Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
Springdale Park Elementary has provided a wonderful learning environment for our children. The school is beautifully renovated with a fantastic rooftop garden from which the children get to sample vegetables. The teachers are warm and loving and it is a fantastic community of parents.

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing: from the family science night, to the rooftop garden, to the spanish language classes (for grades 1 and up), to the science presentations for younger kids during the standard testing for older kids, to the orchestra, the environmental science program, the music and art programs (seriously the music teacher got the 1st graders to sing somewhere over the rainbow acapella this year, do you know how challenging that song is for young kids??), to the focus on reasonable personal physical activity in PE, to the supplemental reading circula, to the anti-bullying pro-self esteem focus, I could not love this school more if I tried. I'd go here in a heartbeat, if If they would let me attend an elementary school. I have a daughter in 2nd grade and a son in Kindergarden.


Springdale Park Elementary School 3

Posted March 31, 2014
- a community member
Would love to know more about the early K-2 programs at this school. Happy Grandpa and ex K teacher hoping to learn more about this curriculum and social environment.
1 person found this helpful

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school all around from the teachers to the parents to the administration. An active PTO and generous parents contribute extra time and money to support the school. Fundraisers and requests for supplies are always answered. While it is not immune to a bad teacher or administrator every now and then, it rivals any private school in terms of educational outcomes. The only differences are that Springdale Park has a slightly higher class size and is governed by APS. The excellent record of the school has caused the student population to grow and expansions are already under construction. I'm excited to be a part of the school and can't wait until my younger children start here.

Springdale Park Elementary School 4

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
Great principal, excellent teachers, beautiful facility. Disappointed with experiences we have had with other administrators and staff here, unfortunately. Very involved and wonderful parent involvement.


Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2014
- a community member
Springdale Park is such a beautiful school! Filled with beautiful people. The principal is brilliant! Ms. Brown makes it a point to know every single one of her students. The teachers are brilliant too! They make sure every single student tries their best and succeeds. These teachers really make the best out of children. Gives a lot of work but also still knows how to have fun! School Activities are greatly valued in Spark (Springdale Park nickname). Especially the fifth grade Wahsega trip!!! So enjoyable! -former student

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Highest Quality in Town! Rooftop organic garden, quality music program, accelerated reader curriculum and Hi tech in every classroom. Teachers are wait listed to teach here and the parent & community support is terrific. There are strong friendships, a supportive environment and the school is expanding to meet the InTown demand with so many families growing and wanting to attend.

Springdale Park Elementary School 3

Posted January 12, 2014
- a parent
Great school but.....Security is terrible, there is no fence around the school...anyone could walk in, any child could walk onto the road, an accident waiting to happen. The school is good and would get 5 stars with a fence! What will it take to get that....an awful incident I think.


Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2013
- a parent
The principal, the teachers, the gifted program, the afterschool classes, the green design of the buildings, the rooftop garden, and for so many more other reasons, we love SPARK so much. We have been thrilled with our experience over the last three years, and our daughter is thriving and loves going to school every morning. We feel blessed to be a part of this school and community. Highly recommended.

Springdale Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
An excellent school with some of the best teachers available anywhere. The classes are well run and the school is well equipped thanks to the active PTO, responsible parents, effective administration and most of all the top-notch educators. This school excels despite the ongoing challenges they face within the greater Atlanta Public Schools (APS) system. If not for the political shenanigans of the School Board Members, it's possible that the entire APS system could rise up to deliver like this school does year-after-year. I would highly recommend Springdale Park as well as neighboring schools Morningside and Mary Lin.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Springdale Park Elementary School
1246 Ponce De Leon Ave NE, Atlanta, GA  30306
(404) 802-7150
Last modified Springdale Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Springdale Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top