Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Auburn Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 608 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2013

Teachers are great!! However, administration is less than poor in performance. Fails to comply with parents written requests in a divorced/court ordered documentation. Unorganized, frequently loses documentation... Children are unsupervised on playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

My Son attended first and second grades at Auburn elem. During the first grade we held on hoping that second would be so much better, only to find out it was worse. Finally, we were accepted to transfer within the county. I was pleased with the principal and the vice principal but the teachers are a different story. Many times I feel that they were just rude - I offered several times to volunteer and was told it wasn't needed. During his second grade year there wasn't any parent involvement because NOTHING was ever planned. It seemed the teacher made no effort at all. Upon the end of the year we viewed his agenda and the only words written in there were written by me to the teacher and never a response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

My son went to Auburn Elementary for K and 1st. During Kindergarten we had behavior problems, but for the duration of my son's 1st grade we had no experience of behavior problems and he was even placed in the accelerated reading program. I think this is due to having an excellent Teacher, Mrs. Norris who took the time to learn about her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

Auburn Elementary provided a great begining for my son Nathan with caring and dedicated teachers and staff thru his 6 years at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

My son's behavior has greatly improved since he began attending the early entrance class that meets four days a week for half the day. Mrs. Hopkins is doing a great job, and the school as a whole is well organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

My daughter loves it here! Her teachers have been wonderful! Kelly McGrath for K and Jennifer Plummer for 1st. They work with the student and parrents to get the best education possible. LOVE IT!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

People need to realize that it takes parents getting involved with their child's education to have a PTO and room moms. Auburn asks all parents to be involved and they have always sent home class volunteer sheets, flyers to join PTO, parent surveys. etc. The well-qualified teachers are in that school every day doing their jobs-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

I have never been involved with a school that doesn't promote any parent involvement. I have yet to even be able to find out about PTO meetings. There are no room moms and no class directories either so the kids have no way of contacting each other unless they remember to get their friends phone numbers at school. There is no Spirit Wear available for purchase either. My child is doing well academically but as far as the school promoting parent involvement and any regular communication I have yet to see it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I am disappointed in Auburn Elementary level of professionalism and teaching ability. We enrolled our children for the 06-07 school year and have been met with a 'backwoods' education system for our children. Our children excelled in another school system but when we came to Auburn all that changed. When our child would receive in school tutoring the work done would be wrong. The in school work completed in class would be wrong. Testing would be low. However, when they received outside tutoring they excelled where they failed in Auburn and excelled in a short amount of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

The state of Georgia is ranked very low against the National Education Standard; however, 3 years running Auburn Elementary School has met the National Standard and is considered a National School of Excellence in Education. I believe that aware speaks for itself. Also, the superintendent in the county here (Barrow) feels that way about all schools within the county and it reflects in the national testing accreditation (CRCT, PSAT and SAT scoring percentages). There is so much participation in our PTA/PTO with parents. I know at AUBURN our PTO meetings are 90% attendance every month. It takes school leaders, parents, community and the students personal involvement to make a school successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 44%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 5% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Shawn Williams
Fax number
  • (770) 963-2923

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1334 6th Ave
Auburn, GA 30011
Phone: (770) 963-7887

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT