Advertisement
Advertisement

Aquinas High School

Private | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Augusta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 21, 2014

I do not even know where to start when talking about Aquinas. The tuition may seem expensive but believe me it is worth every penny. The teachers and the rest of the staff are very good at what they do. Also the staff actually cares about the student and wants them to succeed. This school is preparing me for college more so then my previous school. I previously went to ARC and that was terrible. I transferred and it was amazing. The students are extremely nice and very easy to get along with. The football team is very good. They are the 2013 State champions. So in summary, leaving ARC and coming to Aquinas was the best choice that I have ever made. I strongly recommend it to anyone who is looking for an amazing school to attend


Posted May 7, 2010

I have had three very different children at Aquinas and I can say the experience prepared them well for college, but most importantly for life. Each child had different gifts and talents and their experience helped them build up their week areas and certainly helped them explore their talents. The school size and the loving environment encouraged them to try things they may never have at other schools. The child who never played competitive tennis went on to the first round of state competition! The child who quit swim team at age 5 because of fear of competing joined the swim team and had a wonderful experience! Football has been a challenging and character building experience too! As far as academics go, my oldest was able to recieve an academic scholarship to college. My other children were academiclly challenged but never overwelmemed. The teachers and staff were approachable and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

As a current student at Aquinas, I have to say that the education I have received here has been excellent. Teachers genuinely care and are always willing to go the extra mile to make sure that you know the material. Whether it is tutoring or simply lending a ear to listen to your problems, EVERY member of the faculty is always there for you. The students here are quality kids, who somehow find a balance between the demands of a challenging curriculum and a slew of afterschool activities. From a spiritual standpoint, Aquinas is remarkable beyond words. Monthly all-school masses, weekly masses, a chapel that is never locked, challenging, useful yet insightful religion courses, the list goes on. Contrary to what some may think, the school is open to everyone, and I have seen a healthy balance of minorities, Protestants, Catholics, and even non-Christians. Overall, Aquinas is simply the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2008

I love Aquinas high school! I enjoy the teachers, my fellow students, and the parents. The courses are taught very well and the teachers help you with anything you have trouble with. For a small catholic high school, we have very good sports programs, academic programs, and we have a bunch of school spirit! Go Fightin' Irish!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2007

I would not recommend this school unless you are of Catholic religion. The teachers are not fair and balance toward the students. They either like the students or tolerate them. My child went there in the freshman year and it was the worst experencience that I have ever encounter. Even public school has a better curriculum and teachers that care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

I would highly recommend Aquinas to anyone! This is a wonderful school, filled with school spirit and honost concern for others. There are classes for everyone at Aquinas as well. For gifted students, a variety of honors and AP classes are offered in every grade. For regular students, many CP classes are also offered. The small size of Aquinas allows you to know everyone. Aquinas has a very friendly environment, and everyone genuinely cares for others. The teachers are wonderful and very involved with the students. Aquinas also has many great sports teams. Also, Aquinas students are filled with school spirit. As a current student at Aquinas, I would recommend anyone to send their child to Aquinas, because it is such and close and spirited atmosphere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2004

Aquinas is a great school. The education provided at Aquinas is one of the best. It prepares its students for college and most go to well accredicted schools like Notre Dame, Vanderbilt, Georgia, Georgia Tech, South Carolina, Duke, North Carolina, Marquette, and Boston College.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1920 Highland Ave
Augusta, GA 30904
Phone: (706) 736-5516

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Josey High School
Augusta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT