Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Davidson Magnet School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a student
Davidson is challenging, but you can always find help when you need it. Everyone encourages everyone. There is no other school like it!

Davidson Magnet School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
My son attended this school from middle school through high school. One of the top schools in the nation. He had no problems getting admission to several top dance schools for his college studies.


Davidson Magnet School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a community member
At the auditions I was so nervous! I was shaking, there were butterfly's in my stomach and I was sweating! When I got to the audition room all of my nerves went away! They made us all feel so welcome and they didn't pressure us or anything. Right now it is June 3,2015 I start going there on august sixth! I am so excited! Over all I think davidson fine arts is the best school in America! PS- the principle is very nice and supportive! If you are having any doubts about davidson don't it is a wonderful place!

Davidson Magnet School 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a community member
I attended DFA for only one year but I love and cherish every moment I was there. It was like a big family and the atmosphere of respect and love for the arts is so positive and beneficial for learning. The student population embraces students who are different and creative and hone on those skills to make them even better. The teachers are wonderful and everything is wonderful and this school is defiantly 5 out of 5! I love DFA!!!!

Davidson Magnet School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a community member
I'm currently a student at this school and i love it, its definately not rated 10 out of 10 for nothing. It's not just the teachers who make up this wonderful school its the students, we work harder than they do (at times). Overall I love my school and I'm glad to be apart of it!!!!!!!!! Go DFA!!!!!!!!!!


Davidson Magnet School 5

Posted May 29, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been at Davidson for two years and in the first year , she struggled some. She is now starting her eight grade year and she is achieving much more than I thought she ever would. The opportunity is there for her if she is willing to work hard. The fine arts is excellent, but some of the academic instructors shouldn't have a place to teach our children at Davidson Fine Arts.

Davidson Magnet School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
Great liberal arts high school. Every child I know that has graduated from this school has had no trouble getting into top state and private high education institutions.

Davidson Magnet School 5

Posted October 14, 2009
- a student
i went to this school 4 years ago and wen i was therre i loved it


Davidson Magnet School 5

Posted May 18, 2009
- a parent
As the parent of a Davidson graduate who has gone on to film school, I can't say enough about the wonderful family atmosphere at Davidson. I do take exception with some of the other reviewers who complained that there was not enough 'academic help' available to students. My son struggled in the 6th grade adjusting to the rigorous demands and all of his teachers as well as the principal were there to help us get through that difficult period. He was able to excell academically and creatively in a school that helped him find his passion. On the weekends, our home looked like the United Nations - kids from every race, religion and economic background having fun and learning about each other. Relationships like the ones my son formed will help our community come together when these boys are in leadership positions.

Davidson Magnet School 5

Posted January 16, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of 2 DFA graduates, I rate this school 5 stars! Davidson continually wins the top school in the state of Georgia. High academic and fine arts standards blend to make outstanding, college-ready graduates. Since the standards are high, it is not the best school for all students. However, for college-bound students, it is an excellent choice.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Davidson Magnet School
615 12th St, Augusta, GA  30901
(706) 823-6924
Last modified Davidson Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Davidson Magnet School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top