Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverwood International Charter School

Charter | 9-12 | 1634 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2011

Riverwood has enjoyed a lot of positive hype the past few years. The reality is somewhat different. Excellence exists in some areas and with some teachers, but it is also possible to have a year in which mediocrity is the norm especially if your child is not in advanced classes. There is very little "school spirit" at Riverwood. Drama and music programs are very good. Unfortunately the drug and alcohol problem is widespread, one of the worst in metro Atlanta. "Rankings" seem to matter more than anything else in too many cases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

Riverwood has turned out to be a HUGE disappointment. My son is in 9th grade so he just started this year. So far he has had two teachers quit and the principal had to resign as well as the athletic director. The majority of the students are out of control. I have seen videos of fights in the cafeteria and it looks like a scene from a prison movie. We have encountered rude teachers (my son told a teacher he needed to check out and that I was in the front office to get him....the teacher berated him the entire way to the lobby telling him that he didn't believe him and that my son was just trying to skip school....when they arrived, the teacher said to me, "he better be glad you're up here") I have also received less than professional emails from some of his teachers that contained inaccurate information. Also, a couple of his teachers have lost several of his assignments !!!!! We are leaving this school as soon as the semester is over!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

We have two children at Riverwood and they love it! They have good teachers and they do have to work hard. I think its weird for people to expect teachers to nurture their children in high school. Aren't we getting them ready for college? Anyway, Riverwood is a great school with an awesome marching band and awesome band teacher. Our girls are involved and we are involved also. High school students should be more independent as they get ready to become adults. I think Riverwood assists with this. It's a great school and we would move all over again to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

The principal of Riverwood just resigned due to "auditing irregularities" meaning he was taking money from the student activity funds (raised by sale of tickets to athletic/artistic events) and using it personally. Stay away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

This school purports to be all kinds of things but is not - it is all about numbers and excelling - there is no joy of learning. If a student is not excellent, the child is treated as if they are a bad kid regardless of their behavior. The students do not learn about diversity and interacting and communicating well with others. Many teachers are disorganized and engage in favoritism without regard to the damage to the other students. The IB program teaches little about international relations and provides little encouragement or support to students. The only students the school or this program cares about are ones who are achieving. There are students are supposedly achieving and winning awards who are cheating and using shortcuts falling on the edge with little regard for learning. Once a child is labeled, it appears virtually impossible to move forward.Don't send your child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

My daughter is a graduating senior at Riverwood. We have had a great experience at Riverwood. The sports programs and the academic opportunities have been excellent for her. She has had wonderful teachers except for a couple of math teachers. Overall the teachers are very challenging and keep the parents updated through parent connect. She has made wonderful friends over the last four years which have come from both public and private schools. I'm looking forward to another four great years with our younger daughter as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2008

I am currently a ninth grader at riverwood. This school really challenges you to do your best at all times. It was a little hard for me at first, mainly due to the fact that i moved from another state, but once i got the hang of everything it was a lot easier. Some great advice to students: Do your homework! I learned the hard way that not doing your homework can really mess you up. Study! Study as much as you can it could really help you with finals! Good luck to the upcoming students :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2008

This school really helped we grow into a person who can speak up when something is not going right. The teacher are strict and what the students to strive for great grades. But the sports aren't doing very well it seems like all the other schools think that Riverwood sports are jokes. Which they are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2008

I am currently a senior at riverwood high school and so far my experience there has been extraordinary! I love my school and i wouldn't choose anywhere else to go in the world. the diversity is the best thing at the school followed by the academics athletics and extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2007

North Springs provides a unique learning environment of the combination of intensely focused arts students and just as intensely focused math and science students with a blend of diversity. They have some of the best SAT scores around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

This is a great school. My daughter just finished her 9th grade and took mostly honors classes. They were very rigorous and she was challenged. She loves the diversity and has made many new and wonderful friends. We are thrilled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

Watch out. As a student here, there are some good but many bad things. Many students only care about who's rich or who is poor. But mainly, you can easily get caught in the drugs. Just watch your student closely and be involved!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2007

This school is awful! The administration does not support the teachers and is counterproductive at times. The teachers are all dinosaurs with little innovation or motivation. They do not know the meaning of good teaching. The student population is extremely diverse but demonstrates poor qualities of their socioeconomic groups whether rich or poor. Bottom line: Investigate carefully before enrolling your student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

What's nice about Riverwood is it is a fairly small school; however, they lose a lot of good teachers. This is not because of the students, but rather because the administration doesn't seem to respect its staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

The quality of the academics at Riverwood High School in Sandy Springs can be compared to private schools or some of the top public high schools. If a student wants to learn whether they are in IB, AP or on grade level they will learn. It does take initiative for a student at any school to want to learn but the difference at public is you are more on your own to push yourself rather than having someone behind you all of the time moving you forward which can actually hurt you when you get to college when no one is around. The parent involvement is 100%. Everyone pitches in and does everything they can. The sports programs, clubs, extra are there for those that want to participate. When scores are published for schools in the newspaper and books you need to look further at the true makeup of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

Riverwood is a great school. I had been in a private school all my life and for high school I wanted to go to Riverwood because of the IB program. The academics are just as hard if not harder than the private school I came from. Also, what surprised me the most was, everyone at Riverwood is so nice. All of the s are nice to each other. There are not really clicks. Everyone is friends with everyone. That was refreshing because most private schools are the exact opposite. At Riverwood, everyone is accepting of everyone's differences. I recommend Riverwood to everybody. Also, the teachers actually care and are willing to work with you. They want you to succeed at Riverwood. That is very comforting. There is an activity for everyone. Some of the sports teams don't have cuts. There is a ton of of clubs that are active at Riverwood.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2005

Riverwood was merely an OK school. I did enjoy my experience, but we could have done better. Riverwood does not actually rival the private schools as previously said, but it is not bad, I guess. DeMarcus Arrington.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 15, 2005

Riverwood as a international school, gives the students opportunities to learn about the world from differents point of view. The school has lots of foreigh students, belonging to different ethnicitys and religions, and still keeping the American tradition, making its pupils more tolerant about other cultures. There are no better private schools, the PTSA is full time present, and there are LOTS of extracurricular activities (I barely went home). And the best: You make true friends with students, faculty and staff. go RAIDERS!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 28, 2004

Riverwood is a great school! It rivals the 'private' schools in Metro Atlanta! The staff, administration and students are wonderful. There's truly a family feel at this school! Riverwood embraces and celebrates its diverse student population. The programs are outstanding! The Media Production courses and teachers simply can not be beat! Go Raiders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

A truly wonderful school, taught me everything I needed to know to go to college.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

365 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

369 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

368 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

369 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

503 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
62%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
63%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
58%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 44%
Black 29% 37%
Hispanic 21% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/A51%
Female 52%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5900 Raider Drive
Atlanta, GA 30328
Phone: (404) 847-1980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Weber School
Atlanta, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT