Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Atlanta, GA
Students enrolled: 671
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Springdale Park Elementary School 3

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
Academically this school is better than the rest of what the district has to offer. Most of the teachers are enthusiastic about teaching and truly want to see students excel. I've had concerns about some of the teachers' use of improper grammar, but luckily our family is the type to ensure proper training at home as well as school. The resources at the school are excellent. There is a strong PTO that is actively engaged and will ensure that children's academic needs are met. Social development at this school is severely lacking. APS, as a district, doesn't have much diversity. Many schools are very segregated. While this school has a decent mix, the school would benefit from sensitivity/diversity courses. Of course, a child's narrow minded views come from their closed minded parents, but some of the statements that have been made in the classroom that have gone uncorrected are startling. My family is not from the South, so maybe this is normal to most. However, it's difficult to focus solely on academics and ignore the lack of diversity and efforts of inclusion to teach the "whole child". Considering that social development is not being properly taught in some homes, it'd be great to have a place where, for 6 hours, a child could learn about others outside of their "bubble".

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Great variety of the after school programs. The teachers have been top notch. The school offers many opportunities for parents to get involved.

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
My daughter completed her first year at SPARK. She transitioned well from a small private school. We like the facility, the involved parent's association and enthusiastic teachers. While we plan on sending our daughter back next year, we do not believe that she was challenged academically. This is mostly due to a rigid public school system that doesn't allow for individual lesson planning and teaches to the middle. While her teacher understood our concerns about keeping her challenged she had 24 other kids to plan for as well. We understand it is our job to manage our child's learning and we supplement SPARK with outside enrichment to keep her challenged

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
Springdale Park Elementary has provided a wonderful learning environment for our children. The school is beautifully renovated with a fantastic rooftop garden from which the children get to sample vegetables. The teachers are warm and loving and it is a fantastic community of parents.

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing: from the family science night, to the rooftop garden, to the spanish language classes (for grades 1 and up), to the science presentations for younger kids during the standard testing for older kids, to the orchestra, the environmental science program, the music and art programs (seriously the music teacher got the 1st graders to sing somewhere over the rainbow acapella this year, do you know how challenging that song is for young kids??), to the focus on reasonable personal physical activity in PE, to the supplemental reading circula, to the anti-bullying pro-self esteem focus, I could not love this school more if I tried. I'd go here in a heartbeat, if If they would let me attend an elementary school. I have a daughter in 2nd grade and a son in Kindergarden.

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school all around from the teachers to the parents to the administration. An active PTO and generous parents contribute extra time and money to support the school. Fundraisers and requests for supplies are always answered. While it is not immune to a bad teacher or administrator every now and then, it rivals any private school in terms of educational outcomes. The only differences are that Springdale Park has a slightly higher class size and is governed by APS. The excellent record of the school has caused the student population to grow and expansions are already under construction. I'm excited to be a part of the school and can't wait until my younger children start here.

Springdale Park Elementary School 4

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
Great principal, excellent teachers, beautiful facility. Disappointed with experiences we have had with other administrators and staff here, unfortunately. Very involved and wonderful parent involvement.

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2014
- a community member
Springdale Park is such a beautiful school! Filled with beautiful people. The principal is brilliant! Ms. Brown makes it a point to know every single one of her students. The teachers are brilliant too! They make sure every single student tries their best and succeeds. These teachers really make the best out of children. Gives a lot of work but also still knows how to have fun! School Activities are greatly valued in Spark (Springdale Park nickname). Especially the fifth grade Wahsega trip!!! So enjoyable! -former student

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Highest Quality in Town! Rooftop organic garden, quality music program, accelerated reader curriculum and Hi tech in every classroom. Teachers are wait listed to teach here and the parent & community support is terrific. There are strong friendships, a supportive environment and the school is expanding to meet the InTown demand with so many families growing and wanting to attend.

Springdale Park Elementary School 3

Posted January 12, 2014
- a parent
Great school but.....Security is terrible, there is no fence around the school...anyone could walk in, any child could walk onto the road, an accident waiting to happen. The school is good and would get 5 stars with a fence! What will it take to get that....an awful incident I think.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Springdale Park Elementary School
1246 Ponce De Leon Ave NE, Atlanta, GA  30306
(404) 802-7150
Last modified Springdale Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Springdale Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top