Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sagamore Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2010

This is a fantastic school - close community, great administrators, accommodating for disabled students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My son, now in 4th grade, has been at Sagamore Hills since Kindergarten. Sagamore Hills has extremely dedicated teachers, outstanding extracurricular programs, a stimulating and supportive academic environment that encourages academic achievement. Students represent not only diverse racial and ethnic backrounds, but also different socioeconomic levels all which are embraced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Sagamore Hills has exceeded my expectations for what i expected my son to learn in Kindergarten. I'm pleasantly surprised to see him academically and socially grow so fast in only a few months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

The teachers at Sagamore are thoughtful, creative, and prepared. The parents are involved and supportive. The administration aims to foster a positive, safe, and successful learning environment for all students. Together we form a comprehensive team working in the best interest of the children under our watch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

Incredible school, just the right size and very diverse with students who thrive and amazing programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

a fantastic atmosphere for kids to grow and learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Sagamore has a fantastic PTA. This in addition to caring teachers and parents makes this a wonderful environment for our children to learn and thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

A fantastic school where the teachers are happy to work and the children are encouraged to do their best. The community is diverse and parents are active. It is a wonderful community school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

I have been involved at Sagamore Hills elementary for 14 years. My daughter who is now 18 was in the first lottery funded pre-k class at Sagamore. Next year I will watch as my 9 year old becomes a 5th grader and then moves on to middle school. Sagamore represents all that is important to parents of elementary age children. Teachers are well prepared, administration values input, children are happy and the community is involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

We have an incredibly diverse group of students. All teachers, staff and parents are truly committed to making sure every child learns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The greatest teachers, parents and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love Sagamore Hills because of the great teachers and staff - and the fact that my children absolutely love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Sagamore Hills Elementary has caring teachers, excited children and wonderful school spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

We have wonderful students, teachers, parents and a terrific principal who collectively make our school amazing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love Sagamore because of its diversity and strong academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love Sagamore Hills for our fantastic principal, dedicated teachers, the best PTA and parents, and the diversity of our students. We all truly work together to make Sagamore Hills the best elementary school in Atlanta!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

I have two children in this school and have overall been very pleased. Contrary to some of the other comments, I have found the principal to be very open. There are a lot of opportunities for children here in a lot of different areas. As with anything, there is always room to improve, but I've found that all the teachers and staff generally know all the students and take personal interest in them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

My child is doing great at school, loves her teacher who always has something going for the kids - keeps them busy with activities in Science, Math and PE is regular.Parent participation is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

Wonderful school! The diversity is phenomenal. In my daughters kindergarten class of 17 students, there are Asians, White, Black, Caribbean and Hispanic. Sagamore also has a great range of economic backgrounds. Lots of extracurricular activities. I strongly believe that mastering Reading skills has a direct correlation in future success in other subjects and this school has a strong reading focus. The kids go to PE everyday, or just about everyday! In this age of childhood obesity, it's good to see the kids get to expend some of their energy physically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

Sagamore has a great student body - many parents are with the CDC and Emory, many others are well educated professionals, so there is a lot of academic support and encouragement at home. The school offers solid extracurriculars and great programs such as Math Superstars and Great Books. And yet ... it is the wrong school for many children, including my academically gifted child. This is the most rigid elementary school I have ever seen with rules which are unreasonable for the youngest children (and many of the older ones). All because of a principal who believes all children are the same and there is only one way to learn - skill and drill and keep your mouth shut and follow directions. His arrogance, his unwillingness to see children as individuals make this a bad choice for any children who are not 'cookie cutter.'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

75 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 44%
Hispanic 31% 12%
Black 16% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1865 Alderbrook Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30345
Phone: (678) 874-7502

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT