Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fulton Leadership Academy 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
This school has been great for my son. He has thrived in this environment among young men who share his background. The school provides a family-like atmosphere with camaraderie and a healthy competitive spirit. Best decision I could have made.

Fulton Leadership Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Principal Ward for seeing the value and potential in our young men. He lets us know how grateful he is to have been chosen to lead them. Society as a whole is not investing in them and often sees them as inferior or a menace to society. Mr. Ward and the parents, staff and students dispel this notion and will show the world that we have greatness emerging from FLA.

Fulton Leadership Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
The school instills values of character, honesty and integrity in all students through the approach they take in ensuring each child knows and realizes their individual potential. They have community and business leaders to encourage and mentor these young men to be productive members of society.

Fulton Leadership Academy 5

Posted August 31, 2015
- a student
it is amazing, the school's new principal has offered a lot for the !year he has been there

Fulton Leadership Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
There have been some very ineffective teachers however they get rid of them fast and replace them with teachers who work out.

Fulton Leadership Academy 5

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
My son has been a scholar FLA since its opening in 2010 , expecting this school to run like a well established school is unrealistic however if you are able to see the bigger picture and understand and value the vision of FLA and why Ms. Anderson started the school , you would not want your son any where else . The dedication , consistency and commitment to these young men is rare and unique . if there has been a change we've experienced it being a part of the inagural class , and now as a Junior he wants to be here & understands the value in attending FLA , the complaints or dislikes I have are insignificant in the scheme of things and would not have him leave at all , the school is growing , changing and flourishing and as one of the first families at FLA I've seen it all and im still Satisfied with FLA.

Fulton Leadership Academy 5

Posted July 20, 2014
- a parent
This will be our 3rd year at FLA and it is a great school! I think the lower ratings come from parents who were looking for something more established. As a new charter school, there are certain things that just won't exist until parents buckle down and support. My son has been praised and disciplined, nurtured and supported. I would recommend this school to any involved parents with sons of color.

Fulton Leadership Academy 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
I honestly can say that i pulled my son out of this school and never regretted it. My son has some behavior issues but it was not enough for them to treat him like they did. They isolated him and would not let him see the other students for weeks at a time. Also, The principal, after basically ignoring all of my sons achievements, had a nasty attitude and was very unprofessional. I admit, this school is great and has a great curriculum, but the way things are handled are not what i would want. Again i say, my child is no angel, but he is a very intelligent student and has great potential. This did happen in the year of 2011-2012, so alot might have changed but i do feel like another approach would have been better.

Fulton Leadership Academy 1

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
this is my sons 1st and last year at this school. I don't like it. I agree with the student assessment about this school. I don't care for the administration or the "teachers". I am currently looking for another school for my child. I would not recommend this school to any one I know. This school should loose it charter. Its a wanna be school. They need a overhaul. I don't agree with there discipline code. I wish i could talk to someone to tell them just what the administration is doing wrong. I have talked to two administrators about my concerns, and at this point it like talking to a wall. Boys will be boys or they tell your child "Don't run home and tell your momma/daddy everything that's going on here". What are you trying to tell my son do? Teaching a kid not to tell if they are being hurt? That's why we have these shootings at schools. I told my son the heck with that I want to know and YES, I will go confront ANY teacher, administrator or board member when it comes to mines EVERYDAY. This school needs a State take over. I am so sorry to have enrolled my son at this school.The end of the school year cant come soon enough for this parent!

Fulton Leadership Academy 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a teacher
I am a teacher at Fulton Leadership Academy and I love it. I've taught several years a public school in the Metro Atlanta Area and I've also taught several years at a private school in the Metro Atlanta Area. You'll be hard pressed to find another school as good as this one, public or private. The administration is very easy to talk to. Parents, teachers, and even students can talk to a principle and be certain that their concerns will be looked into. There is a big emphasis on honesty, respect, and following the rules. Parents that think that breaking a few rules isn't a big deal won't like this school. Parents that want their children to be free to do what ever they want won't like this school. Discipline is handled in a very prompt manner. The academics are great. This is one of the few places where I don't question the ability of some of my colleagues. Everyone knows their content and everyone cares about their students getting the content. We don't "fix" kids. We try to help guide them down the path to their success, but we can't do it alone. Parents are a child's primary teacher. We need parents to be on the same page as us. If that is you, you should join us.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fulton Leadership Academy
4141 Old Fairburn Rd, Atlanta, GA  30349
(404) 472-3529
Last modified Fulton Leadership Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fulton Leadership Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top