Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeside High School

Public | 9-12 | 1862 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2014

The school has issues as many schools do, though this school is definitely one of the worst I've seen. I hear many of the students talking about how bad school has become throughout the years, and how many teachers really aren't qualified. I'll also hear them question as to what the point is in doing all this work. There are the few teachers who make learning enjoyable, and have wonderful teaching methods, but many of them either can't or will not teach, are too strict and take the joy out of the class, or perhaps give students the incentive of fear, threatening them if they don't do their work instead of encouraging them when they do. In a way, the school indirectly encourages cheating and skipping. The teachers and staff do indeed do a good job of scaring the students, though not necessarily into doing work. The students instead fear the truth, and would rather not attend class than be scolded for a tardy (if not assigned detention or ISS). Students grow to hate school, and dread being there, focusing more on spite than on education. I created this review through my own opinions as well as the many opinions gathered from the students enrolled at the school. Thank you for reading.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2013

I selected this school & moved to be on this side of town for my kids to attend Lakeside. This is their second year & mostly likely will be their last. Not much of a difference than any other school in DeKalb. Yes the school is diverse, but racism is in full force!! So many cliques within the school among the children & parents...how sad. Who would have thought in 2013, a school would feel segregated. As far as the faculty, some of them are quite rude & unprofessional! Two in the counselors dept will speak to a parent and student in a condescending manner, which is pitiful. Professionals really??!! You really have to stay prayed up to keep your cool. Hopefully new principal will send out more surveys regarding customer service. This seems to be an issue at Lakeside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2013

Don't let the new exterior fool you, Lakeside is a dump. The administration is a joke, racism runs rampant - black and white, the teachers only teach to the top students, the average students are left twisting in the wind, and the counselors are the worst I've ever seen. Make sure you record your phone calls and keep all your emails when communicating with them. They will promise you many things but deny, deny, deny. I had to go to the county level more than once to get them to fulfill basic needs/promises. We finally gave up on Dekalb and put our children in private schools then finally decided to move to avoid the property nightmare. The sad part is Lakeside really is the best DeKalb has to offer so if ou live in DeKalb and can't afford private school dealing with Lakeside is your best option. But be prepared to fight tooth and nail for your child for even the most basic and obvious things. And develop a thick skin against the racism because its pretty blatant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

Lakeside is a pretty decent school compared to the other schools in the Atlanta area. However there is still some things that need to be done. The teachers who are bilingual have to understand that English speaking students do not always understand what they are saying and its frustrating to some of the students. Some of the administrators are rude to the students and try and write you up after you say something to them AFTER they was rude to you and they write things that the students did not say or do and the student gets disciplined for something the teacher wrote..I saw and heard about some other people who experienced the same thing. They I feel is trying to maintain a good standing with the county so they want the BAD kids..to be sent to other schools or out the school. Some teachers talk bad to students and when parents comes to visit they act like they are angels. Mr. Reed is a ok prinicipal at least he will talk to you and seem concerned, but the other ones are so slick, they act one way and then another way. They are rude to you at times and yell and then do not want you to defend your honor. I like the classes I am taking and hope to soon be out of here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

Lakeside is a great school. To begin with, the school is very diverse, and full of people who come from many different backgrounds. When I think of Lakeside, I think of a mini-college. There are just more rules and you go home everyday of course. Over all, Lakeside is the best school I have ever gone to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2013

I am so happy to have my daughter attend Lakeside. The opportunities for AP instruction and extra-curricular involvement are excellent. The new construction has turned the school into a first class environment. The principal is extemely dedicated and deals aggressively with any negative situations that arise (as they always do in high school).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

Good school. Teachers are for the most part dedicated and excellent. Principal Reed is great, Administration is well organized. Safe environment. My son came from a small private school and is doing really well here and he loves it. Recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

This is my second year at Lakside High School, and I love it. My first year was great, and my second year is starting off great. For the most part the teachers are amazing. They care a lot about the students and are there to help you. The school has really stepped up from what it was before. There are really great clubs before and after school. There is always something going on in the school. The principle is doing a great job.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2012

Bar-none, the best neighborhood HS in Atlanta. Serving a population of almost 2000, the school still consistently graduates classes of over 400 students, sending the majority (my class 4 years ago was over 90%) to four year colleges. The school prepares students for competitive colleges, and is even better with the new addition of the new arts and sciences facilities. Lakeside is a steal for the low cost of your taxes!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2011

School has improved vastly since past principal. Still struggles with over crowding, and very poor math teachers. New Principal is doing the best he can given the confines of the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

The principal of Lakeside is a joke. I feel bad that my child has to spend their last few yrs of HS here...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

Great principal who is a real leader and goes to all the activities. Had two step sons go here and they both got a very good education and liked the school. My own son went to a top Gwinnett school and I feel Lakeside campares well while being more diversified. I have been involved on a booster club at both schools and find that Lakeside parents were even more involved than at my son's school. The only shame is how run down the school was but it is finally getting an upgrade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Lakeside High is - bar none - the best public high school inside the Perimeter. A traditional high school, not a charter, magnet, etc., it has many veteran teachers who are very loyal to the school. It has overcome a rough two-year period 2007-09 with a weak principal who was replaced with an excellent one. Diverse student body (+40% minority). Many students go on to top schools: Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Vanderbilt, Duke, Emory, Georgia, etc. Large part of the student body takes AP courses resulting in Lakeside being consistently ranked among Newsweek's top 10 public high schools in Georgia. As in all schools, more could be done to help below average students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Great teachers and academics....lots of activities anda acommunity thatwants the school to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I have a Junior (boy) at Lakeside and a Freshman (girl) at Lakeside. They are both thriving, academically and in extra-curricular sports and clubs. In 14 years in Atlanta, we have tried both private and public schools. Lakeside teachers, vast majority, serious professionals, are better paid than their private school counterparts and are far more rigorously evaluated. If you are paying a lot of money for private school, you will have to justify it to yourself, but Lakeside has a wealth of opportunities for students of many different learning styles and levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Mr. Reed new LHS principal is the best one we have has so far. He cares for EVERY student that enters this schools and makes sure they get out with dignity,honors, and distinction. LHS has gotten better and I expect to see his working period make LHS the best Music/arts public school of Georgia.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2010

My daughter is attending LSH as a freshman & am looking into a different HS for next year I am highly disappointed I moved in this area for the schools districts & am not at all happy with LSH. There is no assistance with students who struggle the teachers tend to turm them away vs. answering questions & offering advice . Perhaps the gifted & advanced classes are indeed treated better. I also do not approve of the new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

The best administrator in the building works in the attendance office. He really listens to the students and has their respect. The new principal does not treat the kids with the respect they are due. I suppose that comes from being an elementary principal. You input doesn't matter to him. The PTSA is a clique and a tough nut to crack. They only want followers not leaders as someone from outside might come in with ideas for change. Which, in my opinion is long overdue on the board. The school is a dump, slated for a renovation this summer, we'll see. I will believe it when the equipment arrives on site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

I have a 10th grader at Lakeside High and having graduated fron Lakeside in 1977, I was amazed at the lack of funding the school has suffered from over the past 30 years. Lakeside has always led the county in most all academic categories and athletic ones from time to time. My son loves the school, is doing well, and has participated in several sports, band and clubs. the new principal is a no nonsense caring man that is going to lift Lakeside's spirits in the classroom and throughout the community. What happened to Lakeside? Lack of funding from the county, lack of caring by the community and parents of kids who do not live in the Lakeside district and don't care to support their kids or the school. My kid was accepted at St. Pius and did not want to go. He chose Lakeside. Lakeside is coming back!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

Lakeside has the good, the bad and the ugly. If your child is in gifted classes, Lakeside is good, if your child is in general classes, it is really bad. If you must deal with the administration its ugly. In my experience, it is the administration that is rude and disrespectful ( not only to the kids but to the parents). I always come away from my conversations with administration feeling discouraged and depressed. I see reverse discrimination ~ not from the kids ~ but from the staff. Surely there is a way to teach kids without making them feel bad about themselves. If I could afford to move or private schools, I would definitely leave LHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

425 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

427 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

426 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

422 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

537 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
75%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

567 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

470 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
72%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
73%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
74%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 44%
Black 34% 37%
Hispanic 19% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jason Clyne
Fax number
  • (678) 874-6710

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3801 Briarcliff Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30345
Phone: (678) 874-6702

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sophia Academy
Atlanta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT