Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Goshen Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2010

I am proud to say that this school helped me and my family alot. We are a military family and we arrived from germany my daughter was behind. This school brought her up to standard. She is now going into her junior year of highschool in the same county. Which I am proud to say is Richmond. Just research the rankings and you will see for yourself that this ranks among the best in augusta.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

This School really teach their students.I commend Mrs.Garrett and Mrs.Anderson for a Job well done.The Pre-K system and the learning tools they have will change your child dramatically.I recommend to all parents of the World to place your child in Mrs.Garrett and Mrs.Anderson Pre-K Class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

Well, I had nothing but problems you have a few good lower grade teachers like mrs.morris mrs.brewer but thats about it in the whole school I have experienced 1st through 5th and know alot about the teachers and they do need more training in the upper grades like 3-5 I think people over rate the school because of its name Goshen , but thats just my opinion I use to be a parent of a child there ,


Posted October 2, 2008

not enough teacher knopwledge and traing in certain areas and they leave kids behind that need help and the ones that are already smart they focus more on that kid thats wrong in my opnion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

well i thinnk they need more teacher training thoughout the year to attend some teachers dont understand children with add so they ignore them and let them make bad grades and pay more attention the the smart kids thats unfair thats why i took my children out of goshen if your child is a.d.d. watch out ,,,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

I think it is an excellent school. I love all of the teachers and think Dr. Schoer does a wonderful job of keeping it that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

I found this chool to be an excellent learning facility. My grandson was on the honor roll all through the first grade. He left first grade reading at a 4.4 grade level. Every one in his class was also on the honor roll all year. Thanks to a fantistic teacher, Ms. Brewer, who I believe deserves recognition for such an accomplishment. THANK-YOU
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

Goshen and its teachers create a great environment in the school. The principle is involved and cares how well things work. I would say that the teachers hands are tied a bit due to so many rules and limitations set by the priniciple but it makes for a well run school. The teachers are the best, continually staying on top of their education and creativity. My children loved this school , and as a parent I loved it as well. I volunteered in the class rooms 2-3 times a week, lower grades, and look forward to a very active PTA. Mrs. Jones
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

The teachers really care about your childrens learning to make sure that they know the material, and try to help with any problems and they do have some really great teachers I have experienced with, one teacher in particular I cannot express how greatful I was to have her as my kids teacher, he learned so much and really advanced in his reading skills, she took her own time to help the kids. Whe has been the best teacher I have ever seen in my 6 years of schooling. thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

I think that the teacher's at GOSHEN are very caring and extremly qualified!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 44%
Black 32% 37%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Malinda Cobb
Fax number
  • (706) 796-4676

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4040 Old Waynesboro Rd
Augusta, GA 30906
Phone: (706) 796-4646

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The First Academy
Gracewood, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT