Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Henderson Mill Elementary School 2

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is not parent friendly, too many attitudes and rudness around. Teachers lack of professionalism and communications skills. Very disappointed!

Henderson Mill Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
My son has been at HMES since kindergarten. He is in 2nd grade now. This school Is awesome. Friendly environment. My son could read perfectly in kindergarten. Thanks to his wonderful teachers. I LOVE this school and recommend it 100%


Henderson Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
With the help from Henderson Mill my daughter has excelled in learning to read, write and speak. She is in a special needs classroom and the teachers treat them with respect and take the time to adjust their teaching skills to help the children understand. They communicate on a regular bases to discuss whats working or NOT with my child, they included me in all around decision and help me understand why they came to a certain decision. They are professional at all times and they care for the well being of ALL children not just mine and in today's time that mean allot to ANY parent. The doctors did not think my daughter would speak and she is reading, writing and talking do to the help of the teachers. As a parent of a special needs child you have your moments when you melt down! But the teachers help build you back up and let you know your not in this fight alone and they help you along the way. Over and beyond is a under statement of the staff members and with all the things going on in the world this schools makes the world a better place and the safety of your child is never in question. I appreciate everything the schools does!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Henderson Mill Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
HMES is a wonderful school. The teachers are fabulous and the new principal is very caring and involved (as was the previous principal). The parents are the icing on the cake. Parents are involved and make this school a community!

Henderson Mill Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
HMES is a wonderful school, based in the neighborhood, with a great community and active parent involvement. The school was the first K-5 school in GA to become state STEM certified (Science Technology Engineering and Math). It has very dedicated teachers, a diverse population, and committed parents who organize night events, fund field trips, etc The school has PE everyday (rare in metro Atlanta), art, music, a dedicated science teacher, and all the special education teachers needed. You will not be disappointed if you send your children there. It also offers an active after school program with free activities, as well as other ones for a small fee. In 5th grade, students can choose band and/or orchestra. The gifted program is also a strength of the school. I love the discovery teacher who tries to expand the students' abilities and horizons even more. The biggest strength I see, is that teachers work together, teachers and parents also work together, and all the children benefit. A very good sign too, is that staff and teachers usually ask for their own children to come to this school!!


Henderson Mill Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
HMES is a great school. When we first looked at schools, we were hesitant to explore public school education, but have been absolutely delighted with our choice to attend HMES. Positives for us are the great teaching staff, wonderful leadership from the principal, well-kept facilities, art and music instruction and PE, a high expectation for student performance, a great gifted program, and many opportunities for parent involvement.

Henderson Mill Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
Henderson Mill is an excellent school because of the wonderful principal and teachers! It is the first traditional public elementary school in the ENTIRE STATE of Georgia to be "STEM certified" by the State Dept. of Education. "STEM" is science, technology, engineering and math -- the school has incorporated fun LEGO and engineering projects, gardening activities, etc. into the curriculum. These enrichment activities engage the kids, and they don't even realize they are learning from them! Henderson Mill has an excellent pull-out gifted program as well -- I understand that Oak Grove doesn't pull out for gifted, so that is a real advantage at Henderson Mill. Don't be put off by its Title I status -- gifted students get wonderful support too, and the Title I status has provided funding for a full-time Science teacher. The gifted students at Henderson Mill do just as well on testing as those at Oak Grove, Briarlake, or Evansdale - don't just look at overall test scores. Because of its proximity to Emory, this is a diverse student body, with many cultures - great preparation for the global society. My kids have friends from China, India, Ethiopia. HMES is a hidden gem!

Henderson Mill Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
the school is close by at walking distance. the principal seems to be genuinely caring, so are the staff. it would be perfect if aftercare can serve more students.


Henderson Mill Elementary School 2

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
Teachers are nosy. Principal is rude. My child was bullied twice by students 4 years older than him. Once he was slapped on the bus in front of everybody, another time he got kicked in the face at the bus stop. No one ever did anything. What happened to all this ANTI-BULLYING that they make such a big deal about. Turns out it is all for show. Also they are constantly asking for money. They wanted 5 dollars to cover postage of a one page letter that was to be mailed for a project. STAMPS COST 50c

Henderson Mill Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2012
- a parent
My son has special needs and Hendersonmill Elementary has a great staff of teachers who cares about their students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henderson Mill Elementary School
2408 Henderson Mill Rd NE, Atlanta, GA  30345
(678) 874-3102
Last modified Henderson Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Henderson Mill Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top