Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
321 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cliff Valley School 5

Posted February 15, 2014
- a community member
Cliff Valley School is one of the best schools around. They care about every student there, and treat them all differently because they're different. The teachers are phenomenal, and I couldn't imagine myself anywhere else. The student in each classroom are like a family. they help each other when they're down, and the is definitely no bullying or cliques.

Cliff Valley School 4

Posted July 10, 2012
- a parent
CV has fantastic teachers and small class sizes. In addition to academics, the arts and music programs are great. I would just warn potential families of the pressure to contribute funds above and beyond the tuition. This year (2011-2012) the school experienced growing pains due to the addition of new facilities, going from a Pre-K - 5 to a Pre-K -8 school. In addition to the regular tuition, families were aggressively pursued and encouraged to contribute several thousands of dollars above and beyond for the "More Cliff Valley" campaign. Fund raising is indeed a part of independent school culture, but there is a growing concern among Cliff Valley parents that the school is getting a little too aggressive and making a very obvious effort at bringing in higher income families for the sole purpose of raising funds to expand, rather than concentrating on keeping good families and good students. Again, we get that a private school needs wealthy benefactors, but you certainly get snubbed from the upper admins of the school if you cannot contribute what is expected. We are staying for the 12-13 school year, but we might be looking at other options for our daughter.

Cliff Valley School 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
This is our first year at Cliff Valley and we couldn't be more pleased. While our daughter very much enjoyed her previous school and she had some great teachers, we felt that her education was lacking in terms of the fundamentals as well as opportunities for creative thinking. She is getting all of that and more at Cliff Valley. Most importantly, she is being challenged and broadening her horizons. Switching schools is not easy but the transition to Cliff Valley has not only been a smooth one, but our daughter feels accepted and is happy and proud to call Cliff Valley her school. It's as if she's been here since Kindergartent. We love it!

Cliff Valley School 5

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
Cliff Valley School: A caring community of professionals and parents invested in each child's intellectual, artistic, and emotional growth.

Cliff Valley School 5

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
I have a child in elementary school and one about to start preschool. Our goal for them is to instill in them a love for learning in a caring yet academically challenging environment. Cliff Valley meets those expectations. There's low teacher turnover and you can tell the teachers love what they do. All the kids receive individualized attention and are never held back. The head of school and administrative staff are excellent. Children are respected and are taught to be respectful, resourceful and responsible.

Cliff Valley School 5

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Cliff Valley had been the perfect environment for our son. The small class sizes and teacher to student ratio has greatly contributed to his growth and development. My wife and I could not be more pleased with the curriculum and sense of community provided by Cliff Valley. The Spanish, music and art programs and the outdoor classroom are excellent!

Cliff Valley School 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
We started our shy just-turned-two-year old at Cliff Valley 9 months ago. This was her first experience being away from family and her adjustment, at first, was cautious. The teachers were warm, engaging, and remarkably adapt at figuring her out. They encouraged us to stay with her until just the perfect point, than told us she was ready. And-- she was! She adores school! Astonishingly, the teachers did this for all of the kids, not just ours. The rest of the year has mirrored the start with each child benefitting from a joyful, warm, challenging, personalized learning environment. What a perfect start to a lifetime of loving to learn! We couldn't be more pleased as this was exactly what we had hoped for in a preschool experience.

Cliff Valley School
no rating

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
Our child went to Cliff Valley School from 1st grade to 5th.We are so pleased with the way they look at the whole child's strength's and weakness and help them work through that awkwardness.It is recognized by the school children are just little humans that need to be nurtured into who they will become as adults not just little learning robots,but kid's that are sometimes confused,shy,or angry at times.I must say Cliff Valley kids grow and thrive with excellent teachers and staff that absolutely have a true love of teaching,and make our children love learning.Our child graduates from fifth grade this year very well adjusted and confident.We will surely miss Cliff Valley School and would recommend this school to everyone.

Cliff Valley School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
This is a school at which teachers and staff are likely to know not only your child's name, but yours as well. A gem of a school, which really focuses on respect, responsibility and resourcefulness in kids. The teachers are excellent on the whole and are trained to respond to kids with a variety of learning styles. The kids are encouraged to express themselves and can impressively (and fearlessly) stand up in a room full of adults and talk about an interest or activity. It's just a wonderful, inclusive community.

Cliff Valley School 5

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
My children have been part of the Cliff Valley community for over 5 years, both of them in preschool. In the fantastic preschool, the children are really learning, not sitting in daycare. Their interests direct the content of the class, but the teachers direct the curriculum. This year, for example, my 4-year old's class has explored volcanos, maps, and measurements in great depth . The staff and teachers at Cliff Valley are outstanding and take the time to get to know every child as an individual. They 'get' the kids and enjoy their quirks and individuality (as opposed to tolerating or discouraging it). Each child is challenged according to his or her strengths and needs. The beloved Head of School is outstanding as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cliff Valley School
2426 Clairmont Rd., Atlanta, GA  30329
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (678) 302-1302
Last modified Cliff Valley School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top