Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Springdale Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 541 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

Springdale Park Elementary has provided a wonderful learning environment for our children. The school is beautifully renovated with a fantastic rooftop garden from which the children get to sample vegetables. The teachers are warm and loving and it is a fantastic community of parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2014

This school is amazing: from the family science night, to the rooftop garden, to the spanish language classes (for grades 1 and up), to the science presentations for younger kids during the standard testing for older kids, to the orchestra, the environmental science program, the music and art programs (seriously the music teacher got the 1st graders to sing somewhere over the rainbow acapella this year, do you know how challenging that song is for young kids??), to the focus on reasonable personal physical activity in PE, to the supplemental reading circula, to the anti-bullying pro-self esteem focus, I could not love this school more if I tried. I'd go here in a heartbeat, if If they would let me attend an elementary school. I have a daughter in 2nd grade and a son in Kindergarden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

Would love to know more about the early K-2 programs at this school. Happy Grandpa and ex K teacher hoping to learn more about this curriculum and social environment.


Posted March 24, 2014

This is an amazing school all around from the teachers to the parents to the administration. An active PTO and generous parents contribute extra time and money to support the school. Fundraisers and requests for supplies are always answered. While it is not immune to a bad teacher or administrator every now and then, it rivals any private school in terms of educational outcomes. The only differences are that Springdale Park has a slightly higher class size and is governed by APS. The excellent record of the school has caused the student population to grow and expansions are already under construction. I'm excited to be a part of the school and can't wait until my younger children start here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

Great principal, excellent teachers, beautiful facility. Disappointed with experiences we have had with other administrators and staff here, unfortunately. Very involved and wonderful parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

Springdale Park is such a beautiful school! Filled with beautiful people. The principal is brilliant! Ms. Brown makes it a point to know every single one of her students. The teachers are brilliant too! They make sure every single student tries their best and succeeds. These teachers really make the best out of children. Gives a lot of work but also still knows how to have fun! School Activities are greatly valued in Spark (Springdale Park nickname). Especially the fifth grade Wahsega trip!!! So enjoyable! -former student


Posted January 16, 2014

Highest Quality in Town! Rooftop organic garden, quality music program, accelerated reader curriculum and Hi tech in every classroom. Teachers are wait listed to teach here and the parent & community support is terrific. There are strong friendships, a supportive environment and the school is expanding to meet the InTown demand with so many families growing and wanting to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

Great school but.....Security is terrible, there is no fence around the school...anyone could walk in, any child could walk onto the road, an accident waiting to happen. The school is good and would get 5 stars with a fence! What will it take to get that....an awful incident I think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2013

The principal, the teachers, the gifted program, the afterschool classes, the green design of the buildings, the rooftop garden, and for so many more other reasons, we love SPARK so much. We have been thrilled with our experience over the last three years, and our daughter is thriving and loves going to school every morning. We feel blessed to be a part of this school and community. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

An excellent school with some of the best teachers available anywhere. The classes are well run and the school is well equipped thanks to the active PTO, responsible parents, effective administration and most of all the top-notch educators. This school excels despite the ongoing challenges they face within the greater Atlanta Public Schools (APS) system. If not for the political shenanigans of the School Board Members, it's possible that the entire APS system could rise up to deliver like this school does year-after-year. I would highly recommend Springdale Park as well as neighboring schools Morningside and Mary Lin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This is my childs first year at Springdale and everything from its organization, communication and cleanliness has been very impressive! I look forward to this school year and many more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Springdale Park Elementary Atlanta, GA 30306 I've worked at many schools in my 32+ years of teaching and administration. Springdale Park with Principal Yolanda Brown and Assistant Principal Chante Blackwell is the number 1 school in Georgia!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2013

My three children attended SPARK for three years and it was such a wonderful experience for them. Great teachers, curriculum, and parent involvement. My children were always challenged with the school work, enjoyed the extra-curricular activities, and facilities were new/modern. I would say this is one of the best elementary schools in Atlanta.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

Overall SPARK is a wonderful public school in Atlanta. Teachers are competent and involved, the school environment is great, they have all the latest tools (media, computers, smart boards, etc.) that any public school would only dream of, and they have a genuine emphasis on being "green". I am not rating it 5 stars because i think it still needs improvement regarding security. The school is not gated and located near a major 2x2 road (Ponce de Leon) I find it amazing that the kids are in recess, but any child could walk to Ponce, or any stranger, could walk up to the recess area. The school will tell you that they have teachers/staff watching the kids during recess to make sure no one is going outside of the school boundaries. The school is new and is only about 4 years old. Unfortunately, one day, an accident will happen, and they will finally decide to put a fence around the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

I have two children at SPARK and we have been thrilled with their educational experience. There is a strong focus on academics (As expected - it's school!). My kids are equally challenged to grow in areas or accountability, citizenship and responsibility. The parent, teacher, student community is fantastic. We have been very happy with SPARK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

We attended Springdale Park and decided it wasn't a good fit for us so transferred to another public school. What an amazing difference! It's wonderful to have teachers who are teaching and parents who are listening. The curriculum is much more on track with Ga state standards and they don't just teach the test. If you are looking for babysitting Spark is for you, if you are looking for an education for your children, look elsewhere, there are some truly wonderful public schools in Georgia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

Springdale Park is a great school. I am really suprised by some of the comments that are appearing on this site. Springdale Park has only been in operation for four years. From what I can see and hear, it is one of the best and highest performing schools in APS. Ms. Brown and her staff are fantastic. Yes, the school is academically focused, but there are so many other great activities and enrichment for the kids. I have been very pleased with the school, the parents, the strong leadership and wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

This is our first time in a public school setting. Have been disappointed in the inconsistencies of the school from Principal on to the teacher. It appears that the school is so consumed with the academic side and forgets the overall picture of the child. Listening to students is a scarce commodity at Springdale Park. This School is below average overall in my opinion. However the environment is clean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2012

I agree with the recent reviewers here. The school is better than most APS schools in terms of its environment. The parent involvement is awesome. The physical school environment is lovely. The communication, however, is terrible. Their measure of achievement is purely based on CRCT testing and there is little or no experiential or hands-on learning. My child was bored and not enthusiastic about the worksheet approach to learning. With so much student talent in the school, I am surprised they are not using that to their advantage and doing more. Unfortunately, math and science do not seem to be a priority. Honestly, I don't know what the long-term vision for the school is. They seem to be riding on a few years of high CRCT scores and perhaps a few too many parents who are complacent with an all A's report card.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

Springdale Park is surely one of the better public schools in Atlanta. The students are challenged. Parents are incredibly involved. However, the administration seems overly concerned about test scores and other measureables versus fostering an environment which promotes meaningful (vs superficial) understanding and love of learning. This is perhaps the fault of many public schools, but the principal here does not seem attuned to the desires of the broader community of parents here which demand more than proficiency at state-mandated minimum standards. A more involved administration would improve Springdale Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 44%
Black 19% 37%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1246 Ponce De Leon Ave NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-7150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Paideia School
Atlanta, GA



The Atlanta School
Atlanta, GA


The Orion School
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT