Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ashford Park Elementary School 3

Posted March 12, 2016
- a parent
Ashford Park is mediocre overall. I greatly appreciate the German immersion program but it can be disorganized and lack resources due to its "newness" . The teachers are largely helpful but occasionally you will get attitude or no responses (apparently teachers have 48 hours to respond to an inquiry due to school / union rules). School facilities are below average and DeKalb County simply does not care about the residents of the City of Brookhaven - it has other priorities apparently.

Ashford Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
Excellent staff. Wonderful experience for children who will look back on their time at the school with great memories.

Ashford Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The amazing faculty & parents who care for our kids & their education are top notch!

Ashford Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I'm grateful for all the hard work & dedication my daughters German Immersion & English teachers have put into our kids education! Herr Prochansky, Mrs. Thomas, & Mrs. Robinson this year alone have made our children blossom. They are the front runners for an Immersion program that started when our kids began kindergarten & every year for our class it's a new learning experience for child & teacher. It's hard work & these teachers deserve more than a pat on the back for what they do. Thanks so much! Theresa & Ava

Ashford Park Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
AP promotes creative ways for students to think and act in a way that promotes integrity in their daily actions. Small acts of kindness are acknowledged and positive reinforcement.

Ashford Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
We are new to AP and it has exceeded our highest expectations. The school administration and teachers are proactive and engaged with parents to allow each child to get the best learning experience. Academically, the AP curriculum was ahead of the private school we left, and there are a lot of opportunities for a child to find whatever fits their learning needs and style- such as Odyssey of the Mind, STEM, and G&T. Even with the many great achievements by the school, the principal challenges herself and the school to see where they can do better for all children in the school. The parents are equally amazing- very involved in the school and supportive to each other.

Ashford Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
I am quite surprised by the Great Schools rating. I have two children in this school and could not be happier. They both participate in the German immersion program. The teachers and parents involved in this school are amazing. The school gets better and better each year. Please don't pay attention to these Great school ratings. Check out the ratings or come see the school for yourself.

Ashford Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
We have two children at this school and have been very pleased. There is a real sense of community and school pride. I can't imagine a school with more parental involvement. The teachers truly care about the children. An added bonus is the opportunity for our kids to learn a second language in a dual immersion classroom. I never imagined my two children would be speaking German to each other, but after just one year in they are already able to converse. There is a lot of research showing that learning a second language as a child has tremendous life long benefits. I wouldn't allow this GS rating to scare you away. This is a great little neighborhood school with an incredible staff and amazing student body!

Ashford Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 children at Ashford Park and I have been pleased with the level of rigor in the classroom and the expertise of the teachers. The teachers and administration are very warm and supportive. Great parent support. I love the small, community school feel.

Ashford Park Elementary School 1

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
The administration team is not helpful and at times just out rude. You walk into the school and it smells like sewage. The principal pushed the teachers to teach to a test and not the child. I would not recommend this school or district.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ashford Park Elementary School
2968 Cravenridge Dr NE, Atlanta, GA  30319
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. (678) 676-6702
Last modified Ashford Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top