Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandy Springs Charter Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
My son is about to finish his 7th grade year at SSCMS and we have only had positive experiences. He is 13 years old and ADHD. We tried the private school route (GHA, Galloway)... but honestly they (unlike Public Schools) are not mandated to know how to teach a student with my son's challenges. He is very bright and came to SSCMS in the 6th grade and went right into advanced classes. We have a 504 plan for him and I regularly speak, text and email with his teachers when necessary. He is challenged by the curriculum and has a great, diverse social life. The first year I wasn't very involved... but this year I was able to take on more volunteer roles and spend time getting to know the admin. They are a dedicated group of educators who are working on building SSCMS into a top level, superior school for our community. I would suggest to anyone interested... before you decide on a private school, or consider moving to another county... just walk through the doors of Sandy Springs Charter Middle School and see and hear what all the great buzz is about!

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
The energy at this school is amazing! The new principal has given this school a whole new energy! He has great ideas, has a great staff, is approachable and wants his students to succeed. He is working to make that happen with all of the kids, whether they are in the honors class or need some extra encouragement. By engaging the parents, the teachers and the students to all work together, i'm more than excited to have my 2nd child going thru this school, with a 3rd one on his way!

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a community member
Teachers and Principal set the example. Programs offered and taught throughout the year on personal subjects, such as honesty, loyalty, friendships, personal Development.

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a community member
Perfect new principal, amazing class choices. Sports program, arts, music programs exceptional! A diversified population which both of our children have really enjoyed. Both children very well prepared for high school. A welcoming PTA and many opportunities to volunteer and meet parents. Beautiful and well organized school with supportive and caring teachers.

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a student
Our son has gone to Sandy Springs Middle since the 6th grade with an IEP for math and reading. We definitely had concerns and struggles in the beginning, but I will say that things have improved dramatically with the hire of this year's new principal. He's passionate, involved and highly motivated. In his very first month at the school, he sat down with each of us on the PTA , listened to our concerns and immediately took action!! His goal is to make SSCMS a world class school - and he is well on his way. There is better communication than ever, the staff and students seem happier and more involved than I've ever seen them. Being on the board of The PTA, I can say that everyone goes above and beyond to support the staff and the students. I'm only sad that this is our son's last year at the school because it is finally where it needs to be!

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School 5

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Our 7th grade son has thrived at Sandy Springs Middle School since the first day of 6th grade. We love that he is exposed to children from across our community and relish the many benefits the school affords us to be active members of Sandy Springs. The SSCMS teachers and faculty care about each and every child and work as a team to ensure that learning takes place holistically. Our teachers are active in coaching and cheering for our students at sporting events and academic competitions. We have many middle school options in Sandy Springs and are grateful for the amazing families, friends and faculty that make SSCMS the right option for our family (our 5th grader can't wait to attend next year).

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
This is my daughter's first year at SSCMS. She had previously been at a private school in the area, but we realized that she can receive a great education at SSCMS without spending so much money. We have been very impressed with the teachers and the principal. She has made some wonderful friends, and most importantly, she is happy and loves her school!

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
This is our first year at SSCMS and we LOVE it!! My son is in 6th grade and he loves going to school. His favorite class is Latin which is unbelievable to me that a school even offers it to 6th graders. Administration has been great, atmosphere is awesome, and very engaging teachers. Can't say enough about what a wonderful school it is and even getting better with the new principal.

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Our new principal is setting goals for a world class school, and our experiences as parents and my two students' accomplishments would say SSCMS is well on its way. We have a high school freshman in the math/science magnet program who attended this school for all 3 years - far advanced in math, participated on academic bowl, loved PE, excelled in Latin, enjoyed two 8th grade trips to DC & Savannah, good challenges in a diverse, real world environment. Our daughter is an 8th grader and enjoyed much of the same academic rigor along with playing cello in the orchestra and exploring her art talents extensively. Our youngest son will be a 6th grader next year along with most of his current classmates. We trust he'll make lots of new friends as well from the other feeder schools just like his older siblings did.

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Principal Gardner and Assistant Principal Taylor - we thank you for your leadership and visions

Nearby schools

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School
8750 Pride Place, Atlanta, GA  30350
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. (770) 552-4970
Last modified Sandy Springs Charter Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top