Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Douglass High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2010

Yes, I agree with most of the comments. Douglass truly staring falling ince Mr. Brown became the Principal. We went to the board and Dr. Augustine last year regarding him and they would not listen. We will now select a new Prinicipal and we all have to support in bringing the school back to order. Parents need to get involved and support the school Come and visit and see what you can do to help build the school back. It can happen but we need your support. Remember in numbers we have the power.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

Seriously, the principal hit lucky on a million dollars and decided that he was going to leave. Although Mr. J. Austin-Brown wasn't doing so great in the leadership department he still had a role as the principal of a school that isn't getting great reviews. Since I was in Douglass the school was unorganized and it seem as if only one counselor truly cared about the student (Mrs. Strickland). Honestly the school needs a more efficient principal such that of Dr. Horton who characteristics were far beyond true leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

I am a student at doug. . I am ashamed to tell people the school I go to. I really wIsh that I was going to another school any EXECPT Douglas. when we had our homecoming prep rally people didnt even want to sing the school song and the past students were looking very disappointed. I thought Douglas was going to be a good school because of the things i heard but as i was up there its nothing like it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

Douglass need a new principals that care about kids and education.My son is a 11th grader so I know the school is failing the teacher cant do all by there self.Douglass football teams need new uniform the principal need to do some funraiser an involve the kids and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

This school has fallen down. The principal has no control over the school. Teacher moral is low and many are trying to leave the school. It is a shame for a school that was once a High School of Excellence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 1, 2009

Going to Douglass was an overwhelming experience for me. My peers were so cruel and the staff wasn't all that great either. I had no choice but to withdrawl. However the teachers were awesome. Ms. Turley-Moore, Ms. Watkins, Ms. Bradshaw, Mr. Muhaamad, and escpecially Mr. Thibault. I miss them all dearly. Going to Douglass taught me something, it taught me about life and the real world. If only others could listen to the message that the teachers are trying to get them to comprehend. It would make the school alot better if the kids acted like they had some home training. Now don't get me wrong some of the people were friendly, and were willing to help someone in distress. But think people, how many people do you meet like that in a life time?
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2008

I graduated from Douglass in 2007 and I can honestly say that there was a dramatic change when Mr. Brown arrived my senior year. Everything changed and he just seemed as if he was afraid of taking charge. He acted as if he never had a role that required leadership skills. Now my little sister goes to the school and she justisfies everything that I said about Mr. Brown. He seems as if he is scared of the children! But overall, Douglass is a great school (i just wish Douglass would get another principal) But Douglass made me the woman I am today and I am proud to say that I am a Douglass High Astro Alumni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

My daughter went to FDHS and graduated 2007. My son is a senior who will graduate 2009. In the beginning, under the direction of Dr. Horton, I was inspired and excited about my children attending. Dr. Horton was a man who got things done and his staff followed suit. Unfortunately, when Mr. Brown came to FDHS, things changed dramatically. Although Mr. Brown's ideals and beliefs are geniune, and he talks a good game, he just doesn't have what it takes to get the job done! This is also apparent with his staff who seem to have no respect for him, fellow colleagues, parents, or students. I am deeply disappointed that my son has not received the quality attention and care that my daughter did when we began at FDHS. As with my daughter, my son will continue on to college and I'm grateful for the help he did receive. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

The School has made great improvements under the leadership of Mr. J. A.Brown
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

My daughter went to Douglass for 9th & 10th grade. Certain people in the front office staff are VERY RUDE and try to treat parents like children and the new principal, Mr. Brown, talks a lot of good game about changing things in the school, but nothing has changed yet. When my daughter was having problems in school, she could never connect with her counselor because the counselor wasn't in her office or her teachers wouldn't let her out of class. We'll see what her junior year brings in at North Atlanta - I'm hoping for better things all around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Douglass high school is almost a great teachers just need to give the students more attention and one on one help
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2006

As a former graduate of Douglass and class of '98, being in the magnet program has helped me succeed in college. This school is one of the best schools in the school system. The teachers are there to help students and the students are there to learn. Of course there will always be slackers but the experiences that I have gained while attending Douglass has been a great experience. If your child plans on going to college I suggest having your child in the magnet program because once they attend college they will appreciate the experience. I know I have.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 14, 2005

Dr. Horton, administrative staff and Teachers are wonderful. I have two children that attends and one who has graduated from Douglas High School. I was having a little trouble with one of my children and I took it to Dr. Horton's attention and he handled very well as would a concerned Principal and/or parent. My husband and I feel truly blessed to have our children attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

I was a student at Frederick Douglass High school and I can say that Dr.Horton is doing a great job and with the help of his outstanding facility. Keep the good work up and stay focus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 15, 2004

I am a 1996 graduate of Douglass High School under the dynamic leadership of Dr. Samuel Hill. Douglass was a great school then and provided me with the foundation, both socially and educationally, to reach my highest potential. I will always be a true Astro.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 31, 2004

I think that the school don't pay enough attention to the students I have seen students wondering in the hallways. Skipping class, pants sagging. I have even seen students who don't do any work in class, sleep in class and is still able to attend Douglas High. I do know that Douglas High scores great on their testing. But I don't think that they have the teachers who are concern. Im not speaking about all the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

Well my son just graduated and he said he really loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have four children, one who graduated from Douglass last year, and three that are currently students there. Dr. Horton and the entire administrative and teaching staff are all very professional and thoroughly concerned with the well-being and success of each student. I am a true 'Astro' fan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2003

I have had two children to attend Douglass High under the leadership of principals Dr Hill and Dr Horton. I am thouroghly impressed with this school. Douglass is an overall great school. Douglass exemplifies great customer service. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

I am a student in the class of 2005. I began my high school years at Douglass, however due to attendence issues I was removed. As I look back on my freshmen year, I truly do miss it. Douglass is a good school, and I still take in consideration that I may transfer back[if possible] and graduate, as I planned from the beginning!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

257 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

254 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

255 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

252 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
48%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
21%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
19%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
7%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 37%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Thomas Glanton
Fax number
  • (404) 792-5736

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

225 Hamilton E Holmes Dr NW
Atlanta, GA 30318
Phone: (404) 802-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Mays High School
Atlanta, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT