Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Curtis Baptist School 1

Posted July 01, 2016
- a student
I strongly agree with the other comments saying "they'd rather preach than teach" but I recently dealt with a bullying problem at this school and I told them what happened everyday. They chose to do absolutely nothing. Bullying should never be tolerated. The teaching methods are weak. For example testing us when we haven't gone over any of the material. As well as the teaching methods the extracurricular activities are also weak. I had p.e about 10 times that whole school year.I would not waste your money on sending your child to a school where they would be unhappy and uneducated.

Curtis Baptist School 1

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
I sent my child here and I am disappointed to say that I wasted my money- money that could have went towards a college fund. The teachers have minimal qualifications, unlike public schools, and they spend most of their class time degrading and demonizing other religions and other belief systems. Their math scores are far below average, likely because they spend the majority of their time trying to integrate religion into every subject. They are extremely fanatical. I love God and sent my child here expecting a quality education with a Biblical background. Instead, it was like my child went to a 40 hour a week church; absolutely no emphasis on academia.


Curtis Baptist School 4

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
It is important that my child has a christian education from the Bible. At Curtis, they are afforded an excellent education, but also a correct Biblical one, unlike the garbage the Public School Common Core is feeding young children today. They are also taught from excellent curriculum such as BJU Press, A Beka, Apologia, etc... Curtis has high standards in dress, athletics, and education, like many other private schools. This school has pushed my child academically, and I am very happy with the education and structure they receive here.

Curtis Baptist School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
Homework doesn't need to be busy work. It's just to enforce what the students are learning.

Curtis Baptist School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
The Teachers try to teach each student and pray for them. There are always some students that refuse to listen and learn.


Curtis Baptist School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
The School staff and administration teach honesty, integrity, respect, trust, and other core values to the students. They use the Bible to teach these life skills. Some students learn, some students choose not to.

Curtis Baptist School 1

Posted October 17, 2015
- a student
Sending your child to Curtis Baptist School is a matter to be seriously considered. Yes, your child will get the "Christian education" they are so determined to instill, but they will not be taught much else. The administration places few to no boundaries on what the teachers are allowed to discuss, and there are no guidelines as to what they must teach. There will be entire class periods where they will be preached at, which, in turn, will cut into their education. Their curriculum is flawed, to say the least. In a whole, you would inevitably be wasting your money on a low grade education. It is, however, the perfect school for your child if your priority is a stiff religious lifestyle. I speak so bluntly because as a student who used to attend the school, I would not wish it upon any other family that can easily avoid it.

Curtis Baptist School 5

Posted May 04, 2012
- a parent
My son has attended Curtis Baptist for over a year. The teachers and staff consistently work to ensure that children not only receive an excellent academic education, but one that reflects the values of the Christian faith. Unlike the public schools, there is a code of conduct that is expected from students and enforced. This atmosphere provides students with a safe and positive learning environment. Curtis Baptist will welcome you regardless of your religious denomination.


Curtis Baptist School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
We have 2 kids that have been there since daycare 1 & 2 yrs old and are now in PK4 & K5. Teachers care, love, and teach our kids. After school care, summer program, sports are available. They teach the Bible well and our kids have fun and love going. Academically, better than most public schools though. I went there as a kid and I'm an Engineer now. Our kids really know the Bible well, which is what we're looking for in the school.

Curtis Baptist School 5

Posted November 21, 2009
- a parent
This is a great Faith based school full of young men and women wanting to know more about Christ. Education is also a big part of this school and it also has a very good athletic program, football,basketball,baseball,softball,track & field,tennis,golf, etc...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Curtis Baptist School
1326 Broad St, Augusta, GA  30901
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (706) 722-2201
Last modified Curtis Baptist School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top