Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Slater Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 523 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

this school is horrible, they have young teachers that does not have enough experience in teaching. the feamle teachers wear shirt shirts and too much cleavage. the school itself is not eye catching mesning its not painted like a school. it looks more like a jail. the teachers alway s calls about negative stuff my son does but nothing positive. not enough parent envolvment. no field trips. and school smells bad and no control over students. i regret sending my child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

I had to request homework for my first grader after seeing the inconsistency in homework or projects. This didn't last long. After receiving a homework packet three times, homework stopped again. Information was relayed at the last minute if at all. The holiday and special programs were shabby. The teacher only called to report the seldom negative information about my child. We chose to return for 1st grade becaue Kindergarten was a great experience. The teacher was very caring and had control of her class. Information was relayed through the APS automated system, I received a calendar at the beginning of each month with the todo's & food menu. The holiday and special programs had thought and effort. I communicated my issues very cordially and the only person whom reached out wasn't neither the teacher or an administrator in charge. I had to pull my child from the school for 2nd grade 2013/2014.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

I was impressed by the focus on the childrens learning and their overall education. I look forward to partnering with the school on future projects.


Posted December 8, 2010

I'm so unimpressed with the performance of this school. My daughter's experience has been horrible. Some of the teachers don't have any control over their classrooms. My daughter has trouble focusing because the kids in her class are so unruly. Projects and activites are sent home at the last minute. I am working towards finding another school. I was told that this school was great when I moved to the area. I now regret this decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

Slater is a public school on the rise. Over the past 10 years, I have seen this school become better and better. The school's principal is very cognizant of the social/family challenges her students have and she has recruited a stellar faculty to work with these children. I expect this school to be one of Atlanta's best if they continue with the path they are currently on.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

89 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

102 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

103 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

102 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 37%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Selina Dukes-Walton
Fax number
  • (404) 624-2045

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Pryor Rd SW
Atlanta, GA 30315
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-4050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nur Academy
Atlanta, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT