Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
368 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Overall, the teachers are effective. Their challenge lies in being effective to all students and not just the majority. Our students are diverse and require a diverse set of teaching techniques. The teachers that are most effective are the ones who teach "outside the box" when necessary to reach a "wondering" mind.

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Homework varies from grade to grade. Students often have class time to start and possibly finish the assignments - offering the opportunity to get assistance from the teacher instead of requiring the parent to reach in to their brain data base to recall the algebraic equations, history lessons, science facts or grammatical rules they may have long forgotten.

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
One of our recent graduates has attained Dean's List for 4 consecutive semesters due to the grit and determination she developed while at CCA and on the soccer field!

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
CCA still encourages students to use manners. Holding the door open for others, using "excuse me", "thank you", "you're welcome", "yes mam/sir" etc... Students are encouraged to "leave it cleaner" than they found it - encouraging respect for their area and facility.

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
CCA encourages students to love and encourage one another. To watch the children interact with one another brings a smile - you can't sit and watch them on the playground without smiling. Are there overactive flailing arms at times? Absolutely - but isn't that normal in a bunch of kids.

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Cumberland Christian Academy is Christ centered - seriously - look at our name 10 letters before Christ and 10 letters following. We are not perfect, but we strive for excellence. Our students range from 3 years of age to 12th grade and are a diverse and wonderful group of students. They are normal and often bring or experience the normal issues that any student at any school (public or private) would have. Our academics are strong, our sports program is excellent, but our focus is on the student's heart, soul and mind. Mistakes are treated as teachable opportunities with consequences for the choices made - both good and bad. My children grew up at CCA and I hope my grandchildren will have the same opportunity. Overall - CCA is an excellent investment in your child's future!

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
My son attend Cumberland this year for Pre-K 3. Ms. Whitaker was awesome, very caring yet structured to make sure your child has fun, but learns the essentials needed for a strong foundation for education. The class size is perfect and your child will receive all the basics plus more. Including Spanish, bible lessons, and music.

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Doesn't provide homework, but my son did so many activities in class there was no need for a 3 year old to have homework.

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
I was at church recently where the children's minister asked if anyone could name all the books of the Bible. My daughter was the only child that raised her hand. She then sang a wonderful song she had learned at school naming all the books of the Bible. Cumberland has not only taught her a love for science and math, but also for the Bible and worship.

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
The teachers and staff are amazing, nurturing and very engaging with each student. Student to teacher ratios is also great.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12
2356 Clay Road Southwest, Austell, GA  30106
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (770) 819-6443
Last modified Cumberland Christian Academy Pk-12 is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top