007/2015) and we had an exciting 4 years. Ms. Volanakis was the best and I admire her drive and enthusiasm, as well as her love for the students, an exceptional education, and their overall well-being. [My son] was above average academically and we were worried that he wasn't being challenged enough until he started at KIPP-SFA in 5th grade. He maintained his great grades and learned a lot more about F.I.R.E. to go on to graduate with honors; and, with a renewed confidence that allowed him to recite a poem at graduation, start High School a very mature young man! I have referred at least 10 parents to KIPP-SFA and will continue to do so in order for more students to receive the stellar experience my son experienced as a Kippster! Mrs. Bailey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

KSFA is wonderful. I love how they teach family, integrity, discipline and many other traits that children need to learn to be well rounded and successful individuals. These kids still have an innocence about them that you don't see in the kids today. I am glad to be a KSFA parent. I have 2 kids there now. I wish they had an elementary school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

My Daughter is in her second year at KIPP South Fulton Academy and it has been fantastic the Curriculum the Discipline and Staff is like no-other system I've experienced Principle Volanakis is Great at her Job she's full of energy and is in touch with each individual student, gives appropriate praise. The Staff is full of energy and ready for each long day 7:30am - 5:00pm and every other Saturday. This School has extra curricular activities for every grade and gender, but strong focus on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

My daughter has attended KIPP since 5th grade and is in 7th grade now. The school is great academically. Her grades have improved every year since she has been there. She is now in honors literature and has A's and B's in the other subjects. The teachers are great and caring. I would like to see better discipline of the kids as a whole but there are not nearly as many problems as other public schools. My hope is that someone will open a KIPP Elementary school, our kids would benefit greatly it this happened. Wonderful place for excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

Kipp SF has been a geat experience for us and my son who is in 5th grade. The teachers are dedicated to the task of learning. My son is growing academically and has a new love for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
58%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
41%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 92% 37%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 47%N/A51%
Female 53%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jondre Pryor
Fax number
  • (678) 278-0160

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1286 Washington Ave
Atlanta, GA 30344
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 278-0160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Woodward Academy
College Park, GA



The Main Street Academy
College Park, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT