Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Douglass High School 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Yes, I agree with most of the comments. Douglass truly staring falling ince Mr. Brown became the Principal. We went to the board and Dr. Augustine last year regarding him and they would not listen. We will now select a new Prinicipal and we all have to support in bringing the school back to order. Parents need to get involved and support the school Come and visit and see what you can do to help build the school back. It can happen but we need your support. Remember in numbers we have the power.

Douglass High School 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
Seriously, the principal hit lucky on a million dollars and decided that he was going to leave. Although Mr. J. Austin-Brown wasn't doing so great in the leadership department he still had a role as the principal of a school that isn't getting great reviews. Since I was in Douglass the school was unorganized and it seem as if only one counselor truly cared about the student (Mrs. Strickland). Honestly the school needs a more efficient principal such that of Dr. Horton who characteristics were far beyond true leadership.


Douglass High School 2

Posted March 01, 2010
- a student
I am a student at doug. . I am ashamed to tell people the school I go to. I really wIsh that I was going to another school any EXECPT Douglas. when we had our homecoming prep rally people didnt even want to sing the school song and the past students were looking very disappointed. I thought Douglas was going to be a good school because of the things i heard but as i was up there its nothing like it!

Douglass High School 0
no rating

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
Douglass need a new principals that care about kids and education.My son is a 11th grader so I know the school is failing the teacher cant do all by there self.Douglass football teams need new uniform the principal need to do some funraiser an involve the kids and parents.

Douglass High School 1

Posted March 28, 2009
- a teacher
This school has fallen down. The principal has no control over the school. Teacher moral is low and many are trying to leave the school. It is a shame for a school that was once a High School of Excellence.


Douglass High School 0
no rating

Posted March 01, 2009
- a student
Going to Douglass was an overwhelming experience for me. My peers were so cruel and the staff wasn't all that great either. I had no choice but to withdrawl. However the teachers were awesome. Ms. Turley-Moore, Ms. Watkins, Ms. Bradshaw, Mr. Muhaamad, and escpecially Mr. Thibault. I miss them all dearly. Going to Douglass taught me something, it taught me about life and the real world. If only others could listen to the message that the teachers are trying to get them to comprehend. It would make the school alot better if the kids acted like they had some home training. Now don't get me wrong some of the people were friendly, and were willing to help someone in distress. But think people, how many people do you meet like that in a life time?

Douglass High School 5

Posted November 17, 2008
- a parent
I graduated from Douglass in 2007 and I can honestly say that there was a dramatic change when Mr. Brown arrived my senior year. Everything changed and he just seemed as if he was afraid of taking charge. He acted as if he never had a role that required leadership skills. Now my little sister goes to the school and she justisfies everything that I said about Mr. Brown. He seems as if he is scared of the children! But overall, Douglass is a great school (i just wish Douglass would get another principal) But Douglass made me the woman I am today and I am proud to say that I am a Douglass High Astro Alumni.

Douglass High School 1

Posted October 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Douglass High School 2

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Douglass High School 2

Posted August 05, 2008
- a parent
My daughter went to FDHS and graduated 2007. My son is a senior who will graduate 2009. In the beginning, under the direction of Dr. Horton, I was inspired and excited about my children attending. Dr. Horton was a man who got things done and his staff followed suit. Unfortunately, when Mr. Brown came to FDHS, things changed dramatically. Although Mr. Brown's ideals and beliefs are geniune, and he talks a good game, he just doesn't have what it takes to get the job done! This is also apparent with his staff who seem to have no respect for him, fellow colleagues, parents, or students. I am deeply disappointed that my son has not received the quality attention and care that my daughter did when we began at FDHS. As with my daughter, my son will continue on to college and I'm grateful for the help he did receive. Thanks.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Douglass High School
225 Hamilton E Holmes Dr NW, Atlanta, GA  30318
(404) 802-3100
Last modified Douglass High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Douglass High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews.