Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mulberry Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 573 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

In the upcoming fall, I will send my third student to Mulberry Elementary and I couldn't be happier. When it comes to my children I am well aware that I expect a high standard. Mulberry Elementary, with its teachers and administrators, doesn't just meet those standards. They exceed them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

I love working at this school! It is amazing! All the staff is kind and hard working. I am proud to work here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2014

Mulberry standards and education discriminates highly on special ed. The leadership of mrs. Stranahan is mediocre and I would consider her a dictator, not a leader. Some of the teachers my child had bullied her and taunted her in ways where it was hard to prove her case because it was her word against the the teachers. I did not feel my child was emotionally safe. The principal did nothing. Many parents I know of have pulled their children out. Some of the gifted children were pulled out because the developed anxiety due to the stress of their teachers and principal. But mrs stranahan got her award of school of excellence by the governor and that's all that matters to her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

Mulberry E.S. is not helpful to children with LD's. They will do the bare minimum to appear helpful, but when you clear all of their smoke from the air, you will see they are only lowering the bar and deferring the problem. The administration will appear like they care until you start to ask pertinant questions and want to see documentation of your child's progress. At this point, you will be lucky to get answers to your questions. BEWARE! The administration at this school does not have your special education child's best interest as far as their education goes. Parents, all I can say is keep asking the important questions until you know you have a solid and truthful answer. Know how to read test scores, because they are banking on the fact that you don't know. If your child is in the gen. ed. population, this is a decent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

I really don't see how this school was rated a 10. My son had a lot of problems in this school. Teachers made a lot of mistakes. No one seemed to be on the same page. Thank God his in middle school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

My daughter just completed 5th grade at Mulberry. We absolutely love the school. The teachers are phenomenal. My daughter came from another county where she was desperately struggling in Math. Not only did the staff at Mulberry bring her up to speed, but they did it in the allotted school time. This made school an enjoyable experience for my daughter, and we are forever grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

This is our 2nd year at this school and my kids love it! My girls had some issues last year in the 5th grade with being bullied and kids using bad language and it was taken care of right then and there. All the teachers are great, there is no such thing as a bad teacher at this school. The specials teachers are just as great.Even the PTA is wonderful, all the parents on PTA are sweet and helpful and never make you feel left out or like they are better then you like most PTAs do. I think out of all the schools my kids have been to this is the best one and I plan on staying in their district so my other 2 kids can go here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

My daughter was consistanly bullied for 4 years at this school. I reported every serious account and ended up pulling my daughter out to homeschool her after she was physically assaulted by another student and nothing was done about it. Yes the principal does know every student by name and has a smile and a hug for each student she sees, however that only helps for so long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

I am a parent and educator. This is an outstanding elementary school. My child has attended this school since it opened. We have had a wonderful experience at Mulberry. The administrative staff and faculty are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

Outstanding school environment! Mulberry has a small town culture where the kids feel loved by every person they encounter! My daughter loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

This was our first year at Mulberry and unfortunately a job transferred us mid year...The teachers, staff and principal are wonderful to work with and genuinely care about their students. The principal is amazing! She knows every student by name and takes the time to really get to know the kids and their families. We were very sad to leave such a wonderful school. Mulberry Elementary is a gem among today's public schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

96 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

96 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

79 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

79 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

79 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 44%
Black 25% 37%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

442 E Union Grove Cir
Auburn, GA 30011
Phone: (678) 226-7460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT