Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Clarkdale Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 374 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

Staff more focused on the order of their tasks rather than safety. Teacher assaulted my child, principal defended and justified actions of teacher. Had to file police report and press charges to have teacher reprimanded. Principal and other admin staff members to not accept responsibility for faults, they simply justify with an answer that doesn't even flour Cobb county policy. Principal doesn't take bullying seriously and does not put required plan of actions in place, only calls children in het office to speak alone with them (against Cobb co policy) and tells children "just get along." Most og front office staff is very rude and difficult to work with. Principal closed-minded, had no concern for safety of children, avoids parental interactions. You have to get other upper administration, Vice Principal, involved to even help you get resolutions. She is thorough, objective, always fair, has a genuine concern for your child's safety, and always willing to investigate and correct any mistakes made by staff. She had an open for policy and never avoids parental interaction. Unfortunately the principal has the final say and so the VP can only foo so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2010

Dating back to the flood of 2009. The students were in danger due to the staff and leadership. Ask any child. When I finally got my child (4th grader) he was totally devastated and his clothing was soaked to the knees. The wonderful therapy that the school provide was a joke. The Principal is bossy and very narrowminded. Now that our students have been relocated to other local schools, I've noticed a segregation atmosphere. These are our students and those are yours. The pissing contest between the teachers and principals. No one cares about these kids and the 2 schools in one seems to be about a paycheck. How much is really givenn back to the students? Sorry but my child got left behind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Clarkdale's principal and teachers saved 450 kids from of a flash flooding of the school building September 21, 2009. They saved our children's lives! The school was submerged to the roof top within hours of the emergency evacuation. The teachers and staff made our children's safety the top priority over everything else. Many children were traumatized by the event and also by the loss of their homes the same day. Clarkdale's main concern has been not only the emotional needs of our children, but also making sure they all have the basic needs for living. The teachers have lost years of teaching materials and personal belongings. Some teachers are even dealing with the flooding of their own homes, yet they continue to make our children the priority.The school is being house temporarily in extra space at two near-by schools, yet it remains a strong foundation and a second home to our children. The school is not only an excellent place for children to learn academics, but it truly is a family. They have taught my boys many valuable life lessons. I will never be able to repay the staff at Clarkdale!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

Clarkdale is an awesome school. As both a teacher and a parent of a Clarkdale student I have the best of both worlds. I am not a resident of Cobb County but I CHOOSE to bring my child to Clarkdale. My oldest child attended elementary school in another state that was known to have some of the best public schools in the country. However, I feel my oldest child did not receive the education that my youngest is receiving. The entire staff (including the administration) is the best. Teachers along with administration meet regularly to look at the school data in order to meet the needs and goals of all students. You will not find a more dedicated and caring staff anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

This school is great. Clarkdale instituted a music program (band) that introduced students to instruments and music that will prepare them for the middle school environment. Clarkdale also has an awesome drama department. Both programs offer a venue for the children to display their talents. The parents are very supportive and the administrative staff lend their talents & time for the benefit of the children. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

Clarkdale has a family atmosphere and my daughter has been going there since kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

Clarkdale is known as the 'best kept secret in Cobb'. It is a darling school with very dedicated and devoted teachers. However, this school is in desperate need of a change in administration. The principal has served for a long time and she seems to have 'total control' over the teachers, PTA and all other aspects of the school. This can be viewed as positive to a degree. The negative aspect of her control is seen by several teachers leaving abruptly, teachers not expressing their true beliefs and the environment is very rigid and stifling regarding administration. New persons bring new ideas/growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

Kindergarten and 1st grade were great, 2nd grade however has been a disappointment. First, there are a lot of special needs or behavior disorder students integrated with other students so they tend to get more attention because their behavior is always an issue. Second, there are quite a few security issues I see as a parent that needs to be addressed. When concerns have been communicated they seem to be ignored or skirted around. My child was sent twice to the clinic, I didn't receive any note saying what happened. A bully attacked my child, he reported it to his teacher, but I never received a note from the school. My child was having trouble with subtraction, the teacher sent him to another teacher for help but I received no communication that he was having trouble.Academics could be more challenging. Great music dept. Good level of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

Clarkdale is an excellent school which strive to maximize a childs learning. I have two children in the 1st and 3rd grade. Both teacher are great in communicating with the parents, and will take extra steps to ensure their children excell. My only complaint is that the PTA needs to be better organized. I join the PTA three months ago, and have yet to receive any acknowledgment from them. However, I do understand this is due to huge parental participation. The administartion staff is attentive and helps maintain good order and discipline. All of this was good for my children, because we moved from southern California, and the needed a smooth transition process for them. Class size is kept low, which is why test scores are high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

My child currently attends clarkdale after moving to georgia from out of state. The teachers and staff at this school are so wonderful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 37%
Hispanic 23% 12%
White 13% 44%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Margie Bickerstaff
Fax number
  • (770) 819-2424

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4455 Wesley Dr
Austell, GA 30106
Phone: (770) 819-2422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hendricks Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA




Compton Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT