Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

It is a privilege to be a part of the Rivers community! We are a diverse and dynamic family with a common focus on academic excellence, character development and international mindedness. If you would like to learn more about our school community, please check out the following sites: E. Rivers Facebook page Rivers principal Facebook page http://eriverselementary.com/
February 13, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rivers Elementary School 2

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Our son attends. Last year we were super impressed with E Rivers - especially his teacher. This year E Rivers seems like a different school. His grades are lower, he doesn't understand homework, he was switched to a different class in September due to overcrowding or imbalanced classes (?). We'll wait and see if things make a 'u-turn' or not. If no change for better, then we'll reconsider private schooling.

Rivers Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
There are 2 children who sit next to our daughter. Evidently, they are partly responsible for teaching our child!

Rivers Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
We have been *very unimpressed* by how ineffective our child's teacher has been this school year. The teacher has poor communication skills, is unorganized, late / no-show to all meetings this year, regularly sends home incorrect materials or sends materials home late. Our child has done exceptionally well during other school years....

Rivers Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
TOO MUCH HOMEWORK! 1.5-3 hours spent on homework each night. Our child's backpack weighs 10lbs which is equal to 1/4 of her total body weight. Teacher does not effectively teach new concepts in classroom, so our child often does not understand materials assigned as homework. We spend extra time teaching the un-learned material at home. It's utterly ridiculous!

Rivers Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
In Phys Ed, yes. In other subjects, students are rushed through the materials and given passing grades when information hasn't been mastered.

Rivers Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
I don't believe the school should teach ethics/ principles to students; it should be taught at home. I think it's bit of over-reach on the part of the state and city governments.

Rivers Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 11, 2016
- a community member
All of the teachers I have had over the years here have helped me grow and mature. I would like thank, Mrs. Reed, Mrs. Hirth, Ms. Weber, and Mrs. Cheroff. You were all such great teachers and I learned so much and had so much fun in your classes!

Rivers Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 11, 2016
- a community member
The teachers at this school are all very energetic and wonderful! (except for a select 1 or 2, however this should be expected)

Rivers Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a community member
Teachers are very easy to respect and students must show respect to prevent from loosing recess time etc.

Rivers Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a community member
Since this school is I.B., integrity is a value that is highly stressed. Teachers also demonstrate fairness.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rivers Elementary School
8 Peachtree Battle Ave NW, Atlanta, GA  30305
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (404) 802-7050
Last modified Rivers Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top