Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 97 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Briar Vista Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 24, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Patel is a very responsible and patient teacher. She cares for every student potential development

Briar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2016
- a parent
This is a great school! My grandson didn't like the private school so we went to Briar Vista His teacher Miss Patel is so wonderfuland patient. He learned a lot there. Ms. Patel found my grandson's unique potential in even called The parent to make a decision to choose a school for my grandson's kindergarten because we have to move from Decatur.

Briar Vista Elementary School 2

Posted June 01, 2016
- a community member
Principal puts up a positive face in the hallway, but when required to deal with a real problem, she's either ineffective or an absolute tyrant. I've seen her dress down staff member and parents in front of others, and she's quite often absent. Her "my way or the highway" attitude is very similar to bullying behavior we try to protect our children from. I hear many teachers are leaving. And, her command of the English Language is, well, quite limited.

Briar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
What a wonderful school! It has a great community feeling, and the principle knows each and every student personally. The teachers and other staff all seem terrific, but I have to mention Ms. Lakus in particular. We are a School Choice family in the Montessori program and we feel so grateful that we have that option. Although it's a bit of a drive to get our son into that classroom every day, it is so worth it! I have noticed that the Montessori parents seem particularly engaged with school events, which says a lot about the success of that program in a public setting. Another thing I really appreciate about the school is its diversity and inclusiveness. I think that an understanding of the value of all people, regardless of how they look or what backgrounds they have, is a lesson that is best taught through experience at a young age. Briar Vista has this element, which is a great "real world" complement to the academic training provided by their excellent teachers.

Briar Vista Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 17, 2015
- a community member
I'm so grateful for Ms. Lakus. She has been a phenomenal teacher. I'm not sure how she manages to effectively balance 1st-3rd graders, but she does. She has helped my shy daughter come out of her shell, and encouraged my child's passion for learning. Ms. Lakus is so poised, organized, and patient. She communicates very well with the children, but also with parents. She has been a fantastic highlight to our time at Briar Vista.

Briar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2015
- a community member
Fantastic school. The administration are so helpful and actively engage parents and children in dialogue. I've personally witness the principal identify each child she sees by name. The faculty have a great demeanor and there are some real gems teaching in the Montessori program. The faculty within Montessori are energetic and teach with such passion. My daughter started in kindergarten (now first grader) and my son began in pre-K. They enjoy waking up everyday to attend school! They love their teachers and friends. My husband and I love the diversity among families. We love Briar Vista!!

Briar Vista Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 17, 2015
- a community member
My children are in the Montessori program and for the 1st-3rd grade classes and the 4th and 5th grade classes the students are in a classroom together. I think this builds an environment for the children to care about their fellow students. The older children can mentor the younger children and teach them subjects they have mastered while feeling a sense of accomplishment and learning to help one another.

Briar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2015
- a community member
My children are in the Montessori program at Briar Vista and the growth I have seen in them over the past two years is amazing. The teacher's have recognized their strength's and built on those but they have also recognized their weaknesses and have given suggestions on how they can improve. This school has such a caring environment and a focus on learning so much that my children are excited each day to go to school and to come home and share what they have learned.

Briar Vista Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted December 17, 2015
- a community member
I would like to say thank you to all the wonderful teachers, staff, and principal at Briar Vista. When you walk through the doors of this school you instantly feel the love, are visually able to see the diversity, and you gain a sense of the dedication each and every staff member has to the education of these children. My family has been at Briar Vista for two years and my children have grown exponentially. There are not words enough to express my gratitude to all the wonderful staff so I simply have to say thank you!

Briar Vista Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
The school celebrates diversity. As a strongly diverse school, the students learn to respect all cultures.

Nearby schools

Briar Vista Elementary School
1131 Briar Vista Ter NE, Atlanta, GA  30324
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. (678) 874-5902
Last modified Briar Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5
Top