Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garden Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2014

My child is starting his 4th grade year and has been here since kindergarten. I am so in love with this amazing place. The students- diverse, smart, full of hugs and love their teachers. The faculty and staff- hard working, giving, caring and proud. From ESOL to Challenge- everyone gives 110%. The principal and AP- a team that supports their staff, does not micromanage, takes education seriously, and constantly strives to improve any and all areas. The parents- a tight knit community who push their school to be the best it can be for their children. Our test scores have improved greatly and that is due to everyone mentioned here. GHES is strong, proud, and you are LUCKY if you get to attend here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My son is in the 4th grade at Garden Hills Elementary School. We have been so pleased with his experience right from the start in Kindergarten. The school is led by a very inspirational and visionary principal coupled by dedicated, caring, hardworking teachers. We feel very fortunate to have such a jewel in our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

Garden hills is a great school. Teachers work really hard!! Principle is very nice. My son loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

The school is amazing. The teachers are beyond hands on and the students exceed their goals every year. I would recommend this school because as a parent I see the amazing improvements in my daughter and the schools diversity is balanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

The school welcomed my son with open arms and the principal is A++++. She really cares about the kids and is involved with the PTA to make sure our school is the best for our children. THe only thing lacking is more parent involvement! the PTA works hard and they are a few in number considering the amount of students the school has. I encourage everyone to get involved even if it is once a month or every two months- they need all the help they can get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

My daughter is a 3rd generation GHES student! There must be a reason for that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

My daughter has been at Garden Hills her entire public school career, and she has flourished. The environment that the faculty, staff and parents engender has shown me that this is the best place for my daughter to be to prepare her for the higher grades later on, and for even later on in her life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

If there is one school anybody should attend, it is garden hills. Diverse, academic, friendly. I spent my best years there, but then made the mistake of going to Atlanta International to learn a language since garden hill's Spanish program is garbage. Make sure your child stays at garden hills.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2008

Garden Hills is a hidden treasure! Diverse, yes! Academically challenging, yes! Fosters a love of learning and respect for others, yes! We are in our 4th year at GHES and can say that there has never been one day that our kids weren't truly excited to go to school! By having our kids attend GHES, we are growing strong, open-minded future leaders, growing a strong neighborhood school, and building a strong community! Be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

I give the school the highest rating in all categories although the parent envolvement could be higher. The principal sets the highest expectations for both teacher and students. The students love to learn and the IB program supports and expands learning to new levels. Our teachers are 100% committed and bond with our children making life-long relationships. My only wish is that other neighborhood children would join this incredible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

All three of my children attend(ed) Garden Hills. My oldest is now at Sutton. Our school is a nurturing environment where my children have grown into natural leaders. Academics are excellent and my children love learning. That about says it all for me and my decision to make GHES my neighborhood school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

My daughter has been at Garden Hills for five years, and my oldest who now attends North Atlanta was there for two years. Our family has remained in the district in order to keep our child at Garden Hills because they do embrace learning and make it fun for the students. Simply by being at the school for so long my daughter has adopted Spanish as a second language and communicates with her non-english speaking peers in order to help them beat the class learning curve due to those barriers. They give the kids a great sense of leadership and responsiblity, which is what I love most. My daughter will be more than prepared when it's time to head over to SUTTON! (go cougars) :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

We've been at Garden Hills for eight years and absolutely love it. My kids have gotten a great academic foundation and are well rounded socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

My son is in the gifted challenge program at Gardens Hill. Initially, I thought there might be a slight communication issue due to the large ratio of Hispanic vs. English speaking parents. Not at all! The teachers are very kind and loving as well as the parents. The curriculum and parent involvement is great. My son really enjoys the diversity and would not dream of leaving Garden Hills until he completes the 5th grade. Kudos to the superb job the new principle is doing. We love you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

I've been at Garden Hills for six years and absolutely love it. The teachers are kind and love working here. Last year we got our International Baccalaureate certification and are very proud of that. We've just finished a renovation of all buildings including the historic main building, as well as two new buildings (cafeteria, classrooms and gym). Among other great projects, the PTA bought the art teacher a kiln last year. We bring in the Georgia Shakespeare Festival every year to direct a play. There are a lot of children who are 'speakers of other languages' and so our test scores overall do not compare well with other schools. But I'm glad my children are a part of this international community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

We have one 3rd grader and one in Kindergarten in Garden Hills. Our kids are flourishing, happy and never complain about school. My 3rd grader is now in challenge program. Diversity is AOK. It is a warm and nourishing environment. Great for developing brains and hearts!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

129 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

102 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

104 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

102 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 12%
Black 14% 37%
White 13% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tommy Usher
Fax number
  • (404) 842-3050

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

285 Sheridan Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30305
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT