Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ivy Prep Academy at Kirkwood for Girls School

Charter | K-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $154,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

I used to really enjoy this school and what they stood for. This past year has been terrible and I can not speak for all teachers but I am thoroughly upset that my son has been BULLIED all year long and I have wrote emails, I have spoken to the Vice principle, and my son's teacher and have even tried to set up a parent meeting. He has been hit on, knocked down, poked with pencils, food thrown in his face, and nothing to date has been done.Then I am told that there can be an investigation done but there needs to be documentation. The teacher who I will not disclose her name has seen this happening and has yet to report it according to the VP of the school. My son opened his mouth and threatened this kid and has now been suspended because of the threat. This is very upsetting because I have been to the school countless of times and nothing has been done. Sad...You send your kids to what you believe to be a good school and they are not protected but when they do stand up for themselves they are once again victimized, teaching them that they are not safe. I will not apologize for this post and will continue to post reviews on other sites. The Zero Tolerance policy only applies to some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2014

I read the reviews posted by others. I'm a parent who also works in education. The point of charter is to give us a choice in our child's education. Not sure about others but my home school in DeKalb, Salem Middle, is HORRIBLE. I see the same parents volunteering. Some of them everyday. While others congregate in the parking lot with negative conversations about the school. A kid almost got hit the other morning because some mom didn't want to drop off in the car Lane. We have to be the first example of following rules with our kids. Can there be improvements? YES! This is a new school experiencing growing pains. We as parents could help the school out by making sure our girls are doing their part. The level of disrespect that I have witnessed is appalling. Let's be part of the solution, not the problem. Remember, Ivy is our choice. A better choice. Work in progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

had such high hopes for this school but continuious educational disruption due to high teacher turnover has lead to poor test scores and the girls are unrulely making learning difficult please think twice before sending your daughter to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

My daughter loves IPA and so do I. This is her first year here, and I must say that I am pleased. I took a gamble pulling her from her previous school, but I have found a school where she is loved for who she is yet pushed to be a better her. I love, love, love her teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

I am very pleased with IPA. This is my daughter's second year and although we had a stronger bond with her last year teacher, this year has gone been going well so far. True, as with most fairly new schools, there is room for improvement. But compared to the school we were zoned for, this is a far better choice! Hopefully next year there will be a better sense of stability. We feel like we never really know what's going to actually take place when we're told. With more parent involvement, I'm sure next year will be even better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

This is the second year my daughter has attended. While it's not perfect, I am more than satisfied with the high level of curriculum, discipline, and strides made to continuously up the ante for the scholars education. Her classwork and homework are challenging and the expectation of excellence has been made clear to her by her teacher and administrators. I can't speak for the middle school grades, but the elementary grade teachers are great! The only thing I can say that concerns me is the lack of parental involvement. Because this is a charter school, parents had to make a conscious decision to enroll their child, so they more than understand that their participation is expected. Unfortunately, there is a disconnect between expectations and what is actually happening. If you're a parent who wants to give your child a fighting chance and understand that it may not happen at their traditional home school, give Ivy Prep a try!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

IPA is definitely not what I expected when I signed up for my daughter to attend this school. I agree with one of the previous posts regarding uniforms I also spent over $500 and they didn't even enforce the uniform policy. Three years later they are trying to enforce it and parents are not happy. Most teachers are first time instructors, appear to have no training, and can not control their classes. Few of the teachers have certificates and they do not communicate well with parents. I believe the demographics of this school has a lot to do with it being an epic failure compared to the success of the Gwinnett County campus. There are not enough parents who care to force the administration to do something different. After the first year I wanted to give them an opportunity to make it better but it got worse. I've been trying to put my daughter into another school but School Choice did not work in my favor and moving my child to her home school might be "cutting off my nose to spite my face". If you are considering IPA/Kirkwood for your daughter, please make sure you do your research first. And by all means, please do not confuse it with the rating of the Gwinnett campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

I would be very cautious about sending your daughter to this school. My daughter was exposed to inappropriate sexual conduct amongst the girls, foul language, and a slower than average curriculum. The administrators seemed to be more concerned with pushing their own agendas than shaping the girls into the best that they can be. I transferred my daughter to a private school. I am still dealing with the horrible mistake of sending my daughter to this school. Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

My daughter attended Kindergarten at Ivy Prep Academy at Kirkwood and I am very pleased! She tested above average in all subjects and I definitely give the praise to her teacher who was dedicated and cared for the girls. I love the single gender idea, since it is a proven fact that girls learn differently than boys (I have both a girl and boy). The main office staff communicates well by sending out weekly newsletters via email to keep parents informed as well as allow parents to view progress reports and report cards online. We will be returning! My son will be starting Kindergarten in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

Unlike our zoned school the kids get that one on one from the teachers that they need. Their methods are non-traditional which a plus is for the children of this time. Ivy stresses respect and character building, sets HIGH expectations that the scholars enjoy striving to achieve while being encouraged to think outside of the box. Collages (Harvard, FAMU, Brown, etc.) not classes sets the SCHOLAR not just a student mentality in motion. The teachers and staff They are very pleasant and welcoming and have consistently shown the scholars and parent the respect that they in turn demand. It s a sacrifice to get my scholar there and back each day due to conflicting schedules but it s worth every bit of it. My child went from being a C student at her zoned school to an A -B in the first year at Ivy. Thank GOD she is now back at Ivy and back on the right track. With more parent involvement and dedication I see this campus being just as successful as the Gwinnett campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

We had a very poor experience at this school. There was rampant bullying and verbal abuse between the students (middle school aged girls) and the adminstration did not appear to be able to get a handle on the issues, merely reinforcing 'respect each other and be nice' platitudes. The teachers are willing and able and are almost without exception young and enthusiastic, but I fear their youth and inexperience may be their downfall in being able to identify and eliminate bad behavior in the classroom. The uniform is restrictive and expensive in the planning and purchasing phase but the enforcement of the uniform policy is lax, making me wonder why there was the need to purchase $500+ of uniform if the rules are not subsequently enforced. Overall, the faux-private school appearance is, at best, a sham. I hesitated for months before writing a negative review out of respect for the young teachers and counselors who are talented and enthusiastic and have many great ideas to educate their sometimes unruly charges, but it would be unfair to prospective parents to not point out the major inadequacies of school leadership to address the major discipline and identity issues of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

I have a 6th grader here who WILL be returning, We love the single gender model. The girls are more confident and willing to step into leadership roles. The teachers are fantastic, very enthusiastic and innovative. There is a strict uniform policy with professional wear required on Mondays. The school will add a grade each year, until it is K - 12. They have an extended school day (7:50am - 4:00pm) and academic support after school and Saturdays. Recently the girls were assigned to plan an event, poetry night. They picked the children that performed, organized a raffle, decorated, planned and bought concessions and emceed the event. They were graded on the quality of the show, attendance of the students and amount of money raised. The boys school had the same assignment for another evening. It turned out to be a great competition and taught them to think like entrepreneurs. The money raised will be used for a field trip. This is the type of program I was looking for when I signed my daughter up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

it is a great school there is no bullying my friend said she loved the school


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

22 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1807 Memorial Dr SE
Atlanta, GA 30317
Phone: (678) 451-4094

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT