Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School 4

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
As a parent of Ivy Prep, I love the school overall. Do we have difficult situations? Of course, what school doesn't! We may not be perfect, but teachers and staff truly care and love our scholars. I have three daughters that attend this school. All of my daughters love their teachers. The teachers communicate with me daily about their academics and struggles. My daughters have a great relationships and built trust with their teachers. My oldest has an IEP and Ivy has helped her more than her former school. The teachers and IEP team have been patient with my daughter and have built her confidence and self-esteem. She now believes in herself more than she ever has. My other two daughters are also excelling very well. Teachers are very engaged and go above and beyond for their scholars.

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School 1

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Worst school ever! I should have known from the staff behavior at the New Scholar ceremony. They made no effort to approach parents to welcome them, no eye contact. Very aloof. It's been downhill ever since. There was more emphasis on the consequences of bad behavior and inappropriate dress than how they would assist student goals and achievement. The staff is rude. The teachers, save one or two that I have encountered, are rude and don't treat students with respect. How can you expect to get the best out of your students if you cannot show the same common courtesies you expect to receive from them? The teachers are supposed to use e-Class to post assignments. They don't. The lack of communication is astounding. Thankfully, I have a responsible student otherwise, she would fail miserably at this horrible institution. If the teachers would use the resources given to them and communicate with the parents, I would give higher praise. If every time I asked a question of the faculty and didn't get "Why do you need to know" in response, I would give higher praise. If every time they fell down and I didn't get a lame excuse as a response, I would give higher praise. I am an engaged and supportive parent. I wanted to love this school. It's a shame I cannot.

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are rude, disrespectful and punish the many for the behavior of a few. I cannot tell you how many times my child told me she raised her hand in class only to be ignored. To have gone to the teacher for assistance only to be told it's in the material. Really? When a child asks for help, it's your job to stop, pay attention and provide guidance. My child is getting A's not because of the teacher, but because I finally gave up trying to reach the teacher and hired a tutor.

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Honestly, if they bothered to post assignments I might feel differently. I've made it clear I am an engaged parent. I want to know what the focus is in class. I want to know what assignments are given and when they are due. I want to know that if my child has a question on an assignment, she will get an answer and not the brush off. Don't squelch the thirst for knowledge and the desire to exceed!

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School 3

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year at Ivy Prep and I am pleased with what I have experienced this year. Her teacher is awesome! The teachers are tasked with a pretty difficult job with teaching kids that are below average to exceeding. Despite that struggle and the time commitment she has remained steadfast in ensuring that each girl is successful. Are there issues, of course, as with any public school. However, the vision of this school is evident. I agree with what others have said, parent involvement is key for any school to be successful. If you are looking for a great alternative to what Dekalb, Fulton and APS has to offer Ivy Prep is a great choice. If we could get more families that are like-minded the more successful this school will become.

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School 5

Posted April 17, 2015
- a parent
Ivy prep its a good school that give your kids the ability to be independent & to strive for success without being bullie & i love its its all the same gender in the classroom that way your girl child can focus on work not a boy crush in classroom & the uniforms are professional looking & the 3 teacher my scholar have had was excellent especially mrs carter the first grade teacher

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School 4

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter attends kindergarten at Ivy Prep. It is working well for her. The teacher is engaging but firm. They have many practices that encourage good citizenship and cooperation and the like. Certainly for kindergarten it is a fine choice.

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
My daugther's school Iny Prep Academy at Kirkwood for Girls is awesome! I love the culture and atmosphere of the school and how they show a genuine interest in my daughter's education. The uniforms are excellent and professional but the most important aspect is the cirriculum gearing my child for college and making sure that she's ready!

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School 4

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
This is my first year at Ivy Prep. I must say that it does take a village to raise a child. I see a lot of negative comments below and as one of the parent's said: Are you gonna be a part of the problem or part of the solution? Coming from school up north, I have seen the difference in kids who have parents that care and those who don't. With what I saw for my first day, the only issues I've encountered are the parents, the uniforms being expensive, and some disorganization going on. The "Body". Parents, students and teachers should always be working together. The quality of the uniforms are what I would expect from a brand like Lands End so in a sense, this is truly a good thing. As far as organization -it's a FREE Public school! If you are good at organizing help the school out! They are wearing multiple hats for free trying to make sure our kids are able to have a good education. Coming from a non profit whose department raises over 60 mil a year - I for one will do my best to make sure I help the kids at Ivy succeed. Any successful school has 3 things helping it; Parent involvement, funding, and resources - if you are a parent - be that for Ivy. .

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School 1

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
I used to really enjoy this school and what they stood for. This past year has been terrible and I can not speak for all teachers but I am thoroughly upset that my son has been BULLIED all year long and I have wrote emails, I have spoken to the Vice principle, and my son's teacher and have even tried to set up a parent meeting. He has been hit on, knocked down, poked with pencils, food thrown in his face, and nothing to date has been done.Then I am told that there can be an investigation done but there needs to be documentation. The teacher who I will not disclose her name has seen this happening and has yet to report it according to the VP of the school. My son opened his mouth and threatened this kid and has now been suspended because of the threat. This is very upsetting because I have been to the school countless of times and nothing has been done. Sad...You send your kids to what you believe to be a good school and they are not protected but when they do stand up for themselves they are once again victimized, teaching them that they are not safe. I will not apologize for this post and will continue to post reviews on other sites. The Zero Tolerance policy only applies to some.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School
1807 Memorial Dr Se, Atlanta, GA  30317
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (678) 451-4094
Last modified Ivy Prep Academy At Kirkwood For Girls School is a Charter school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top