Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Briar Vista Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 19 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2010

I am pleased with everything except the principal. She is not the best at her job.Some of the teachers are good. The more involved you are in the activities in the school, the more helpful the staff tends to be towards your kid. So plan to join the pta, or your kid may be in trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I have two children at Briar Vista and am very pleased with it. My daughter and son have both been there since pre-K and are thriving in the self-paced Montessori learning environment. My children's teachers have been excellent and the administration is supportive. We love the multicultural student body created by the proximity of Emory and CDC. There is a high number of English Language Learners here, but they are just as likely to be children of Emory researchers as they are to be from a lower socioeconomic status. Parents are involved in the many activities, and even if it wasn't our neighborhood school we would be entering the lottery to send our children to Briar Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I believe this school is a hidden gem that is frequently overlooked because it SEEMS to have horrible test scores. Here are a few facts... BVS has a very diverse population which, to me, is a selling point. One fifth of the schools population receive free or discounted lunch. If you remove that fifth from the test scores...suddenly Briar Vista scores well above average. Also, BVS is the only full, public Montessori school in the Atlanta metro area. Unfortunately, the parental involvement is low - most of these parents work . The folks who DO volunteer, do so wholeheartedly and are hopeful the image of the school will eventually turn around. But the fact remains that the majority of folks in my neighborhood send their kids to private school. I believe that will change one day soon as more and more people learn about the program at BVS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

This is our second year at Briar Vista. The Montessori curriculum is not for everyone, but is very effective for our child. We have had two great teachers. The principle and supporting staff have also been good to work with. We are involved parents and appreciate the commitment these people have to us and our child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

My two boys have gone to Briar Vista since Pre-K. They are now in the 5th grade, so they have been going there for 7 years. I have found Briar Vista to be a great school, with a great staff and there is a lot of parent involvement. I am not a member of PTA, but I always notice that parent's are there for so many other activities. There are always volunteers to help with anything that is asked for. The only concern I have is the drop off in the morning. With the buses and the parents going whichever way they want to there is no organization to it. Last year they had the parents drop off the kids in the side driveway and everyone was going the same way. This year that is not happening and that concerns me. There are too many people driving fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

The teachers are great, but the school is not run effiently. Communication is abysmal and there is the worst PTA I have ever encountered. There is little or no leadership. The carpool is not safe, you must go into the school and walk your child out to ensure safety. The MOntessori Program from PRE-K - 3rd is tremendous and does outweigh the lack of management. Discovery is FULL and several who qualified have to do Discovery in their classroom without the Discovery teacher. Parent involvement is the worst I have ever seen. THe school will have a very difficult 05-06 year due to attirement and attrition. IT is hard to hire Montessori professionals who also have state qualifications! This school is a constant disappointment - but the classes are good and the teachers are great. The school is run by an inexperienced 2nd yr, Principal and a 1st year AVP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

Excellent! I have been a parent at Briar Vista for 5 yrs and am always impressed at the schools focus on the entire child. The public Montessori Education has blossomed over the last 4 years. I have 2 children in the program and both are excelling in state and national test, but more importantly they enjoy and our challenged at Briar Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

Briar Vista is an excellent school with a lot of parent participation. The Montessori curriculum and the diversity of our population makes the school very unique. Briar Vista has one of the best principals in the county. She is always available to listen to your concern because she cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

Our child is 10 now and attends school in Florida but she attended here for kindergarten and 1st grade Montessori. We can't say enough positive things about this school. The environment is one of kindness and concern with a real sense of family. There were so many positive experiences that carried over into her success now. She had the top points for Accelerated Reader for her grade last year and constantly gets great grades and recognition. She talks about 'when I go to college' at 10 years old. Briar Vista strives to provide a strong foundation for her students and the sky is the limit!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

50 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

51 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

50 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 12%
White 25% 44%
Black 21% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1131 Briar Vista Ter NE
Atlanta, GA 30324
Phone: (678) 874-5902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT