Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Continental Colony Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2012

My family and I just moved to the area and im very interested in finding out about CCES. I am on the PTA at my sons current school. I am very open to volunteering and doing my part. This is what it takes, you cant expect the School Staff & Teachers to do there job and your job at home also, Were coming from a charter school where parents have to volunteer and participate it is absolutely nesscesary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

This school brings true meaning to the saying it takes a villiage to raise a child because all the teachers and parents work together to support the school and the children that go there. I am a volunteer parent and dedicated supporter of CCES. We have the best educators and administration Thats why we are the school of choice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

I feel as though a few bad apples spoiled this bunch. I have volunteered at this school and still don't see a differences besides the fact that when I come through the door the staff knows who I am! They talk to you like you are one of the student and put their noises in the air because they have degrees. I was raised to respect my elders, but respect is earned as well. If I had a choice or could afford to put my child in private school I would dive at it. I also believe that it takes a certain type of person to be an educator (I'm not one of them), but when I get a phone call and the person on the other end say's ' I don't feel like dealing with your child, come get them', I question that whole theory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

It is quite comical to read the comments posted by parents. It concerns me greatly to see this because all to often we see parents complaining but very few volunteering or offering anything to the school. I have always believed that it takes a village to raise a child not an individual and that learning starts at home. So as for comments about the administration and teachers I would find them more appropriate had i witnessed more parents volunteering. It is very sad when the volunteers that we do have are individuals who don't have children who attend but simply do it for the love of helping others. So as a teacher I would be happy to see the day when instead of individuals criticizing what is in place, try coming to lend a hand to a teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 6, 2008

This school has no leadership. Teachers and students attend here for a social gathering! So if your child goes to school for friends and fun, this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

I agree! No school is a challenge w/o the parents involvement. My child comes from a private Pre-K establishment where parents, staff & others expressed concern for the kids and their education. Overall, I have not seen the initiative from staff & parents to encourage involvement. I attended the PTA meeting and got the same impression as mentioned below in 8/11 - the principal was not enthused yet ready to retire & it was a disappointment for me. I believe it could be ok one day but it will take yrs before the school will be its potential. The reality is my child is at the beginning of her learning years, and I believe we have to reach kids early to create a stable foundation for them later. I grew up in APS & think there are a few schools that can provide a great foundation but don't see it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

No school is a challenge when the parents are not involved. We as Parents need to make sure that we are involved in the activities in our schools and that we build the relationships with the staff. Children will excell anywhere when they have the support and challenge from their Parents. Continental Colony has a sound foundation and support from its community. You would be surprise of what you see once you get involvesd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

This is one of the worst schools I hae ever known in my life. Teachers are unconcern. Office staff is lazy and rude. Bus transportation is terrible. My child cannot read any better. This is school is very unorganized. I am very unhappy with this school and I hope something will be done about it.


Posted August 11, 2007

My son attended this school, in 2005-2006 and I felt that the this was not a challenging place for him. The classes were over crowded and the Teacher, although she was great at her task, I felt that she was stressed. I felt that the PTA President ran the school and the Principal was ready for retirement. My son only attended for one semester, because I felt that he needed more. I do believe this could be a great school, but it needed then better leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

This is an excellent school. The parent involvement is wonderful and the PTA is the best of any elementary school. The parents and grandparents really believe in the village principal, and the new adminstration is awsome! My child loves learning and reading is one of their main interest. Great School....I give it 5 Stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

My son Priest is a 1st grader here and he loves it. He has been on the honor roll all year and learning like a sponge from Ms. T. Johnson! The afterschool program is not only fun but educational! I think I will remain in this school zone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

61 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

61 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

61 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

64 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

64 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

64 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 37%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sandra R. Sessoms
Fax number
  • (404) 346-2354

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3181 Hogan Rd SW
Atlanta, GA 30331
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Osby Christian Academy
East Point, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT