Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


50 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riverwood International Charter School 1

Posted October 03, 2014
- a parent
It is a shame. Money hungry athletic programs. Not only do you have to pay for parking at a public school but you also have player dues and entry fees. If you have a child striving to be involved be prepared to fork out every penny you have not matter what the cause. No parent involvement is understandable considering the greed involved. Good luck.

Riverwood International Charter School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
Riverwood is great school who has prepared my little brother for college success. He will attend UGA next fall


Riverwood International Charter School 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
Riverwood is a great school. I will recommend this school any day. My son love it as well. There are great teachers also. Parents, it's a great school. Wonderful location.

Riverwood International Charter School 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is the worst school you can send your kids to. Unless you want to send them around a lot of descriminating adults. Administrators are the worst human beings, they take their personal anger along to work with them. They treat children like dirt and i would not reccomend this be a school for any new students. My child was harrassed and it is unexceptable. But they have a pretty good lacrosse team!

Riverwood International Charter School 5

Posted December 30, 2013
- a community member
Any person who writes a review saying that Riverwood does not provide opportunities for a good education is wrong. I graduated in 2011 and although I admit Riverwood seemed to be stronger in Language Arts, Social Studies, and it's great selection of electives over Science and Math, I have had some of the best teachers of my entire educational career at this school. The diversity at the school is also an incredible and realistic experience for students. As an inside source, considering I spent all four years there, too many parents are concerned about what they consider are problems with diversity at the school rather than their own children. The reality is that you are going to find drugs and alcohol at any normal and high achieving high school - ESPECIALLY private schools. But it's up to the parents to instill good qualities in their children to help them deal with the obstacles that high school will show them. So, overall, I had an incredible experience here. Challenging academics, some great school spirit, an incredible Arts program, and a school community filled with all types of students - many overachieving, great, smart kids. So don't let bad reviews fool you.
1 person found this helpful


Riverwood International Charter School 5

Posted December 21, 2013
- a student
Riverwood has been such a great experience for me. The school's diversity has given me a sense of the real world and has given me the opportunity to interact with a wide range of people. The education has been amazing. I have always been challenged and have loved almost all of my teachers. They don't just hand your grades to you-you have to work for them and that Is a valuable lesson in work ethic that I'm not sure a private school could Give.

Riverwood International Charter School 2

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
My child is now a college freshman and is suffering from the effects of the mediocrity which is now so prevalent at Riverwood. Even though she was in honors and AP classes, the teaching quality and the content, and the way in which the courses were taught (teach to the test, little critical thinking) have gone rapidly downhill since we looked at the school (and made the decision to transfer from private school) when she was in 7th grade. And it is true -- the drug and alcohol problem IS the worst in the metroarea. That is true because of the school's handling of the situation, but also because of the parents who don't care and aren't willing to be tough with their kids. I hope my daughter's experience at a good, small college can erase all memories of Riverwood.

Riverwood International Charter School 1

Posted June 18, 2013
- a teacher
Riverwood International Charter School may be a lot of things, but it certainly does NOT have endemic racism issues as the obviously disgruntled student below has indicated. The ONE thing that Riverwood has going for it is the genuine atmosphere of multicultural acceptance. That being said, Fulton County Schools is bent on destroying the close camaraderie among the staff that has existed well before the current carrousel of teacher and staff replacement. Apparently FCS is of the opinion that if it isn't broken, go ahead and destroy it. Meanwhile, the staff (teachers and administrators alike) have been experiencing a turnover rate of 47% last year and well over that this (2012-2013) year. Riverwood administrators have shown little inclination to stand up to the pressures instituted by the superintendent of FCS. FCS claim that it is interested in in putting "students first" truly rings hollow as it systematically goes about destroying all sense of self-worth among its employees, especially those teachers who man the classroom front lines. Let us see if the school's (and county's) ranking goes up or down over the next few years and pin that to superintendent's future employment.


Riverwood International Charter School 1

Posted June 16, 2013
- a student
SCHOOL SUCKS DO NOT GO!! TERRIBLE STAFF AND STRONG RACISM! The staff and administration lack interest in the students' needs. The racism amongst students is beyond bad, and the staff refuses to do anything about it. If you are African-American, it is very hard to fit in. There is no recognition of black history month or any other black holiday. Reconsider. I attended. Most of my peers feel the same. DON'T DO IT!

Riverwood International Charter School 3

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
The review of Dec. 7, 2012 was obviously written by an education administrator with advanced professional knowledge. No parent talks like that. The school is well respected but it has it's issues like any intown school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverwood International Charter School
5900 Raider Drive, Atlanta, GA  30328
(404) 847-1980
Last modified Riverwood International Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Riverwood International Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top