Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


103 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sutton Middle School 4

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
I had a child at Sutton from 6-8, and my second child is in 7th grade. We have had an excellent experience all-round. My children have both been in the accelerated program, which is an entirely different experience than the mainstream program, or so I hear. I am glad for the diversity. Kids need to know how to relate on all levels, and this school certainly gives that opportunity. The only downside, really, is that there is a very large economically underprivileged element at Sutton, mixed with an almost-equal number of kids from a lot of privilege. There is an enormous divide, providing a perfect storm for some bad behavior. That's not a reason not to go. And not everyone from an economically challenging background exhibits bad behavior anymore than Buckhead Brats are all mannerly (and they can be the WORST). So it's a FANTASTIC school. You just have to learn some 'duck-and-dive.' But I highly recommend. It is an excellent private-school alternative. My 9th grader is at North Atlanta. So far, so (very) good.

Sutton Middle School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
We have an eight-grader who loves Sutton and has performed well there. He is involved in clubs and sports and enjoys his classes and teachers. He is in all accelerated classes and has been challenged academically each year. I can't speak to the standard classes or to any disciple problems b/c we have had none. The student body is very diverse, which we love. He has met friends from Italy, Portugal, etc and has been exposed to life outside of this "Buckhead bubble". Take a tour and see if it's right for your child.


Sutton Middle School 3

Posted January 05, 2014
- a community member
I'm an 8th grade student at Sutton, and the school is very average. The teachers there are for the most part good, but if you end up with a teacher that you don't like, i would recommend you do your best to switch class as early as possible in the school year. the administration is great. But when it comes to students, it's absolutely awful. It's a mix of superficial 'preppy' kids, and ghetto kids. There are few to none of the 'normal' ones. unless your child is going there from the beginning (6th grade), don't send him there, because it is really hard to adapt. Although this is an 'average' rating, i'm on the verge of rating it below average. Other than that, Sutton just moved into the old North Atlanta building, which is a really cool building.

Sutton Middle School 3

Posted December 20, 2013
- a community member
I am a 7th grade student at sutton my year so far hasn't been great the teachers are really fantastic but most of the Kids are ether a bully themself are being bullied. I have issues with bullying this year 2 times the first time the assent principles did suspend the kid but the second time the teacher they called in made it fell as if it wad my fault and so the assent principles did nothing. Now if I have another billing issue I don't know wear to turn. So if you don't have to please don't inroll your child in sutton

Sutton Middle School 2

Posted October 04, 2013
- a community member
I'm a student a sutton in 6th grade and I absolutely hate it! I'm in 6th grade and most of the kids are ghetto. No joke! They all cuss and do inappropriate things. I do love all the teachers there's not a problem with them but the students are terrible. I love the staff as well, Mr. Hudson, Mr. Cone, Ms. Miller ect. I would really wanna leave this school but all my very close friends go there. Also before you say I don't believe you with the whole "ghetto" thing then here's a story that happened a couple days ago. I was walking to carpool with my friends when all the sudden this kid runs out of his classroom with his teacher chasing after him, the student slaps the teacher and says many cuss words to her. Honestly, DO NOT put your child in sutton, they can get bullied, or even jumped. Again I love the teachers and the staff but the students are terrible


Sutton Middle School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a community member
I'm a student that goes to Sutton, and it's a very good school! The staff is super kind, and I made all kinds of friends! Wherever you look, people are there for you and willing to help.

Sutton Middle School 4

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes.

Sutton Middle School 1

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
My child is a studenthere at SMS. I would not recommend your kid here. Most of the teachers are great! But the students have no class, and most of them are ghetto. Random kids get jumped and bullied. There is a lot of drama here. The "principal" and administration care less about the students and more about their reputation and budget. Many of child's my friends have been in a situation where they have been bullied, harassed, and threatned and the bully said they were being bullied. Both of them were told not to talk about it ANYMORE. Now, the situation could get worse. If a kid can't get advice from their friends, what's the point? In conclusion, don't waste your time with the administration and go straight to the police or courthouse.


Sutton Middle School 5

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
My son attends sutton currently (7 grade) and really likes it. He is in challenge classes and although I don't really feel that he is being challenged to his highest potential he is still learning a lot. The band program is great! Mr. Denson (the band director) is wonderful. I have heard good things about the orchestra and chorus/guitar teachers as well. I am disapointed that we have to move.

Sutton Middle School 1

Posted May 13, 2011
- a teacher
The administration is absolutely terrible here. It makes it nearly unbearable to teach. It's unfortunate as the students themselves are terrific, but whenever there are discipline problems, the administration doesn't want to deal with it. One particular administrator seems to enjoy randomly choosing teachers to harass and then making them so miserable they are forced to resign. It is never a good sign at a school when there is as much turnover as there is at SMS. I can't wait to get out.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sutton Middle School
4875 Northside Dr. NW, Atlanta, GA  30305
(404) 802-5600
Last modified Sutton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sutton Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 103 reviews. Top