Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Briar Vista Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 431 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 19 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

Through my experience as a parent , I do like the school. My son also loves it and though he is non-native speaker, he develops himself significantly in a short time. The teachers are great, nice, committed, and helpful. Whenever I sent an email, I got the reply immediately. I would like also to praise the principal and her assistant for their great effort and support for students. When I registered my kid and see that greatschool.org rating it as 3 out of 10, I felt disappointed, but by experience I see the opposite and this school does deserve a higher score. All the best for this school, God bless its management, teachers, ESOL unit, and everybody
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2014

As a whole we love BVE. It is a great diverse neighborhood school. My son has been at BVE for two years. He had a wonderful teacher this year. Our new principal has made many positive changes at BVE. I know that change does not occur over night. Physical change occurs much faster than teacher changes. There are a lot of wonderful teachers at BVE howwever, there are still negative teachers and staff at BVE that are part of the old regime. I agree with the reveiw about the PE teacher. My son dreads going to PE. He says they mostly run laps and do push ups. I know there is a curriculum to follow however, one would think PE could be more fun and creative. My son loved olympic week because the dancing was fun and creative. We have a counselor at BVE that never smiles even at school events. She does not appear warm and friendly to parents or children. How can a counselor not be warm, friendly and welcoming? Children should feel comfortable going to a kind and friendly counselor if they ever had a problem. We look forward to many more positive changes occurring at BVE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

My son has been going to BVE for 4 years and really likes the PE teacher. I went to the Olympic ceremonies and thought they were nice, if not a little hokey. But they were not for me. They were for the kids, and the kids thought they were awesome! They even had a real Olympian talk to the kids. Yes, it took a while to get the kindergartners in position, but if you can get 50 five year olds to line up in formation quickly, well, good luck. It would be nice if there was air conditioning in the gym, but the kids didn't seem to mind the heat as much as I did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

Overall, this school has potential. New leadership has made a difference in welcoming people to the school. There are still numerous totally unfriendly teachers in the school who do not greet parents , don't smile, don't relate to the students and are rude. These are not isolated observations. The staff could use some training of how to communicate with parents and stop the negativity with children. Too many derogatory comments and hurtful things said to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

I have been a parent at Briar Vista for years and this school has had huge problems with leadership in the past. Now we have a new principal who is nice and has many physical changes and maintenance at our school. She has also made teachers happier since we had a massive turnover a year ago. But she has tons more work to do in weeding out BAD teachers. Some of them are the PE teacher who never ever greets parents or relates to children. I have watched her standing in the bus lane every morning with a sour face for an entire school year. The Olympics opening ceremony are poorly organized and she barely taken any leadership role or direct kids or welcomes parents or smiles. What is wrong with her? Where are the redeeming qualities? There are several other teachers, especially the after school teacher who never greets parents, barks orders at kids and has the most negative attitude. With the friendlier way of running the school by this new principal, there are several more unskilled unfriendly uninterested unschooled up invested teachers who drag that school and everyone in it down. Some other teachers are friendly until they are mean as can be with children behind closed doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

Nothing but packets of worksheets by some teachers who teach very little. Since when do worksheets teach? Some teachers are not well trained and do all the so called teaching through worksheets. Tons of them. Please show those teachers the door. Test scores reflect poor teaching by some and years of lack luster investment in our children. Some teachers are so I invested and could care less about their quality of teaching and interpersonal skills with children and parents. What are their redeeming qualities? We keep hearing that the more affluent children score better and the poor kids don't. What is the school doing to teach all kids? Montessori works much better and should be expanded. Get rid of dead beat teachers. The new principal has done cosmetic things and helped morale, but academics where it is ultimately. Get rid of mean teachers. Those who appear nice, but are mean and vindictive behind closed doors. Listen to our children. Get rid of impolite and unfriendly staff. Breathe more life into this school. Do a much better job teaching all children. Get rid of teachers who teach using nothing but worksheets and having kids answer the questions at the end of chapters for months
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2014

Briar Vista Elementary offers Montessori and traditional education tracks in a diverse multicultural setting. The new principal, Cammie Neill, has breathed fresh life into the efforts of teachers and support staff. The school will be receiving a face-lift to bring it into ADA compliance this year and the PTO is well on its way to funding a new playground. The atmosphere at the school is warm and friendly - teachers and staff know kids and parents by name and greet them as they walk through the school. School events such as the Food Truck Fridays, International Night and the Fun Run get all the families involved. Our son has had a wonderful year in kindergarten, is devoted to his teacher, and feels completely at home in the school. The Montessori program has suited him well and he enjoys after school activities including extra-curriculars. Positive changes, large and small, pervaded the school this year after the arrival of the new principal. The parents and teachers all seem to feel that she hears their concerns and works to address them. This, in turn, has encouraged renewed investment of time and effort from the school community. Briar Vista is the next Fernbank!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2014

