Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hawthorne Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 442 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2010

I have also removed my child from this NCLB school.There is only a handful of passionate staff.Staff developement is severely needed.I must say the children are very postive but stressed.Lunchroom is dirty and very loud.Hopefully the PTA will make these changes its overdue


Posted February 24, 2010

If you have a child with special needs, think twice before sending them here. They may thrive somewhere else. They appear only concerned with test scores than the development of the child with different or special abilities. My child went here after attending Coralwood, but I decided to remove her from this school late in the school year. My child is now happy and thriving in her zoned school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Hawthorne is a hidden gem of a school! No need to send your children to private school if you are in this school's district! Excellent teachers, small teacher/pupil ratios.. a wonderful wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

They do a great job of teaching all kids, no matter their economical, social, physical and/or mental challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

The school itself it fine, it's my daughter's teacher that I have an issue with. She seems to have anger issues with the children in her class and I will be looking into this more in depth....believe me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

we moved our son to Hawthorne after a terrible experience at a neighboring elementary school that was considered one of the best in the county. Hawthorne was such a huge improvment from where he was! The Teachers, Principle and Parents are very invovled. My son went from being unhappy about going to school to being enthusiastic about getting back there every day. I highly recommend Hawthorne to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My child has attended this school for 2 years and so far it has been positive. He has learned a lot. The teachers are good and classes are small. I see the principal out of the office a lot and assisting, but reaching her and getting her to return your calls are hard. I don't necessarily like that all of the classrooms are inclusion classes. I would also like to see more advanced classes for high achievers and more activities. Parents are really involved at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I have always been a supporter of public education but after having my children in DeKalb schools for several years now (elementary and middle), I am starting to re- think my decision. I am disappointed in the quality of the activities my child completes in and out of school (lots of worksheets). The time I have been in the classroom the teacher has her hands full with discipline and is not able to provide individual attention when needed. I think that mainstreaming can work but only if there are enough hands to help out in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

My daughter is in pre-k at Hawthorne. We have thoroughly enjoyed her experience thus far. Her class has 18 students and 3 teachers, a ratio which enables a great deal of one on one interaction (even more than I think she would have received at a private pre-k). Her teachers are fantastic, as are the administrators I have had interactions with. I really like the small size of the school, as well as the high level of parental involvement. The principal is very open to input from parents, going so far as to create a committee (open to all parents) to investigate enrichment opportunities for the more advanced students in the school. I encourage all parents struggling with the choice between Hawthorne and private school to visit the school, talk to parents and teachers, and to keep an open mind. I'm so glad I did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

Hawthorne Elementary is a wonderful school. 'There is a saying whatever the head is like, this will impact the rest of the follwers.' The Princpal is a hands on person. We can see how much she cares for her students and She has set high standard for the teachers and the students. The teachers work very hard to make sure ours children recieve a good education. There also, very helpful and caring. I love that the PTA is very supportive of the school. The only downside to Hawthorne Elementary is the lack of extracurrllium activities. We need more of a selection to chose from. For example, a Choir, or a dance class, or a computer class. Over all My family and I look's forward to returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

I have spent a great deal of time in my child's classroom and have been disturbed by many children who seem out of control. The atmosphere is not conducive to learning. I have also eaten lunch in the cafeteria and witnessed similar behavior. I also have issues with a program called Discovery for 'gifted' students. These students are pulled out for enrichment. The state we came from provided enrichment for all students in the classroom. It's not hard to imagine how the students who are not labled 'gifted' must feel when they remain in the classroom. We're not sure if Hawthorne is a good match for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

We had heard such great things about Hawthorne when we moved to Atlanta but have been disappointed for the most part. There are a lot of non-english speaking parents, so as a room parent it was frustrating trying to communicate. Not alot of hands-on activities in the classroom. We decided to go with private education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

I have one student who has attended this school for 3 years now and have been very impressed. The teachers are young and energetic with a passion for teaching. They encourage parental envolvement in many ways. This is an enclusion school so the teacher to student ratio is lower than most schools. I would highly recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

Discipline issues encountered during our years at Hawthorne were handled professionally. Both my husband and I have served in numerous parental roles at the school and have found working with the staff a delight. The administrators have been helpful in dealing with our concerns and finding resolutions. The school is old, but the classrooms are most inviting. The school is not dirty. We have experienced for the most part small classroom sizes and an abundance of teachers. We have a lower than average student to teacher ratio. Classes are added when numbers exceed state guidelines. We are fortunate to have children in a place where academic rigor is instituted. Our three kids have excelled in national testing. Our children are also benefiting from an ethnically diverse student body and learning empathy for kids with special needs. The school is a gem. Kristi Fuqua
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

We chose private school after a bad experience at Hawthorne School. There were several discipline issues in the classroom that affected our child's learning. We had several meetings with administration but nothing ever changed. I served on several committees and found the administrators to be rather distant. The school building itself is dirty and the class sizes are very large. Hawthorne may be a good fit for some but we wanted better for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

I have not been impressed with this school. Leadership is not very approachable; school facility dirty and old; way too much emphasis on test scores! Makes you wonder... I would give Hawthorne a D+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

There are many positive aspects of the school. It is very easy to speak with the administration and teachers. The school is fairly small, so your child is not just a number. Obviously, no school is perfect. There could be more extracurricular activities and the building itself could be renovated but that's what you'll get in DeKalb County schools. Parental involvement is high among a small segment of the school population but the school would benefit from more parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Hawthorne is a wonderful learning institution. The principal is very knowledgeable, involved and very organized. The teachers really seem to enjoy 'teaching'. The administrators and staff really care about the kids. The parental support and involvement is superb. The student body is diverse and exposure to diversity will benefit all of the students at Hawthorne as they matriculate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

I really love this school.I have a child in PRE-K and one in the first grade,they both have learned so much,the teachers are wonderful at what they do.The whole staff of people working here are very nice,they really seem to care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

some things simply do not translate in test scores. This school has an incredible staff of teachers. The principal is smart and open to dialogue on every level. This school is a little jewel tucked in a tranquil neighborhood. My sons were in private school at one time and this school is so far superior to the education they were receiving. There is diversity here that is balanced and reflective of what they will encounter naturally in life it does not feel forced.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

104 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

104 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

104 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

72 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

73 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

72 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 44%
Black 31% 37%
Hispanic 20% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2535 Caladium Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30345
Phone: (678) 874-2802

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sophia Academy
Atlanta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT