Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Druid Hills High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
thank you to all the teachers who challenged my kids. Thank you for weathering 7 years of paycuts and the stress of increased paperwork to teach our kids. thank you for all the extra hours you devote to sponsoring clubs and sports.

Druid Hills High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
I am only speaking in reference to the AP/IB and the handful non AP/IB teachers with whom I have had contact.

Druid Hills High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
My children have not observed much cheating or plagarism by their peers and seem to be asked to include proper citations when completing research projects/papers. the school uses Turn It In dot com.

Druid Hills High School 5

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
First, I want to say that the profile, rating, and test scores listed for this school are old and inaccurate in some cases. Some of the most important statistics like awards for recent AP test performance and number of International Baccalaureate candidates receiving the diploma are completely absent from the school's profile. I have multiple children who attend this school and one child who graduated from this school in 2015. All but one of my children were in the gifted/AP/IB sequence, so I cannot speak much about the "on level" classes. My child who was not in gifted, seemed to be adequately challenged in his classes and was allowed to take AP classes when he wanted to do so which may not have been allowed at a school that has a selective admission process for AP Classes. My child who graduated in 2015 was accepted to UGA and received the Zell Miller scholarship. He had a lot of credit hours for college from his AP and IB test scores. He had wonderful, dedicated teachers throughout his education at Druid Hills. In addition to a good education, this school is one of the few places where your child can experince true diversity. This school has a wonderful mix of people from all over the world, every socioeconomic group, many different racial and ethnic groups, most major religious groups, and people who are part of the LGBT. The faculty also reflects many of these diverse perspectives. Students can take classes like AP Physics from scientists at Fernbank Science center and do dual enrollment with area colleges. This is a great school for students who want academic challenge.

Druid Hills High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
learned at home.. I don't think my kid is learning any virtues this year.There are some schools like arabia mountain where u can say yes my kid learned to be a better person, not here.

Druid Hills High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
There are people there who have worked overtime to draw my kid out of her shyness. Only one has been her teacher. However from others i believe they give her such a hard time to lessen the competition. my son attends an elite school and i think they are trying to block her. it may sound crazy but there is a letter making the rounds from a southern doctor where she is mad cause her kid did not get a merit scholarship and thinks poorer kids are not qualified the joke is she is southern. Georgia is the south.

Druid Hills High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Punitive measures for being one second late, not the type of school that for even five minutes tells kids hurry hurry to class or like last year until the new vp came said get in your seat bemireefore announcements are over and you are ok. it's a calculated system to give a child a bad record.

Druid Hills High School 1

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
The teachers literally do not care. They can take a talented kid and turn them into a demotivated depressed egg. As for attendance my kid would rather not go than be late. It was raining cats and dogs yesterday and my kid refused to go cause we had to stop because of zero visibility. My kid thought she was smart and has the test scores to prove it, now she has stated that she is incapable of doing multiple choice. Think psychological torture.... It's been five years since I've complained on this site, if i say it's bad, you better listen. As for the administration they are handling the discipline problems complained about below with people who are the same ethnicity of my child. My kid can be on the property on time and still be cited for being late and it can lead up to expulsion the smartest kid in the county.......

Druid Hills High School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
Druid Hills High School offers and exceptional education. I have one child that graduated with the class of 2013. She is currently finishing her sophomore year of college. She received a full scholarship. My youngest child will graduated with the class of 2015. He has over a 4.0 GPA and will receive a full scholarship as well. There are some behavioral issues at the school, but this can be found in the best of public schools. As for the faculty, I have found ALL but 1 to be highly professional and competent. Both of my children took all AP courses during their junior and senior year and did well on the AP test. I did not have a preference as to whether the school became a charter school or not, but as it is, Druid Hills is offering an exceptional education for those seeking it.

Druid Hills High School 1

Posted September 18, 2014
- a student
I am a currently a student at DHHS. You should think twice before sending your kid here. From unmotivated teachers, teachers in completely over their heads, ebonics from some coaches, to armed guards on campus DHHS is a shining example of a once proud school taken down by mediocrity. Don't take my word for it. Attend meetings, football games, basketball games etc and you will get a picture of DHHS. Look at the number of long term teachers that have left over the last two years, look at their less skilled replacements. Talk to the administration, talk to the counselors, watch how the lunch program is administered, look at what the students wear to school, you will be amazed at what you will see and learn. Draw your own conclusions, but I tell everyone that will listen about my DHHS experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Druid Hills High School
1798 Haygood Drive, Atlanta, GA  30307
(678) 874-6302
Last modified Druid Hills High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Druid Hills High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top