Briar Vista is a hidden gem! The 2013-2014 school year will be marked as the year this little neighborhood school was reinvented. The new principal has turned Briar Vista into a school that will soon be THE sought after school to send your kids. Very much looking forward to when the secret gets out and Briar Vista gets the accolades it deserves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2014

I am a teacher at Briar Vista Elementary. I am extremely happy to be part of this great school. Ms. Neill is an excellent principal. She is a team player and promotes a very positive atmosphere for both staff and students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 9, 2014

I am a Montessori teacher at BVE and am so happy at school this year. Ms. Neill has been wonderful to work with .she listens to the teachers and does an excellent job of getting us what we need to teach our children. There are more and more parents getting involved. It's a happy place!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 6, 2014

My school is Briar Vista Elementary. BVE epitomizes a truly "neighborhood" school. It is small, friendly, diverse and full of life and energy. Teachers we've known are outstanding and care deeply for the students - not just how they perform academically (although they care about this!) but on a sincere, personal level. Our child has been taught well and loved well. Contributing to this environment is the new leadership at the school. Ms. Neil, the principal, has made an unbelievable difference not only in faculty morale but with school spirit and parent involvement. We are very pleased with BVE now and see it trending even better in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

My son is enrolled in the Montessori program and loves it! The new principal has brought the school to a new level. I've seen the reviews from the past years and please know that under this new leadership, we expect the school to take off!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

We went to Briar Vista after 3 years of private Montessori schools and we were not disappointed! The staff and parents are dedicated to the Montessori way while helping students with important tests that wouldn't be presented in a private Montessori program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

Briar Vista is a gem of a school. This is our second year there and it only keeps getting better. We have a new principal this year who has dramatically improved the whole morale of the school. i love the fact that we have a choice of Montessori and traditional school tracks. Our daughter has thrived there and we are thankful for the diversity that exists in Briar Vista. We feel like she is getting a taste of the real world! Her teachers have been amazing and she has thrived there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

Briar Vista is an incredible hidden gem in our community. Our new principal is dedicated to making Briar Vista a viable school and to meeting the needs of our children. Not only to do they provide traditional classrooms, but their Montessori program is outstanding. My son is in the 1st grade Montessori classroom and whenever I enter the classroom every student is engaged. Not only are they working, but they are happily working and helping each other. The parent and teacher involvement is also on the rise. Our PTO has done a fantastic job raising money for our campus and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

BriarVista Elementary has been such a pleasant surprise for our family's first experience in public school. We were so apprehensive to place our child in a public school, not knowing how they would be treated when dropped off and what type of education they are getting. Well, I can not say enough praise to the amazing men and women who care so deeply for our children day in and day out! Our new principal is a true gift to our kids, teachers, parents and community with a true desire to help us grow into the school the kids deserve!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

Recently, this school has implemented new measures to improve overall performance of students. The new principal is instrumental in bringing all these changes. Teachers are working hard in the classrooms which is directly reflected in the students. The also have special classes on Tuesdays to boost students knowledge. Parents are also seen to be very keen in participating extra activities. I wish good luck for all the efforts made by the school in making it a top school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

My child has really enjoyed her experience at Briar Vista. Caring teachers, wonderful Montessori curriculum, and so much diversity! It is easy to get involved and make a difference, every family is welcome at BVE and it's not clique-ish like other nearby schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

This is a great school. The teachers are involved, well trained, and are always very quick to answer any questions or concerns I've had as a parent. The new principal already knew all the kids after being at the school for only a couple months. The extra classes (gym, health, art, music, science) are interesting for my son. The Montessori Program is really special here. My son is never bored and is allowed to work along at his own pace. Plus working with older kids in his class has given him some great role models close to his own age. The events outside of school are great (Fall festival, Spring Fling, International Night, etc) and bring the community together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Briar Vista is an excellent elementary school with a caring and engaged staff. It offers teaching in the Montessori method, a unique opportunity amongst public schools. The size of the school is not overwhelming. There is good parent involvement and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

50 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

51 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

50 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 12%
White 25% 44%
Black 21% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1131 Briar Vista Ter NE
Atlanta, GA 30324
Phone: (678) 874-5902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT