Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


46 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oak Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
Oak Grove is an amazing school with A+ teachers, supportive and helpful staff members, and an outstanding new principal! The new principal has completely changed the atmosphere of the school and turned it back into a community school where the focus is placed on the students! My children loved everything about the school and so did I.

Oak Grove Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
I cannot say enough amazing things about Oak Grove Elementary School. My daughter has gone there for four years since Kindergarten. She is thriving academically, socially, and emotionally. The school has a comprehensive, well-rounded curriculum. Oak Grove offers fun and challenging options for students during its aftercare program as well at an additional cost (i.e., drama, Spanish, chess, dance, etc). The teachers are very involved and caring, as are other parents. The test scores are WAY above the state and national averages each year per grade. The student body is diverse and the community surrounding the school is socially liberal. It's just a great place for a child to receive an education!


Oak Grove Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My school is great, the kids love it. The teachers and staff are the best.

Oak Grove Elementary School 3

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
Previous principal was an excellent speaker and very visible. However she did not follow through on promises. She left suddenly in the middle of the year to go to another school. Teachers have send notes home written in magic marker with mis spellings. Emphasis is on self esteem for students and everyone feeling good. Fortunately student body draws from neighborhood of professionals, hence the good test scores.

Oak Grove Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
Our experience has been excellent ! Teachers and parent involvement is great. Immediate past principal was excellent - ongoing search for principal is in progress.


Oak Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2011
- a parent
I am so happy to go to a school where the principal is so involved, not just on the big issues, but even to visit each classroom to see the students at work! The fourth grade teachers have been great, especially in science and math. I am proud that we are part of this school!

Oak Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2011
- a parent
The teachers, staff, new principal and parents pour their talents and energies into making this school one special place for the kids who attend- and there are extra cirricular events like the math superstar program to the science olympiad and there are many events and activities ranging from the multi-cultural festival to the fun run, art night and much more. My now 4th grader loves going to school and I have to say I love volunteering in the outdoor classroom/garden!

Oak Grove Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
The program is excellent, the teacher go the extra mile for the kids, most of the parents are involved, the new principal is great. It lacks of founding like all the public schools but still a great school located in a good neighborhood .


Oak Grove Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
There is an amazing 3rd grade teacher who will blow your socks away. He comes up with incredible thoughtful projects that have taught me a thing or two. I couldn't be more thrilled. The new principal seems to be stepping up the game with the whole school to be on par with this teacher. I am thrilled.

Oak Grove Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2010
- a parent
Mrs. Neely the new principal in 2010 is awesome. She is extremely positive, upbeat, and professional. Her dynamic personality and experience is really affecting the school in many ways and her plans for the future will only make it better. Our kindergarten experience was lack-luster but we are extremely happy with first grade and the quality of education at Oak Grove. So many hands-on activities and enrichment opportunities. It's a great community of dedicated teachers and involved parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Grove Elementary School
1857 Oak Grove Rd NE, Atlanta, GA  30345
(678) 874-7402
Last modified Oak Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oak Grove Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top