Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sutton Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

90 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2007

We have been extremely pleased with Sutton Middle School for the past two years. My child is doing things in class that her friends at Westminster and Pace do a year later. Same curriculum but Sutton is a year ahead. The advanced mathe program is fantastic. The teachers are phenomenal. I am blown away by the quality of this school. My child has met many great friends from the various feeder elementary schools. I am so glad I have saved my private school tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

I just graduated from sutton. This is a really good school. I love the teachers. They were really nice to us. We learned so much. And I love the new building it's so beautiful!!! I love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2006

I went to Sutton from 6th-8th. It was a wonderful experience. The teachers at Sutton really care about their students learning. I enjoyed every single day at Sutton, because I learned stuff that prepared me for my freshman year in high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2006

I am a seventh grade student at Sutton and the teachers are really cool. They help us with our academics if we need it. I love sutton. And so does my mom and my dad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2006

The academic programs are challenging, e.g., the students have the right to obtain high school credit for work done at Sutton. The teachers are very committed and provide a steady flow of feedback to the parents re: the child's placement and class conduct. There is a plethora of extracurricular programs, including drama, Latin, music, sports and higher level foreign language programs. In addition, for each grade level, there is a learning trip to some part of the United States. Payments are spaced out over a matter of months, allowing the possiblity of a much greater involvement by the student body. Parent involvement is strong, having begun for most parents in elementary school. Although is is stated that during the middle school years, our children do not want us around, they seem to thrive from our participation 'behind the scenes,' fostering a sense of community within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

Our daughter is a 6th grader and we are so excited about this school. The principal is a true leader and teachers are very dedicated to the children learning. It has a great atmosphere even in the portables at Tuxedo. Thank you all for your hard work and giving us the feeling of our children learning, being safe and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

The academics are great, Sutton has tons of extracirricular activities including band, orchestra, and multiple sports teams and clubs. Parents help out a lot @ Sutton. We have a great PTA. Sutton has a very diverse student body. The teachers are amazing. There are many language courses like French, Spanish, and Latin. We all love Sutton.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2004

As an 8th grade teacher at Sutton, I can't say enough wonderful things about our school. The administration is supportive and professional, the faculty are creative and competent, and our students are intelligent, lively, and diverse. Sutton was my first-choice school and I love every day of it!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 9, 2004

Sutton is an outstanding neighborhood middle school. Perhaps its greatest strength is its principal who is an extraordinary leader and has assembled and built a remarkable team of creative and enthusiastic experienced teachers. My son is having a fantastic experience, which I hear echoed over and over by other parents. The new International Baccalaureate program is first class, with a teaching methodology that inspires kids to think critically and creatively. It has made learning fun, even though the work load is heavy. The many clubs and family spirit has been a wonderful environment for my middle schooler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I am a student there in 8th grade and I think that the teachers in Sutton are really good. This is one of the best schools around!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

495 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

389 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 44%
Black 29% 37%
Hispanic 24% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:05am
School end time
  • 4:05pm
School Leader's name
  • Audrey Sofianos
Fax number
  • (404) 705-0100

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4875 Northside Dr. NW
Atlanta, GA 30305
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lovett School
Atlanta, GA



Pace Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT