Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sandtown Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2010

Iattend Sandtown Middle school and this is a excellent chose. Just bring your own lunch the school lunch is horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2009

I have been pleased with Sandtown. As with any school, I think there are challenges with instruction, teachers entering grades/communicating with parents, discipline, subtle bullying. But for the most part, I think that Sandtown has done a decent job educating its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

Sandtown Middle School is a good school and it's a very educated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

Sandtown Middle School is an outstanding school.They are very strict when it comes to academics and strive for the students better understanding.The teachers are loving and the students are disciplined and overall have a grasp on achieving more so they can go about their business.Just like me.I came form a terrible school along witha school system.I will cherish Sandtown in my heart forever because its a nice school with a strive for excellence and getting us teens to higher heights.take your student to this school because they will learn so much and have a better understanding of their work and confidence in their goals.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2008

Hi my name is Eboni Perkins and I am a former 7th grader (2008-2009)at Sandtown.Sandtown is a great school.There are many activities there.The teachers are amazing and they know how to have fun,but learning is also important too.So for all you parents who dout Sandtown Middle School,dont because it could change your childs life around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

I am a parent of sandtown with two children there. Sandtown is a great school great place to learn for my children I give the school and their stafe a 110 thanks for all you do !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

This school was horrible. The principal was and is clueless of how to make a success out of the students. Most of the teachers, do not TEACH. The state needs to take over this school and get inside of the classrooms and assist those weak teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

I am currentl an 8th grader (2007- 2008) and I like the school. I made a transition from private school, and it was hard at first. But eventually I made a lot of friends and joined the cheerleading team, and not it is a lot of fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2007

I'm a 7th grader on team A and from 2006-2008 6th-7th with Mrs.Gathers as principal it has been great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2007

im a student at sandtown and im in 6th grade.i love the school the staff is rly nice.not many bad things happening. we wear uniforms and a lot of ppl actually wera them!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2007

I am a current 7th grader at Sandtown and I like it here. This school doesn't have many problems really. The enforce the dress code here and take it seriously. The boys have to wear a belt and their shirts must be tucked in. The girls can't wear skirts or shorts above finger-length. The arts program here is AWESOME though. We have a dance-team, step-team, band, orchestra, chorus and many other things. We also have tons of clubs to choose from. I personally am in band and I love it. The band directors, Ms. Walker and Mr. Young, are great. You can tell that they really care about us and our welfare. Our arts programs have performed in many places outside of school such as Atlanta Symphony Hall, GWCC, and a Hawks game. Overall, Sandtown is a great school where the faculty cares about us and you can achieve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2006

My daughter is a 6th grade student at Sandtown and the discipline at this school is poor. It is unfortunate that Mrs. Irwin is no longer the principal. Hopefully things will get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

Sandtown is School but sometimes I dont like it because they have a strict dress code and i gotta do what i gotta do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2006

My son attended Sandtown as a 6th grader 2005-2006. I was really impressed. The teachers responded quickly to my questions and any concerns I had. He was a straight A student and he said he felt challenged in most of his classes. My son was involved in band. The band and orchestra are awesome! He was not able to particpate in any sports because they can not play until 7th and 8th grade. Parental involvement is like many other schools - you seem to see the same faces at most events. I feel very safe sending my son to Sandtown. Last year's principal, Ms. Ervin, was great! Unfortunately she has moved on to the area high school. A few of my favorite staff members went along with her. Hopefully the new principal will have as much success. I am confident this will be another great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

366 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 37%
Hispanic 1% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kine Geathers
Fax number
  • (404) 346-6510

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Campbellton Rd SW
Atlanta, GA 30331
Phone: (404) 346-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT