Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Henderson Mill Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

With the help from Henderson Mill my daughter has excelled in learning to read, write and speak. She is in a special needs classroom and the teachers treat them with respect and take the time to adjust their teaching skills to help the children understand. They communicate on a regular bases to discuss whats working or NOT with my child, they included me in all around decision and help me understand why they came to a certain decision. They are professional at all times and they care for the well being of ALL children not just mine and in today's time that mean allot to ANY parent. The doctors did not think my daughter would speak and she is reading, writing and talking do to the help of the teachers. As a parent of a special needs child you have your moments when you melt down! But the teachers help build you back up and let you know your not in this fight alone and they help you along the way. Over and beyond is a under statement of the staff members and with all the things going on in the world this schools makes the world a better place and the safety of your child is never in question. I appreciate everything the schools does!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

HMES is a wonderful school. The teachers are fabulous and the new principal is very caring and involved (as was the previous principal). The parents are the icing on the cake. Parents are involved and make this school a community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

HMES is a wonderful school, based in the neighborhood, with a great community and active parent involvement. The school was the first K-5 school in GA to become state STEM certified (Science Technology Engineering and Math). It has very dedicated teachers, a diverse population, and committed parents who organize night events, fund field trips, etc The school has PE everyday (rare in metro Atlanta), art, music, a dedicated science teacher, and all the special education teachers needed. You will not be disappointed if you send your children there. It also offers an active after school program with free activities, as well as other ones for a small fee. In 5th grade, students can choose band and/or orchestra. The gifted program is also a strength of the school. I love the discovery teacher who tries to expand the students' abilities and horizons even more. The biggest strength I see, is that teachers work together, teachers and parents also work together, and all the children benefit. A very good sign too, is that staff and teachers usually ask for their own children to come to this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

HMES is a great school. When we first looked at schools, we were hesitant to explore public school education, but have been absolutely delighted with our choice to attend HMES. Positives for us are the great teaching staff, wonderful leadership from the principal, well-kept facilities, art and music instruction and PE, a high expectation for student performance, a great gifted program, and many opportunities for parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Henderson Mill is an excellent school because of the wonderful principal and teachers! It is the first traditional public elementary school in the ENTIRE STATE of Georgia to be "STEM certified" by the State Dept. of Education. "STEM" is science, technology, engineering and math -- the school has incorporated fun LEGO and engineering projects, gardening activities, etc. into the curriculum. These enrichment activities engage the kids, and they don't even realize they are learning from them! Henderson Mill has an excellent pull-out gifted program as well -- I understand that Oak Grove doesn't pull out for gifted, so that is a real advantage at Henderson Mill. Don't be put off by its Title I status -- gifted students get wonderful support too, and the Title I status has provided funding for a full-time Science teacher. The gifted students at Henderson Mill do just as well on testing as those at Oak Grove, Briarlake, or Evansdale - don't just look at overall test scores. Because of its proximity to Emory, this is a diverse student body, with many cultures - great preparation for the global society. My kids have friends from China, India, Ethiopia. HMES is a hidden gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

the school is close by at walking distance. the principal seems to be genuinely caring, so are the staff. it would be perfect if aftercare can serve more students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Teachers are nosy. Principal is rude. My child was bullied twice by students 4 years older than him. Once he was slapped on the bus in front of everybody, another time he got kicked in the face at the bus stop. No one ever did anything. What happened to all this ANTI-BULLYING that they make such a big deal about. Turns out it is all for show. Also they are constantly asking for money. They wanted 5 dollars to cover postage of a one page letter that was to be mailed for a project. STAMPS COST 50c
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

My son has special needs and Hendersonmill Elementary has a great staff of teachers who cares about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

Henderson Mill Elementary is a wonderful school. The curriculum is outstanding. Some (not all) of the teachers at HME are not as engaging with children as they should be, if you know what I mean (for a lack of better words). The administrative staff is very rude and makes you feel as through you and your child is of no importance. Again, this school is wonderful. If you want a great curriculum i.e. education for your child I guess you can't ask for a great attitude with it , at least not at HME. This is just my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

On the way to Henderson Happening 2010 my daughter told me she loves Henderson Mill Elementary. The PTA is large and involved which in my opinion is the reason why the school is great. Teachers are encouraging and well equipped to help your child succeed. The administration is good also. One thing I appreciate about the Prinicpal is that she knows your child! Academically my daughter is doing well and likes going to school. I think the school is doing their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This is our 5th year at HMES. We have 3 children & they are all students there this year. We love it. It is an exciting environment & our children are learning a lot. It is a great neighborhood school as well, lots of neighborhood kids in their classes. It is a diverse school as well and that has been invaluable for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Terrific administration, staff, and teachers! Also, wonderful, caring involved families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

Our daughter have been at the HMES for 5 years and she love it... We Love the school, Dr. Jackson is always there to answer the parents questions, The teacher are so nice, prepare and very professional. When we live to the middle we are going to miss them very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

my son is on first grade. he loves this school, the teacher (Mss Etwurtzel), and the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

We have been at HMES for three years. Both of our daughters attend school there, and we could not be happier. The diverse environment continues to teach our girls that although people do not all look the same and speak the same language, we are all unique, special and should enjoy the same opportunities to learn. The teachers at HMES really take an interest in each individual student and many parents are extremely involved. What a special place....it feels like family when we are all working together towards the best education possible for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

Henderson Mill has been a great fit for my daughter. We have been at HMES since 2004 when she was in kindergarten. All-in-all, the teachers are excellent and enthusiastic even though they meet challenges teaching in a very diverse community (i.e. language barriers). The PTA is fantastic and has many great activities for families. The administrators and office staff have always treated me with respect and courtesy. We love Henderson Mill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

Teachers try hard but there are some discipline problems; secretary's curt; not a lot of supervision with after care; school lunch choices too full of fat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

In this age of high-staked testing, I find it a pleasant surprise that my daughter, who is in kindergarten, has PE class EVERYDAY! I was told only 4% of Georgia schools have daily PE class and I am so glad that HMES is one of them. Everybody is concerned about childhood obesity and related illnesses, I applause HMES for a real step up to help children to fight this war. I am also impressed with parent involvement and student diversity at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

When we looked at school districts I thought I would want one of the 'big'named schools, but I'm very happy we selected the HMES district. Because it is under the radar, there isn't the huge overcrowding problems other schools are experiencing and at the same time the children are receiving a wonderful education. My older child has several learning challenges (dyslexia, audiotory processing, ADD) and the school and her teachers have gone above and beyond in helping her excel. Honestly I think too much emphasis is placed on the scores of the schools regarding their ranking. I am much more concerned with what my children are learning and retaining on a daily basis and HMES does that. Regarding the scores, the school has a hearing impaired program that is wonderful ESL program which has helped make my kids more emphathetic towards others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

Our child attended this school for 2 years, before transferring to private school. We were extremely disappointed in the lack of excitement on the part of the staff. Our child's teacher used antiquated teaching methods. The office staff was unfriendly and unable to answer questions appropriately. The administrators were not very approachable, and were actually rude, when we tried to discuss serious concerns with them. The school environment was not one that was uplifting for the students-it was rather depressing. I hope that Henderson Mill will implement some new teachers with fresh ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

90 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

90 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 12%
Black 30% 37%
White 21% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Rebecca Jackson
Fax number
  • (678) 874-3110

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Football
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2408 Henderson Mill Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30345
Phone: (678) 874-3102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Sophia Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT