Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sutton Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

90 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2010

We are thrilled with the teachers and the curriculum. Wonderful group of supportive parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Sutton is an incredible Middle School which promotes learning, creativity and well-being in a safe environment. Our faculty, administration, parents, and students work together to promote and demonstrate the IB attitudes and profiles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The quality of the teachers and an enthusiastic group of parents make Sutton a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I attended Sutton before heading off to high school and can honestly say that I received a private school education in an environment free of 'entitled' student attitudes. Both the faculty and study body are appreciative of the little things that make Sutton an exceptional learning environment.


Posted April 24, 2010

Great community, amazing families, students, faculty. Outstanding IB program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

IB authoriized school with stong academics and enthusiastic teachers who have a gift for bringing out the best in every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Great academics, wonderful very committed teachers, a lot of extracurricular activities, and very diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

IB Program, parent involvement, neighborhood school with strong neighborhood support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Sutton Middle School provides quality academics in a nurturing environment. Sutton's IB program in unique and valuable. The intramurals, athletic teams, fine arts programs and clubs add a valuable dimension to the overall middle school experience. It is nice to see familiar faces from your neighborhood at school events.Sutton has a real community feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Sutton offers the unique combination of involved parents, an outstanding faculty, challenging academics, a smorgasbord of extracurricular activities and a supportive business community. Who could want more for their child?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We represent a very diverse population of talented, achieving and energetic students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

What's great about Sutton? The IB Middle Years Programme (and the track from elementary all the way through NAHS; the sports programs; the intramural programs; the fine arts, clubs, tutorials and associated extracurriculars; the metamorphosis back to a neighborhood school; the location; the people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

I love sutton! I'm in 7th grade taking an 8th grade math class along with about 40 other kids(spread out in 2 different periods.) At lovett the equivelent of this class only has about 7 students in it total. The classes are great, no matter what level you are and the teachers really like to get to know their students. Socially, I have lots of friends from all the different feder schools. One of my favorite parts is the fact that everyone is friends with everyone. The 7th grade class at Westminster is 1000000 times more cliquey than our 7th grade class. We also have lots of clubs and sports for everyone. Not to mention suttton showcase (which by the way was amazing this year) which is the talent show held at chastain ampitheater every year and we have professional sound and lighting. I would defaintly savemoney and go to sutton
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2009

Mix feelings. 6thers hardly have any homework. Teachers do not communicate with parents, unless you take the initiative. Huge transition from Elementary. Rough kids. Beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

We have been very pleased with our experience at Sutton. The teachers are generally top notch and the facility is very nice. Our daughter has had great experiences with the sports programs including cheerleading and track. We were a bit apprehensive at first, but mid-way through our second year here I have few complaints. Let's support our public schools and they will only get better and better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

this school is awesome! you will love it there! believe me!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

This August (2008) will be my second and last year at sutton. Sutton is an amazing school! I love it and it give you great oportunities! It's great! I love the teachers and staff they are great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2008

Sutton is a great school. this year starting in august will be my last year. i will be an eight grader. this will be my 3rd hear. i enjoy sutton but i wish we get to wear jean atleast 1 friday every month.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2008

Sutton is amazing! It is the absolute best school ever! I am an 8th grader at Sutton and I love everything about it. I have made so many friends, and I learn a ton from my teachers and also the people around me. Sutton's after school programs are great! I've been on the soccer team for two years and it's so much fun! Sutton is an incredible school! -Emerson
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2008

This school is a good school but has many social flaws
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

495 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

389 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 44%
Black 29% 37%
Hispanic 24% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:05am
School end time
  • 4:05pm
School Leader's name
  • Audrey Sofianos
Fax number
  • (404) 705-0100

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4875 Northside Dr. NW
Atlanta, GA 30305
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lovett School
Atlanta, GA



Pace Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT