Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public
Augusta, GA

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Johnson Magnet 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
Love that MY daughter attended this school she is so excited to be apart of such a wonderful school.

Johnson Magnet 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a community member
As a former student I look back at my four years at ARJ with great fondness. I could not appreciate the education and preparation for college and life that I received from ARJ at the time. The class I graduated with has produced many highly educated professionals such as physicians, nurses, speech therapists, chiropractors, engineers, military officers, business owners, etc. I would love to be able to give exact numbers but unfortunately I have lost contact with many of my former classmates. I'm certain that if you ask each of them what led to their success, ARJ and its teachers would be part of their answer. Go Panthers!


Johnson Magnet 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
My daughter transfered from Evans to Johnson Magnet two years ago.. The diffrence between the quality of education is quite staggering to say the least. Johnson consistenly continues to outrank the columbia county schools Greenbrier and Evans . Lakeside does have a good reputation and scores well, but Harlem and Grovetown are horrible. If you want to send you kid to a top university, send him to the richmond county magnet schools Davidson and Johnson, or to Westside.

Johnson Magnet 3

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
I am not sure what these reviews mean by Ivy League but in the 4 years at Johnson I only saw two to three kids getting admitted into an "Ivy League" school. Maybe UGA and Georgia Tech are considered Ivies but even then, only the top 4 to 5 percent of the class made it in to those schools. The average SAT score is below that of Davidson's and Lakeside's. Not a lot of extra curriculars at the school and overall quality is not that great. Better than your average richmond county high school but that doesn't say much. If you want to send your kid to a top university, send him to Davidson, a private school, or a columbia county high school.

Johnson Magnet 5

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
It is so nice to hear my 16 year old daughter say 'I love my High School'. She says that she loves school, her teachers, and the leadership team. The teachers are strict, really push the students to learn, but they also show the students that they care about them and their success. The teachers strive to prepare the students for college by teaching and expecting a higher quality of work from them. When they graduate from AR Johnson Magnet school, they are extremely prepared for the rigors of college.


Johnson Magnet 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a student
A great high school which consistently, year by year sends students to top tier and Ivy League schools. Staying at this school can earn you top opportunities and being in the top half of your class alone can earn you admissions to some good schools like Carnegie Mellon or Georgia Tech. This school is a must go, the students and teachers are amiable and usually everyone fits in to some group. Small community, hard to be an outcast here.

Johnson Magnet 5

Posted June 15, 2009
- a student
This school is excellent!! The teachers do just about anything to help the students. They stay late after school to allow for additional studying and come in early for make-up work or review on days of big test. The staff is always friendly and willing to help. After school activities are usually nerdy, such as Ecology club meetings and student council. They have several great clubs like FBLA adn HOSA. This school has sports to some of which are Cross Country and track, tennis, volley ball, and golf. Students always love coming to school even with the rigor in course work and the sometimes long homework assignments. It is possible that they understand that the rigor and homework will help them in the furture when applying for college or in their careers. **Note this school admits students who have successfully completed grades K-8 or equivalent and have passed the admission process.

Johnson Magnet 0
no rating

Posted July 03, 2008
- a teacher
This is, by far, the best public school in Georgia. It prepares students with academic rigor and hands-on, real-world application.


Johnson Magnet 4

Posted November 14, 2003
- a parent
AR Johnson High School has made great strides towards excellence in the past two years. ARJ exceled at all the President's requirements to achieve the National Blue Ribbon School 2003 award. This award was earned by only 283 schools in the nation. ARJ is the only state high school to recieve this award. ARJ has an outstanding Principal who firmly belives in teaching to encourge students to learn. She is experinced in the field of education on all levels but is one who can and do communicate on all levels. ARJ also has strong parental support to aid the learning process.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Johnson Magnet
1324 Laney Walker Blvd, Augusta, GA  30901
(706) 823-6933
Last modified Johnson Magnet is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Johnson Magnet Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top