Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Atlanta, GA
Students enrolled: 2,183
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakeside High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Honesty, no because the students cheat and many of the teachers know, integrity and fairness no,because the administrators/staff/teachers display none by allowing bad behavior with some students then disciplining others depending on the schools relationship with the parents

Lakeside High School 2

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
My child has been in the Dekalb Co. school system since 3rd grade attending the feeder schools that lead into Lakeside. I had not been made aware of the racism until this year, the senior year. A select few of the students are engaging in racist propaganda and spewing racial slurs as well verbally offending other students. When students bring it to the attention of the administration, there has been no discipline. The students that are partaking in this behavior know they will not be disciplined therefore they continue, making other feel uncomfortable and distracted. In this day and time where in a controlled environment being governed by supposed trained professional adults it is a pity that this ignorance is still being condoned.

Lakeside High School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a student
The school has issues as many schools do, though this school is definitely one of the worst I've seen. I hear many of the students talking about how bad school has become throughout the years, and how many teachers really aren't qualified. I'll also hear them question as to what the point is in doing all this work. There are the few teachers who make learning enjoyable, and have wonderful teaching methods, but many of them either can't or will not teach, are too strict and take the joy out of the class, or perhaps give students the incentive of fear, threatening them if they don't do their work instead of encouraging them when they do. In a way, the school indirectly encourages cheating and skipping. The teachers and staff do indeed do a good job of scaring the students, though not necessarily into doing work. The students instead fear the truth, and would rather not attend class than be scolded for a tardy (if not assigned detention or ISS). Students grow to hate school, and dread being there, focusing more on spite than on education. I created this review through my own opinions as well as the many opinions gathered from the students enrolled at the school. Thank you for reading.

Lakeside High School 3

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
I selected this school & moved to be on this side of town for my kids to attend Lakeside. This is their second year & mostly likely will be their last. Not much of a difference than any other school in DeKalb. Yes the school is diverse, but racism is in full force!! So many cliques within the school among the children & parents...how sad. Who would have thought in 2013, a school would feel segregated. As far as the faculty, some of them are quite rude & unprofessional! Two in the counselors dept will speak to a parent and student in a condescending manner, which is pitiful. Professionals really??!! You really have to stay prayed up to keep your cool. Hopefully new principal will send out more surveys regarding customer service. This seems to be an issue at Lakeside.

Lakeside High School 1

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
Don't let the new exterior fool you, Lakeside is a dump. The administration is a joke, racism runs rampant - black and white, the teachers only teach to the top students, the average students are left twisting in the wind, and the counselors are the worst I've ever seen. Make sure you record your phone calls and keep all your emails when communicating with them. They will promise you many things but deny, deny, deny. I had to go to the county level more than once to get them to fulfill basic needs/promises. We finally gave up on Dekalb and put our children in private schools then finally decided to move to avoid the property nightmare. The sad part is Lakeside really is the best DeKalb has to offer so if ou live in DeKalb and can't afford private school dealing with Lakeside is your best option. But be prepared to fight tooth and nail for your child for even the most basic and obvious things. And develop a thick skin against the racism because its pretty blatant.

Lakeside High School 3

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
Lakeside is a pretty decent school compared to the other schools in the Atlanta area. However there is still some things that need to be done. The teachers who are bilingual have to understand that English speaking students do not always understand what they are saying and its frustrating to some of the students. Some of the administrators are rude to the students and try and write you up after you say something to them AFTER they was rude to you and they write things that the students did not say or do and the student gets disciplined for something the teacher wrote..I saw and heard about some other people who experienced the same thing. They I feel is trying to maintain a good standing with the county so they want the BAD kids..to be sent to other schools or out the school. Some teachers talk bad to students and when parents comes to visit they act like they are angels. Mr. Reed is a ok prinicipal at least he will talk to you and seem concerned, but the other ones are so slick, they act one way and then another way. They are rude to you at times and yell and then do not want you to defend your honor. I like the classes I am taking and hope to soon be out of here.

Lakeside High School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a student
Lakeside is a great school. To begin with, the school is very diverse, and full of people who come from many different backgrounds. When I think of Lakeside, I think of a mini-college. There are just more rules and you go home everyday of course. Over all, Lakeside is the best school I have ever gone to.

Lakeside High School 5

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
I am so happy to have my daughter attend Lakeside. The opportunities for AP instruction and extra-curricular involvement are excellent. The new construction has turned the school into a first class environment. The principal is extemely dedicated and deals aggressively with any negative situations that arise (as they always do in high school).

Lakeside High School 5

Posted December 20, 2012
- a parent
Good school. Teachers are for the most part dedicated and excellent. Principal Reed is great, Administration is well organized. Safe environment. My son came from a small private school and is doing really well here and he loves it. Recommend.

Lakeside High School 4

Posted August 16, 2012
- a student
This is my second year at Lakside High School, and I love it. My first year was great, and my second year is starting off great. For the most part the teachers are amazing. They care a lot about the students and are there to help you. The school has really stepped up from what it was before. There are really great clubs before and after school. There is always something going on in the school. The principle is doing a great job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeside High School
3801 Briarcliff Rd NE, Atlanta, GA  30345
(678) 874-6702
Last modified Lakeside High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeside High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top