Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Discovery Montessori Academy

Private | PK-1

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

My two sons attend DMA and it has become a beloved pillar of our life over the last 3 years. We chose the school because of the location, affordable tuition, and convenient hours. We fell in love with it because of the warm, knowledgeable teachers and staff, peaceful atmosphere, and inspiring approach to Montessori. Bonus for yummy, child-made vegetarian lunches and a diverse mix of students. Any negative issues I have experienced seem typical of a small, independent school that is in the early stages of growth and have been quickly remedied by a responsive and thoughtful staff. My boys are delighted to go to school each day. I am thankful for DMA is part of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

Great school with caring teachers and a fabulous parent community. Our children are growing by leaps and bounds and have teachers with a special gift for bringing out the best in children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2014

Our daughter started DMA when she was three years of age. She is in the elementary program now and loves it, as it is like a second home. I truly can not say enough about this wonderful school and all of the caring teachers and staff. They have helped our daughter to become the caring and confident little girl that she is today. She is way ahead of many children her age in academics. We love the fact that the children help prepare healthy lunches on a daily basis. Lunches are all vegetarian or they have an option of bringing their own nutritious lunch from home. This school is all about community and such a pleasure to be a part of. It is the best choice in education in the Tri-Citi area. I stand by this school 100% and feel safe about sending my children here. I know that they will be cared for and taught to the fullest every day. Another great bonus about this school is that they actually have outdoor time on a daily basis unlike many schools today. Again, great school that we are all very lucky to have here in East Point!! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this gem in East Point. It hurts my heart that a parent would leave such negative feedback about the teachers and administration that work daily to provide the best care and education for my children. Please do not be deterred by one parent's experience; sometimes the parent is the actual problem. This is what I have found at DMA: an authentic AMI-accredited Montessori program, caring and well-trained teachers, a strong director with a gentle heart, enthusiastic learners on each age level, clean classrooms, and a community of families that want to live life together and give support. I have found all of this for me and my two children. My older child is thriving in all academic pursuits- my child is performing way above grade level in every subject and has a personalized education plan (as does every child) so that excitement and progress doesn't wane. My younger child is much younger and has received the most nurturing care you can imagine- all from a trained Montessori professional that understands infant development like no one else in East Point. This school is an absolute gem and an answer to prayer for our family. Thank you DMA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2014

My daughter attended this school for two years. She will not be returning next year. As others have noted, the administration of the school leaves much to be desired. The director of the school is very unprofessional, disorganized, and generally hard to deal with. The owner of the school is apathetic about the school's problems to say the least. DMA lost our daughter's report cards and attendance records for the prior year. After initially lying about sending her records to another school, we discovered that the school had not retained any records for our daughter for the prior year. Instead, they scrambled to track down her report card from an ex-employee of the school--all while telling us the records had been sent. They never were able to track down her attendance records. This is unacceptable performance for a school that purports to have an elementary age program. The owner of the school's only reaction to her director demonstrably lying to a student's parents was to advise us that we would not be welcome at the school next year. If I were a prospective parent, I'd avoid this school at all costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

After many years of attendance I must report that we can no longer stand by this school and have made the decision to leave. We are among a group of many parents leaving this year who felt they had no choice after repeated incidents of negligence and professional failure by administration. Over the past few years since a new Director was hired we have watched as the most valuable teachers and office staff became unhappy with administration problems, subsequently moving on to other Montessori schools in the Atlanta area. The lack of communication, high staff turnover rate, rudeness and outright lies from administration, and numerous dismissals of parent concerns are among the reasons we sought a new school for our children along with many other parents who have been in attendance of the school for years. We hope to see the school improve and thrive as they are needed in the area, but are doubtful of that possibility without an overhaul of administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

This is my first experience with montessori. My son took a little time to adjust to the new environment. I like his teachers. I will be attending the observation soon and hopefully see that I have made a great decision. I will say that Emilie (School Director) is awesome!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

My daughter began at DMA right before her 3rd birthday. She has been there for 3 years and we love the school, her guides, as well as the entire staff and parent community. Everyone feels like family. I know that sounds cliche but it's true. There are ample opportunities for parental involvement. We are so glad to have found Discovery Montessori Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

My two children have been attending DMA for over two and a half years now, starting in their infant room and moving up to Primary. We are very happy with the classrooms and teachers, and also with the menu. It is so much more nutritious than any other school we've seen. They serve very healthy vegetarian food and my kids love the school lunch. This is also the most diverse school of all the ones we looked at, with many different nationalities attending. I feel like the teachers really love my children and are nurturing, and I love the Montessori curriculum. We plan to continue attending Discovery into the elementary program and are thrilled to have found such a great school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

My son attended Discovery for over a year and has been away from the school now for a year. I believe he is just now recovering from the experience. The school forced him to potty train before he was ready, against the advice of his pediatrician. As a result he is just now potty trained shortly before his 4th birthday. Parents were precluded from being involved in the educational process. I feel strongly, and have witnessed through my other children, that parental involvement helps to inspire a love of education in children. At the younger levels, there is significant structure and individuality and play are stifled. And, for a working parent, the program is just not a fit. If you arrive at one minute past 9 am your child is not allowed in for the day and you must find other arrangements for your child. My child is now at Bright Horizons and with a lot of love and care, he now looks forward to school and is potty trained and his love for education is growing by the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

My daughter has attended Discovery for two years, starting in the Toddler program. She has grown so much and continues to develop more everyday. The school has truly supported her social, emotional and educational development. She is becoming a more independent learner, while still keeping her unique personality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

My son has been attending Discovery since he was 4. He had to stop for a year because to relocate out of state. Once he came back, he had fellen behind the other students. I am amaze how the teachers put extra effort towards developing him to where he needed to be. I strongly recommend this school to everyone. Also, the PTA is awesome. They truely support the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

My daughter has been attending Discovery since she was 14 months old. She's 3 now and the experience has been amazing. She is developing into an independent, self sufficient, self motivated learner. She's extremely articulate, insightful, friendly and smart. I'd love to take the credit, but truth is, so much of it belongs to Discovery. The class leads (teachers) are committed and truly believe in the montessori process. It's amazing what a small person can do when just given the opportunity. I'm a pretty difficult parent to whom education is most important, but I have to say that this school truly lives up to its creed to help to develop the whole person. I'm so glad that Discovery is there to help as my daughter begins what I hope will be a life long love of learning
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1453 Cleveland Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30344
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 767-5005

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Romar Academy
East Point, GA


Christ Lutheran School
East Point, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT