Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sutton Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

92 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, September 25, 2014

I had a child at Sutton from 6-8, and my second child is in 7th grade. We have had an excellent experience all-round. My children have both been in the accelerated program, which is an entirely different experience than the mainstream program, or so I hear. I am glad for the diversity. Kids need to know how to relate on all levels, and this school certainly gives that opportunity. The only downside, really, is that there is a very large economically underprivileged element at Sutton, mixed with an almost-equal number of kids from a lot of privilege. There is an enormous divide, providing a perfect storm for some bad behavior. That's not a reason not to go. And not everyone from an economically challenging background exhibits bad behavior anymore than Buckhead Brats are all mannerly (and they can be the WORST). So it's a FANTASTIC school. You just have to learn some 'duck-and-dive.' But I highly recommend. It is an excellent private-school alternative. My 9th grader is at North Atlanta. So far, so (very) good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2014

We have an eight-grader who loves Sutton and has performed well there. He is involved in clubs and sports and enjoys his classes and teachers. He is in all accelerated classes and has been challenged academically each year. I can't speak to the standard classes or to any disciple problems b/c we have had none. The student body is very diverse, which we love. He has met friends from Italy, Portugal, etc and has been exposed to life outside of this "Buckhead bubble". Take a tour and see if it's right for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

I'm an 8th grade student at Sutton, and the school is very average. The teachers there are for the most part good, but if you end up with a teacher that you don't like, i would recommend you do your best to switch class as early as possible in the school year. the administration is great. But when it comes to students, it's absolutely awful. It's a mix of superficial 'preppy' kids, and ghetto kids. There are few to none of the 'normal' ones. unless your child is going there from the beginning (6th grade), don't send him there, because it is really hard to adapt. Although this is an 'average' rating, i'm on the verge of rating it below average. Other than that, Sutton just moved into the old North Atlanta building, which is a really cool building.


Posted December 20, 2013

I am a 7th grade student at sutton my year so far hasn't been great the teachers are really fantastic but most of the Kids are ether a bully themself are being bullied. I have issues with bullying this year 2 times the first time the assent principles did suspend the kid but the second time the teacher they called in made it fell as if it wad my fault and so the assent principles did nothing. Now if I have another billing issue I don't know wear to turn. So if you don't have to please don't inroll your child in sutton


Posted October 4, 2013

I'm a student a sutton in 6th grade and I absolutely hate it! I'm in 6th grade and most of the kids are ghetto. No joke! They all cuss and do inappropriate things. I do love all the teachers there's not a problem with them but the students are terrible. I love the staff as well, Mr. Hudson, Mr. Cone, Ms. Miller ect. I would really wanna leave this school but all my very close friends go there. Also before you say I don't believe you with the whole "ghetto" thing then here's a story that happened a couple days ago. I was walking to carpool with my friends when all the sudden this kid runs out of his classroom with his teacher chasing after him, the student slaps the teacher and says many cuss words to her. Honestly, DO NOT put your child in sutton, they can get bullied, or even jumped. Again I love the teachers and the staff but the students are terrible


Posted September 29, 2013

I'm a student that goes to Sutton, and it's a very good school! The staff is super kind, and I made all kinds of friends! Wherever you look, people are there for you and willing to help.


Posted August 16, 2013

yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

My child is a studenthere at SMS. I would not recommend your kid here. Most of the teachers are great! But the students have no class, and most of them are ghetto. Random kids get jumped and bullied. There is a lot of drama here. The "principal" and administration care less about the students and more about their reputation and budget. Many of child's my friends have been in a situation where they have been bullied, harassed, and threatned and the bully said they were being bullied. Both of them were told not to talk about it ANYMORE. Now, the situation could get worse. If a kid can't get advice from their friends, what's the point? In conclusion, don't waste your time with the administration and go straight to the police or courthouse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

My son attends sutton currently (7 grade) and really likes it. He is in challenge classes and although I don't really feel that he is being challenged to his highest potential he is still learning a lot. The band program is great! Mr. Denson (the band director) is wonderful. I have heard good things about the orchestra and chorus/guitar teachers as well. I am disapointed that we have to move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

The administration is absolutely terrible here. It makes it nearly unbearable to teach. It's unfortunate as the students themselves are terrific, but whenever there are discipline problems, the administration doesn't want to deal with it. One particular administrator seems to enjoy randomly choosing teachers to harass and then making them so miserable they are forced to resign. It is never a good sign at a school when there is as much turnover as there is at SMS. I can't wait to get out.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 29, 2011

Two kids at Sutton with one graduating. I have been overall pleased with the Principal and the staff. Their are plenty of opportunities to involve yourself in the school and the day to day operation. Sutton has been a excellent experience and if APS can get the new North Atlanta off of the ground quickly things will continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

My son has had 3 great years at Sutton. He found his niche early on. Our second son is excited to join Sutton next year. All the teachers know our child by name and even the Principal knows us all. For such a large population, we feel it is truly a neighborhood school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

I have a child in 6th grade and it has been a very difficult year so far. I am very disappointed! Some the teachers have no control of their classroom. Nothing like elementary. Very difficult to reach the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

It is a great school filled with fantastic kids and wonderful opportunities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

Really love the School and the Diversity. Glad to have my child attend there. The Staff is Wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

This DIVERSE school has ALLf the trimmings of a well run private school. Also, the parent participation as well as community leader's participation puts Sutton Middle School at the top of any school list!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

I love the interaction between parents, teachers, and students. They have excellent programs. Helping hands were parents volunteer there time to come and help the teachers and staff. Also hall monitoring. The have Wellness embassier for the student. That is on a student to student level. The school is just awesome! Everyone there has an important role that has been done well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

It's given my son every conceivable opportunity to learn and grow as an intelligent young man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Sutton Middle School is filled with diversity with an international approach to teaching. I am proud to be a teacher in Atlanta Public School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My child is a 6th grader at Sutton and loves it. The diversity is terrific among students and faculty. Ms. Sofianos is an outstanding principal. The PTA is incredibly active and involved through volunteer time and donations. This is a wonderful public school and I am so glad we are a part of it. My child gets a great education and we only have to pay once for it ... through taxes, not tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

495 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

389 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 44%
Black 29% 37%
Hispanic 24% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:05am
School end time
  • 4:05pm
School Leader's name
  • Audrey Sofianos
Fax number
  • (404) 705-0100

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4875 Northside Dr. NW
Atlanta, GA 30305
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lovett School
Atlanta, GA



Pace Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT