Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wesley International Academy 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Teacher turnover rate is extremely high, administrators are not supportive or some say nice to staff members, and teachers don't belong to any of the cliques are being treated badly, they are pushed out of the school. School operations is a total mess, as a parent, you will hope the school will learn from their mistakes from the past years, it is not happening here, they are not prepared period. All the things they had to offer such as Chinese, IB, single gender are not implemented as it should, you kids may take Chinese everyday for eight years, but they learn so much as a first year or second year student in other well-structured program. Every year many new teachers are asked to teach IB when they are not trained or supported throughout the way. It is such a disappointment all in all

Wesley International Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers work really hard, while others couldn't even make it to work on time, not to mention to be prepared for a full day instruction.

Wesley International Academy 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
From the smiles on the way to school, the greetings by the teachers when arriving, the positive reports when our kids get home, to the great education we believe our kids are getting - this school is great. It's rare in Atlanta, or anywhere, to get a truly diverse school and we appreciate that about Wesley so much. The Chinese program, single-gender education, commitment to diversity, and it's IB focus makes this a really unique school.

Wesley International Academy 3

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
It makes me sad to read the positive reviews. Most date back to 2012-13 or the beginning of the 2013-14 school year. Parents hadn't realized how many of teachers had already left or were in the process of being pushed or harassed out. With increasing barriers to parent involvement and high teacher turnover, the community feel has evaporated. Meanwhile, test scores haven't really improved, so it feels like a loss not an improvement.

Wesley International Academy 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
This school sucks !!! They only push Chinese .the teachers act like teenagers . No hard core instruction .they give homework But my children act like they never saw it .

Wesley International Academy 2

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
Wesley is very good about teaching discipline. They are very focused on test scores but not as much on the actual education of their students.

Wesley International Academy 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a community member
Lack of caring administration Not allocating funds appropriately Students are not heard Student achievement takes a back seat to uniforms and assemblies. Students are pulled during instruction without notice Lack of functional resources Total confusion and miscommunication Previous 8th grade students were struggling first year of high school in Math

Wesley International Academy 5

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
One of the best things about Wesley is that it is a family! I am amazed at the level of commitment of the staff, parents and kids to this school. This is our family's fourth year at Wesley. We have a third grader and kindergartner. Our oldest enjoys the gifted program and Chinese curriculum and my youngest (who is struggling with reading) is benefiting from the Early Intervention Program as well as extra time his teacher volunteers out of her personal schedule to give him a bit of extra help. His reading confidence has soared. The teachers and staff genuinely care for and love these kids. Great after school activities, sports programs, fine arts, and a garden program really round everything out. Very happy here! My oldest said he wants to be a Wesley teacher when he grows up!

Wesley International Academy 4

Posted October 03, 2013
- a community member
Wesley International Academy has come a long way under the leadership of the new principal, Mr. Bradley. My niece recently relocated to another state after being at Wesley only 3 years. We were never quite sure how Wesley's kids stack up. I am proud to say she was moved to the gifted program for Math (this is a very affluent area public school) and is above all of her peers academically. The school kept asking where she came from and my sister was proud to say Wesley!!!

Wesley International Academy 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a community member
Wesley is an exceptional school! I am impressed with the overall academic program and the Chinese language instruction. Also impressive are the credentials of some of the educators from various countries and states. Their experiences and backgrounds, I believe, enhances the learning process for the students. The Wesley student, as a result, has the opportunity to navigate subject matters in a broader and more thoughtful manner.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wesley International Academy
211 Memorial Drive, Atlanta, GA  30312
(678) 904-9137
Last modified Wesley International Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wesley International Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top