Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Old Peachtree Montessori School

Private | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Auburn

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

We have been at OPMS for 4 years and LOVE it! We have one gifted child and one with special needs. They have both thrived in this loving, culturally diverse school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

OPMS provides a caring, family atmosphere that emphasizes respect for one another. Students are taught in a calm, engaging environment and are given the chance to master skills and lessons at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Old Peachtree Montessori is a school where the teachers and staff encourage the children to imagine and explore. and grow at their own rate.


Posted October 14, 2013

My child has been going to OPM for 4 years and she has excelled academically. She enjoys the class environment, the playground, garden, the teachers and administration. I have seen staff churn but the focus is always on the children. They do a great job getting my child to want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Great in theory...some really amazing teachers, but poorly run. Administrative staff is disorganized and flaky at best. They mean well, but don't have it together. The school seems to be struggling financially, and looks for fundraising schemes at every turn (more so than other private schools). Their hiring standards are very lax, and have a high turnover rate for support staff. More affordable than other Montessori schools, but misses the mark too much to be worth it in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

My daughter is 4. She doesn't even know she is learning and having a blast. She knows all the presidents in order, that there are 7 continents and that there is an eastern hemisphere and western hemisphere. This a great school with great teachers and staff. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2013

My son started at OPMS this past Fall (2012). This was his first experience with any school since he had stayed home with me up until that point. Naturally, we were worried that he wouldn't adjust to the Montessori method and just had general first day of school jitters. That was all for nothing because he LOVES school and literally misses school on the weekends. The teachers are amazing! My son has learned so much and was reading within a few months of starting school. The campus is beautiful with lots of nature, gardens, and animals for the kids to enjoy. Love, LOVE Old Peachtree Montessori!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

My daughter has been here since she was 18 months. She is now in the fifth grade and still attends Old Peachtree Montessori. The place is amazing. I would suggest you come visit the school even if you are having any doubts about where your child attends now. They also have great summer programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

It's more than a school, it's a home away from home, the village that raises the child. The community thrives in an environment of respect, from the youngest ( 18 mo. ) to the eldest. The campus offers so much influence in class participation , ranging from outdoor animal care & a variety of gardens, to indoor love of learning materials and guidance. On campus and off campus real life experiences. A very healthy alternative to the public school system. Ones ability to pay, never compromises the need for the family seeking this environment. Utilities, staffing salaries, teaching materials and animal care cost leave little for maintenance. Fund raisers have kept this wonderful school going and the extra money, if awarded, would go far in addressing the maintenance needs to keep us in tip top condition. This school has meant so much to the parents who seek this alternative, rewarding learning experience for their children. Respectively, Melanie Stephens
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

My Son is just finishing his first year at OPMS. We are absolutely in love with Old Peachtree Montessori School and have been since the first time we visited the campus. We wouldn't dream of sending him anywhere else, and can't wait to start our youngest too. The campus is beautiful with a generous amount of space for the children to run around, and the playground equipment is top notch. The staff and teachers are all incredibly warm and kind. The over all feeling of OPMS is a sense of belonging to a community that will nuture and guide my children to become wonderful, well adjusted, kind and curteous adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

Excellent school with montesorri trained teachers. 4 Building campus wit a garden, nature trail and a large playground. I have had my oldest daughter there for 5 years and my youngest for 2 years. I would highly reccomend them to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 44%
Hispanic 18% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33 Hill's Shop Road
Auburn, GA 30011
Phone: (770) 963-3052

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT